R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2011, 06:14 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default Quick droop question

Hi,

I'm running a T3 2011 and rubber tyres. I have the Hudy droop and ride heights gauges etc. If I want 6mm ride height at the front and say 6.5 at the back and a 1.5mm droop at the front and 2mm on the back would I just set the droop with the gauges and down stops at 4.5mm on the front and 4.5mm at the back ?

I know how to use all the set up stuff but I'm getting confused on setting the droop along with the ride height.

If that makes sense
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:17 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Hi,

I'm running a T3 2011 and rubber tyres. I have the Hudy droop and ride heights gauges etc. If I want 6mm ride height at the front and say 6.5 at the back and a 1.5mm droop at the front and 2mm on the back would I just set the droop with the gauges and down stops at 4.5mm on the front and 4.5mm at the back ?

I know how to use all the set up stuff but I'm getting confused on setting the droop along with the ride height.

If that makes sense
The droop values on the gauges are not linked to the ride height. You need to take your measurements independently.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:19 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

No, the way its sounds youre trying to set droop over ride height. When you do that a droop gauge is not really used. Measure your ride height, hold the wheel down and raise the chassis as far as it goes. Then slide the gauge under and measure it again. The difference is your droop over ride height. Got it?
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:25 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Ok it's hard to explain what I mean.

if I use the droop blocks and gauge and set 4.5mm on each hub then put the wheels on and set ride height to 6mm front and 6.5mm back won't this give me 1.5mm droop front and 2mm droop back ?

I understand using the ruler and lifting the car, but I though the above would give me the same results.
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:30 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Ok it's hard to explain what I mean.

if I use the droop blocks and gauge and set 4.5mm on each hub then put the wheels on and set ride height to 6mm front and 6.5mm back won't this give me 1.5mm droop front and 2mm droop back ?

I understand using the ruler and lifting the car, but I though the above would give me the same results.
It won't, primarily because the droop gauge is not calibrated in that way, and secondly because even if it was, the tyre diameter is not constant from brand to brand so the measurement could not be relied upon anyway.

As nitrobeast stated above, set your ride height, lift the car 1.5 or 2mm from that point, and work out the droop measurement that matches that.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:31 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Ok it's hard to explain what I mean.

if I use the droop blocks and gauge and set 4.5mm on each hub then put the wheels on and set ride height to 6mm front and 6.5mm back won't this give me 1.5mm droop front and 2mm droop back ?

I understand using the ruler and lifting the car, but I though the above would give me the same results.
Give this a try. Since you understand using the "ruler and lifting the car" set your ride height and then lift and set 1.5 droop front and 2mm rear droop. Then take the tires off and check it at the hubs with you droop gauges. Youll see it doesnt add up.
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:35 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

ok cheers, so whats the point of using the droop blocks and guage if your going to have to change it once the ride height is set.

I thought downstops and droop was sort of the same thing, the Xray book says set downstops then ride height and then droop by adjusting shocks ?
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:43 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
ok cheers, so whats the point of using the droop blocks and guage if your going to have to change it once the ride height is set.

I thought downstops and droop was sort of the same thing, the Xray book says set downstops then ride height and then droop by adjusting shocks ?
In that case, the XRAY book is wrong.

Ride height is always the first setting. Everything else follows.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:46 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
ok cheers, so whats the point of using the droop blocks and guage if your going to have to change it once the ride height is set.

I thought downstops and droop was sort of the same thing, the Xray book says set downstops then ride height and then droop by adjusting shocks ?
I could be wrong, but i dont think they tell you to adjust droop by adjusting shocks.

They might mention that after changing your ride height you dont have the same droop.
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 06:56 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Yes your correct nitrobeast.

This is what was confusing me in the Xray book,
Quote:
When you use rubber tires on your car, you can set a particular downstop value to get a particular droop value, and then forget about it. Rubber tires
do not wear appreciably during use, so the droop value should not change.
which is why I thought if I set 1.5 or 2mm lower setting of the downstops compared to ride height this would I given me the same droop setting as using a ruler.

