R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-12-2011, 07:50 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,087
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default brushed esc options in todays market.

Going through my pile of old escs and junk.
Found an older lrp 7.1 a qc 2 and a gtx and a cyclone tc2.

I currently run f1 (brushed) with a qc3 and was wondering are todays brushless/brushed speedos as good/better than the older stock?
Is there any advantage to the newer style esc's (aside from the weight savings)?
A few folks at the track swear by the older controllers and a few run newer tekins ect.
I was never good at reading the "on resistance" numbers ect.but love a good technical discussion.

If you had a clean slate and needed to buy an esc for BRUSHED racing.what would you buy and why?
Thanks
j.d.roost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:09 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j.d.roost View Post
Going through my pile of old escs and junk.
Found an older lrp 7.1 a qc 2 and a gtx and a cyclone tc2.

I currently run f1 (brushed) with a qc3 and was wondering are todays brushless/brushed speedos as good/better than the older stock?
Is there any advantage to the newer style esc's (aside from the weight savings)?
A few folks at the track swear by the older controllers and a few run newer tekins ect.
I was never good at reading the "on resistance" numbers ect.but love a good technical discussion.

If you had a clean slate and needed to buy an esc for BRUSHED racing.what would you buy and why?
Thanks
Well mate I would be a esc that can do both brushed and brushless if you are still running brushed then the easy way to go to brushless your there without having to outlay more money straight away besides a new brushless motor.

Now I run a tekin rs pro and mate you will not go wrong and the numbers are huge and I have used it for both and I could not fault it.

But I am brushless all the time now so I am looking forward to the new viper vtraxx10r so no brushed for me anymore even if the newer speedos could do it I am not interested. but alot of ppl still are keen for 540 racing and the likes so the tekin is the go.

Good luck and I hope this helps.
Fordy
__________________
Owner of Precise Fuels and RC and Podified Fuels
jjfo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:17 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,087
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Good info.
What about the "old" esc's.(comparing brushed to brushed)
I have heard a few folks say they are better.
Example. A v7.1 vs a Qc2 or 3.
Not to dig up worn out topics I just wanted to know if they are still useful.

Also are the resistance/current ect. numbers better in "brushed mode" on
an rs compared to say a qc3?

Thanks.
j.d.roost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:27 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j.d.roost View Post
Good info.
What about the "old" esc's.(comparing brushed to brushed)
I have heard a few folks say they are better.
Example. A v7.1 vs a Qc2 or 3.
Not to dig up worn out topics I just wanted to know if they are still useful.

Also are the resistance/current ect. numbers better in "brushed mode" on
an rs compared to say a qc3?

Thanks.
well I actually ran a lrp 7.1 when I was a teen ager and I thought that was great. But then giving up in electrics for over 10 years I started back into them again and the 7.1 was up to the whole 540 racing but still no where near the strength in power and brakes and gee the list does go on.. the feel of the car is over 100% better than the old brushed esc's hands down. but alot of guys like to run the old stuff and they like the on off feel and bugga all programing just drive so each to their own honnestly.

Useful by a long way but in reality brushless with lipo you cant compete with that. but even a new esc with a 540 silver can running on a lipo compared to say a 3300nimh mate forget it... plus brushless is going to be the only thing soon as they are really trying to faze out the silver can motor not everywhere but they are trying so the brushless once your setup will last you for ever if looked after properly.

Not sure about qc3 your talking about I am really only going on what I have used and been using or what I know about other setups
__________________
Owner of Precise Fuels and RC and Podified Fuels
jjfo80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 11:01 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

Depending on what motor you are running, it would be damned hard to pick the difference. The on-resistance of the Tekin RS (what I use) is rediculously low, which is great, but the real clincher for me is how easy they are to programme. With a lot of the older esc's, they were a PITA to programme, if you could do it at all. With something like the Tekin, you can have a couple of customised settings (even for brushed) that you can flick between in a few seconds.
I think Silver Can will actually be around for a long time, and so therefore so will brushed esc's. Even if they dissapear from the racing scene, companies like Tamiya sell a LOT more gear to the bashers than the racers. If you disagree, consider the fact that they only just released a new brushed ESC to replace the one they have for the last 15 years or so.......
__________________
Agama A8 Evo | GRP .21 | Spektrum | Savox

My car just hit 88mph. I hope it comes back soon....
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 03:19 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

If it makes you feel any better JD I just dropped a G-12 in my 103
__________________
T-Sal
gashuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 04:21 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
GasGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tween a Rock & a Hard Place in Pa.
Posts: 1,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I got one of them---HEAVY

Got A 700 too-----HUGE--

I GOT THE POWER
__________________
F! Metal Militia,VTA NATION--Team SloMoFo
losi 8t,mbx5t,rc8
rc8,Kyosho rb5,SCR
ft4 MT wallet
cyclone;xxx-s;x-rayT2;crc gen xl;bmi 12rrl
GasGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 04:23 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GasGod View Post
I got one of them---HEAVY



I GOT THE POWER
The good thing about that esc is I can now remove those stupid weights. My car now rings in at 976
__________________
T-Sal
gashuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 04:59 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,087
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gashuffer View Post
If it makes you feel any better JD I just dropped a G-12 in my 103
Hitman..Another reason I posted is because I fried the qc3 and have all of these old escs.. I am kicking around using the cyclone but my car is a pig already.I know kitchen uses the g-12 and his car is always FAAASST!
j.d.roost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:04 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Those speedo's can handle up to 14.8V. They are powerhouses.
__________________
T-Sal
gashuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:14 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
gtfour93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 657
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I use a TEKIN 411-G2 on one of my F103's. Talk about old crow brushed ESC's.
__________________
www.activrc.com
gtfour93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 07:43 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Norfolk, Va
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

As per the original question, I would definately buy an esc that did both brushed & brushless. I have a Tekin FX Pro & I tried a Mamba Max just for kicks, the Mamba really woke up the brushed motor compared to the brushed only esc. I now use a MMP on my brushed motor for a certain class we run & it really moves that brushed motor. Never compared the output to a Tekin RS/Pro, or any of the other BL esc's that do brushed,but I don't think you would go wrong with any of them for a brushed motor.
flyintrtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 12:20 AM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
[[john]]'s Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

KO Propo VFS (Brushed). Can be bought for <$50 second hand. All you need to do is update the profile with the ICS adapter so the voltage cut-off is @ 6.0V to make it lipo safe
[[john]] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 03:10 AM   #14
Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 16
Default

If it makes you feel any better JD I just dropped a G-12 in my 10
StopBuggingMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 06:31 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Man those qc2 were the shiznit
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:05 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net