Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Indi motor dyno vs. Orion Motor Perf monitor >

Indi motor dyno vs. Orion Motor Perf monitor

Indi motor dyno vs. Orion Motor Perf monitor

Old 08-06-2004, 03:17 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default Indi motor dyno vs. Orion Motor Perf monitor

I've been looking at both units and I'm looking for feedback on each. The indi is around $50 less than the Orion. Does anyone have any experience with either of these? I like the way the indi has a holding device for the motor. The orion looks like you have to manually hold the motor in place? Which would you recommend. BTW, this would be mainly for stock motors but I would like to be able to do mod motors too. Thanks for any feedback.
j240z is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 12:32 AM
  #2  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default

hmmm... I guess no one here has used either of these....? I guess I'll have to get one, use it, and post results....
j240z is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 12:32 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I used the indi-dyno myself for a couple years now, and have seen the orion checker used by others......I think Their both pretty good as long as you dont try to use them as a real dyno...their best for having percise adjustable voltage for breaking your motors in and to run comm lathes....to get any real usefull information on electric motors, you have to have a device that will put the motor under load........nearly everything important changes when you put a motor under load.....
Joe B is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 12:34 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
donoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 264
Default

so, uh, why don't we just make a flywheel and put the motors under a load?
donoman is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 12:43 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The load has to be adjustable, measureable and very stable.....thats where things Just "start" to get expensive and very difficult.......Iv'e seen quite a few home made projects by some fairly inteligent people still be very inacurate compared to the top of the line "real dynos" ......check out www.rccars.com and click on the link for big jims motor forum and do some searches on dynos and you'll find quite a bit on this descussion....
Joe B is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 02:58 PM
  #6  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default

Thanks guys. I understand motor performance will change once the motor is placed under load. I was just thinking of getting one of these to have some sort of way to measure numbers on motors. I guess as long as the motors are tested under the same conditions, the results are comparable and will still give a good general idea in the differences between different motors and spring/brush combos.
I'm really just trying to make up a good excuse ( I'm mean reason ) to go out and buy one of these gadgets. I think the Indi has been out longer and has a good rep, but right now I'm leaning towards the Orion. I'm going to check them out in person and go from there...........
j240z is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.