R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-18-2011, 07:43 PM   #631
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lohan View Post
I am having the same problem with the Corally Red 13.5 motor. I have tried shimming the motor, replacing the sensor wire, and trying out all the profiles.

From reading your post, I am getting the impression that this speedo only really works with the x12 motor - AKA A CLOSED LOOP

LRP have a lowsy habit of giving with one hand and taking away with another

I wish someone from LRP will have the decency in giving a decent response other than read the manual and change the motor - that's wat I usually get if I actually e-mail LRP.

thanks
I found that most most motors have a lot of timing in them and the Sxx Tc v2 doesn't always like it. When I got mine it sounded awful. I put the timing on the motor(Trinity dou2 10.5) to full negative and it was smooth and just added timing in small amounts until I got it the way I wanted it. I ended up with -5 degrees I believe on the motor.

Give this a try and if it still cogs send it in.
__________________
https://www.gofundme.com/ncontrol
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 09:09 PM   #632
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,479
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I found out fast when running a duo 3 to not run any timing in the motor i had the motor set up for my tekin which was ok with the timing in it but not with the sxx stock spec ver2 i did run all of my settings except drag brake all the way up on the speedo and it was ballistic motor temped around 160 degrees,any positive timing in the motor and it will meltdown,i will test the apex(revtech) in boost and see how it runs.I was at around 20 degrees of timing on the motor and it temped good but it smoked real bad at the 4 minute mark.
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-BITTYDESIGN-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 11:16 PM   #633
Tech Addict
 
carkingaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: AZ
Posts: 711
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

How do you adjust boost and timimg in the speedo?

Thx TJ
__________________
Todd Jonas
carkingaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 06:22 AM   #634
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carkingaz View Post
How do you adjust boost and timimg in the speedo?

Thx TJ
by changing the modes via the buttons on the speedo, download the manual from lrp.cc it says everything on there.
Smartypants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 10:56 AM   #635
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Thinking about trying out a new esc, but not sure if i should get the stock spec or TC spec? Any reason you would choose one over the other? If it makes a difference I dont plan on running mod.
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 11:37 AM   #636
Tech Adept
 
StevenOlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrobeast View Post
Thinking about trying out a new esc, but not sure if i should get the stock spec or TC spec? Any reason you would choose one over the other? If it makes a difference I dont plan on running mod.
stock spec is designed for 9,5 to 21.5 motors
TC spec is designed for mod motors 4,0 to 9,5
__________________
Steven Olsen
CAR: Awsomatix A700L.
Nosram 7000 Batteries.
Nosram Comet HD ESC.
Nosram Pure 2 evolution Motor.
StevenOlsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 07:26 AM   #637
Tech Elite
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,340
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc pete View Post
There are 3 versions of the LRP SXX V2:

StockSpec is for spec racing: 21.5, 17.5, 13.5, 10.5
it gives you the maximum punch/boost profiles for those motors

The Competition version has milder boost profiles for mod racing, down to 5.0T motors.

TC Spec is for heavy duty mod racing like TC Mod and Short Course 4x4 Mod. It has similar milder boost profiles as the Competition, but it comes with a fan and can handle down to 3.5T motors.

All three versions have the stock blinky mode.
I've seen the competition one labeled for 12th scale racing. Is this because of it's size?
__________________
Rui Goncalves
Team CRC|Awesomatix USA|TQ Wire|
Jackson curbs, ready for lift off!
nitrobeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 08:27 PM   #638
Tech Apprentice
 
rcscoot2539's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pitts Pa
Posts: 82
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I ran this speedo for the first time this weekend and had no brakes, did I do something wrong in the set-up? tks in advance.
__________________
TC6 - B4.1 - LOSI SCTE - LRP - SPEKTRUM - SWEEP - AB CHARLES HOBBY SHOP - THE RACEWAY AT BEAVER
rcscoot2539 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 09:54 PM   #639
Tech Addict
 
mtbboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg. Igloo. Hockey. Beer.
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey Guys,
Is it worth buying the bridge or should I send the whole unit in?

Will I be able to do anything other than update the version with the bridge?
Thanks .

Dave.
mtbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 03:01 AM   #640
Tech Regular
 
spencehotbodies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: London
Posts: 267
Default good starting point for x12 13.5

Hello

Any body got a good starting point for a x12 13.5 with a sxx v2 stock spec?

Cheers
Spence
spencehotbodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 06:08 AM   #641
Tech Addict
 
wa7ash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: VIC
Posts: 570
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spencehotbodies View Post
Hello

Any body got a good starting point for a x12 13.5 with a sxx v2 stock spec?

Cheers
Spence
What sort of track are you planing on using it?
__________________
Xray | Muchmore | Sanwa | Orion | G-Force | Scorpion | Fantom
wa7ash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 10:58 AM   #642
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,547
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcscoot2539 View Post
I ran this speedo for the first time this weekend and had no brakes, did I do something wrong in the set-up? tks in advance.
yes, dbl check your radio settings and follow the instructions.
E
__________________
<
AE 12R5.2 & R6(x2) - TC7.1 convert, F6 - M05 - M05V2R

People who don't have to wait for the latest item, should not tell those that do, that "It's worth the wait"
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 11:19 AM   #643
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtbboy View Post
Hey Guys,
Is it worth buying the bridge or should I send the whole unit in?

Will I be able to do anything other than update the version with the bridge?
Thanks .

Dave.
Hi Dave,

I think the bridge is worth the money as you never know when a upgrade will pop up, so you won't be at the mercy of sending it in or finding someone that has the bridge to do the update.

Unfortunately all it does is allow for sw upgrades, all the profiles are pre-built so there are no custom settings to play with. If you want to play with profiles you'll have to come over to the dark side, lol.

See ya at the races.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 03:33 PM   #644
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 147
Default quick question

How do I know if my speedo has 4.4 or 4.2 firmware?

I bought it at the beginning of august from RC market.

Secondly, is the lowdown that when using the x12 13.5 motor, one has to use a fan indoors?
Lohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 09:20 PM   #645
Tech Addict
 
mtbboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg. Igloo. Hockey. Beer.
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
Hi Dave,

I think the bridge is worth the money as you never know when a upgrade will pop up, so you won't be at the mercy of sending it in or finding someone that has the bridge to do the update.

Unfortunately all it does is allow for sw upgrades, all the profiles are pre-built so there are no custom settings to play with. If you want to play with profiles you'll have to come over to the dark side, lol.

See ya at the races.
Thanks Gary!
mtbboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP SXX StockSpec ESC Stein Tumert Electric On-Road 1241 06-08-2012 09:52 AM
TEKIN RS VS LRP SXX V2 What's your VOTE! RC-ZOMBIE Electric Off-Road 125 12-03-2011 09:16 PM
Tekin RS vs LRP SXX Stock Spec vs Mamba Max Pro Chris Gierse Electric Off-Road 30 08-10-2011 11:50 AM
Best ESC for MOD and 17.5? JayL Electric On-Road 29 08-06-2010 05:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:17 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net