Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Need a lipo Battery that fits a jrxs type r!!!! >

Need a lipo Battery that fits a jrxs type r!!!!

Need a lipo Battery that fits a jrxs type r!!!!

Old 01-08-2011, 08:15 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Default Need a lipo Battery that fits a jrxs type r!!!!

Anybody out there can help me out...... the lipo i bought for my jrxs type r does not fit in ......Help me!!!!!
OpusExpress is offline  
Old 01-08-2011, 08:26 PM
  #2  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Default

I need to know what you guys are using in your cars.......my battery is hitting the bulk head and my lipo battery tray can't screw in....What lipo battery are you guys using????
OpusExpress is offline  
Old 01-08-2011, 08:48 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,111
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by OpusExpress View Post
I need to know what you guys are using in your cars.......my battery is hitting the bulk head and my lipo battery tray can't screw in....What lipo battery are you guys using????
well you need some effort to get high capacity lipos in. THis is a 23mm pack, 5000mah


cheapskate.brok is offline  
Old 01-08-2011, 09:36 PM
  #4  
BOG
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
BOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: masshole
Posts: 1,602
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

i dremmeled down the edges of my thunderpower 40c 5000 it was hard but it works GREAT!!
BOG is offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 12:24 AM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BOG View Post
i dremmeled down the edges of my thunderpower 40c 5000 it was hard but it works GREAT!!
The Thunderpower packs fit with NO MODS. NEVER dremel or modify your packs as that makes them illegal to use as they are effectively damaged. You can dremel a little of the rear bulkheads just under the layshaft to make bigger packs fit if you need to but there is only so much you can do.
Dragonfire is offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 12:44 AM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

dont spend good money on great packs then start cutting or grinding them to make them fit in a car. Make the car fit the battery and if not use another battery...

You should have a decent pack longer than a car if you look after the pack right.
jjfo80 is offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 01:45 AM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jjfo80 View Post
You should have a decent pack longer than a car if you look after the pack right.
Not if you want to be fast. Packs work for a long time but they lose performance after so many cycles....
Dragonfire is offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 04:34 AM
  #8  
BOG
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
BOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: masshole
Posts: 1,602
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dragonfire View Post
The Thunderpower packs fit with NO MODS. NEVER dremel or modify your packs as that makes them illegal to use as they are effectively damaged. You can dremel a little of the rear bulkheads just under the layshaft to make bigger packs fit if you need to but there is only so much you can do.


tell that to my car it rubbed on the drive pulleys, i ground down my battery pack as did many of the guys at my local track. we are talking about 2 mm not cutting out the entire corner of the pack!!!
BOG is offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 05:21 AM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well think about it this way. You have 10 packs at $100 each and mine cost more I would rather machine my $500 car and the bits that you would have to machine to fit the battery would probably cost only one battery to replace.

But here you are telling me lets grind down all those batteries for what a $500 car. Come on where is the thought process in that?

If you only had cheap batteries and not wanting to compete in anything but small club meets and stuff well go right ahead but you cant compete in anything serious with a battery that has been ground down to fit a car.
But you can compete if the car has something machined.

Gee some ppl dont think to much do they.

Oh and the car in question isnt a car that costs that much anyways.
But if you just want to bash around with mates and not do anything but that go right ahead I still dont understand as soon as that ground down battery cops a hit explosions will happen.

Atleast I am not on the same track as you cause my car is worth way to much money to catch on fire with something as silly as doing what you guys are doing.
Anyway good luck

Last edited by jjfo80; 01-09-2011 at 05:34 AM.
jjfo80 is offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 05:30 AM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (24)
 
[[john]]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 852
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jjfo80 View Post
Well think about it this way. You have 10 packs at $100 each and mine cost more I would rather machine my $500 car and the bits that you would have to machine to fit the battery would probably cost only one battery to replace.

But here you are telling me lets grind down all those batteries for what a $500 car. Come on where is the thought process in that?

If you only had cheap batteries and not wanting to compete in anything but small club meets and stuff well go right ahead but you cant compete in anything serious with a battery that has been ground down to fit a car.
But you can compete if the car has something machined.


Gee some ppl dont think to much do they.

Oh and the car in question isnt a car that costs that much anyways.
But if you just want to bash around with mates and not do anything but that go right ahead I still dont understand as soon as that ground down battery cops a hit explosions will happen.

Atleast I am not on the same track as you cause my car is worth way to much money to catch on fire with something as silly as doing what you guys are doing.
Anyway good luck
Very true, maybe you may want to re-read the user's post's you quoted, he didn't say to grind the batteries.
[[john]] is offline  
Old 01-09-2011, 05:33 AM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

shit I am a arse. My apologies to all involved. I didnt mean to attack anyone just making a statement. Sorry again I just have a habit of using the quoting instead of reply.

Sorry again
Fordy

PS thanks John
jjfo80 is offline  
Old 01-10-2011, 01:16 AM
  #12  
BOG
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
BOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: masshole
Posts: 1,602
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jjfo80 View Post
Well think about it this way. You have 10 packs at $100 each and mine cost more I would rather machine my $500 car and the bits that you would have to machine to fit the battery would probably cost only one battery to replace.

But here you are telling me lets grind down all those batteries for what a $500 car. Come on where is the thought process in that?

If you only had cheap batteries and not wanting to compete in anything but small club meets and stuff well go right ahead but you cant compete in anything serious with a battery that has been ground down to fit a car.
But you can compete if the car has something machined.

Gee some ppl dont think to much do they.

Oh and the car in question isnt a car that costs that much anyways.
But if you just want to bash around with mates and not do anything but that go right ahead I still dont understand as soon as that ground down battery cops a hit explosions will happen.

Atleast I am not on the same track as you cause my car is worth way to much money to catch on fire with something as silly as doing what you guys are doing.
Anyway good luck
Who buys 10 batteries for one car.... not even the sponsered guys at my track do that. we are not runnin 500$ cars they at 200 bucks at my LHS... We only race at our local track no major events. something tells me that this guy is also just gonna be racing his local track!!!

Also takin 2mm off the side of the batter case does not mean immanent explosion
BOG is offline  
Old 01-10-2011, 03:24 AM
  #13  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BOG View Post
tell that to my car it rubbed on the drive pulleys, i ground down my battery pack as did many of the guys at my local track. we are talking about 2 mm not cutting out the entire corner of the pack!!!

Thats because you don't have the FF layshaft. In that case you do need to mod.the.pulleys. Weather you like it or.not, you should not be.usuing packs with a damaged hard case.
Dragonfire is offline  
Old 01-10-2011, 03:32 AM
  #14  
BOG
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
BOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: masshole
Posts: 1,602
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dragonfire View Post
Thats because you don't have the FF layshaft. In that case you do need to mod.the.pulleys. Weather you like it or.not, you should not be.usuing packs with a damaged hard case.

I have asked my LHS to order some of these FF layshafts and he either cannot find any or something.. I do not buy parts online as i cannot race at the online track!!! Do none of you guys use soft packs EVER??? taking a lil of the casing off a hard pack is not the end of the world, as long as you take good care of you batteries, which i do then all will be good

get me a FF layshaft and one of the 6 other guys that race at my track and we will pay you for them!!!
BOG is offline  
Old 01-11-2011, 06:02 AM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Soft packs in a car that doesnt have a area around it that cant be contacted from other cars or walls hit into and so no way in the world would I use a soft pack its just not done.
jjfo80 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.