I still don't get why if I set 4mm using the blocks and droop gauge and set 6mm ride height why I don't get 2mm droop or chassis rise using the ruler method
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 07:00 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Yes your correct nitrobeast.

This is what was confusing me in the Xray book,


which is why I thought if I set 1.5 or 2mm lower setting of the downstops compared to ride height this would I given me the same droop setting as using a ruler.

I still don't get why if I set 4mm using the blocks and droop gauge and set 6mm ride height why I don't get 2mm droop or chassis rise using the ruler method
Read post 5 again.
When you set it at the hub the hub isnt on the table when you set your ride height, is it?

If you do what i mentioned before setting ride height and setting what droop u want using the lifting method and then measuring using the droop gauges you can figure out what u need to set the droop gauge at to get a specific droop. Again, this will only work if you dont ever change your ride height. I might have just confused you more on that one..hehehe
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!

Last edited by nitrobeast; 01-14-2011 at 07:21 AM.
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 07:17 AM   #12
avs
Tech Master
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Yes your correct nitrobeast.

This is what was confusing me in the Xray book,


which is why I thought if I set 1.5 or 2mm lower setting of the downstops compared to ride height this would I given me the same droop setting as using a ruler.

I still don't get why if I set 4mm using the blocks and droop gauge and set 6mm ride height why I don't get 2mm droop or chassis rise using the ruler method
the 4mm position you mention is the location of the bottom of the lower arm and the chassis plate lower surface. this is a measurable quantity, but the desired quantity changes with ride height/tiresize.

note, if i were to grind off some material from the lower arm where you are measuring from, the measurement would change but the down travel would not. or if i were to use a different size tire and keep same ride height, the down travel would change.
__________________
Tony Shimko
avs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 07:58 AM   #13
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
In that case, the XRAY book is wrong.

Ride height is always the first setting. Everything else follows.
I hate to say it but I.agree with the Xray book. I set droop 1st then calibrate all other settings based off my droop to get a tweak free setup. I laugh at the use of a.droop gauge as.you need to know many other.varibles to get excact droop settings. I measure droop over.ride height with setup wheels for both droop AND ride height. This.has.worked.extremly well for.me and it has ths added bonus that I can duplicate my setup onto any other chassis instantly.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 08:36 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
cyclone speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 621
Default

Woow lol , ok, i thought that i would understand but no ... :-P
My question, on some setup sheets , if its written 5 droop, does it mean 5 mm over ride height ? I mean, when i look for a setup sheet ( such as andy more cycone blabla .. ) if he has 4 or 5 droop, is it 4 or 5 mm above ride height ?
So what are the gauges for ? What do people use them for ?
cyclone speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2011, 08:51 AM   #15
2xs
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 198
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone speed View Post
Woow lol , ok, i thought that i would understand but no ... :-P
My question, on some setup sheets , if its written 5 droop, does it mean 5 mm over ride height ? I mean, when i look for a setup sheet ( such as andy more cycone blabla .. ) if he has 4 or 5 droop, is it 4 or 5 mm above ride height ?
So what are the gauges for ? What do people use them for ?
I have learned to ignore what everyone else is running for droop and use my own settings that allow me to drive the car to the best of my ability. I have been using the droop over ride height method with great results. I use the blocks and droop gauge to verify that the droop is equal side to side.
2xs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brief (Daft) Tourer handling Question (TA05) Andysan Electric On-Road 15 06-21-2010 01:49 PM
Droop-question Low_E Electric On-Road 15 10-22-2009 08:25 AM
XXXS droop........... wannabee Electric On-Road 8 02-07-2003 08:33 PM
Setting: Droop VS Camber link position Alvin Electric On-Road 55 01-13-2002 10:21 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:01 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net