Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
who holds the speed record? >

who holds the speed record?

who holds the speed record?

Old 08-07-2004, 07:46 AM
  #46  
Tech Master
 
Wency_TA03R-PRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The so called planet EARTH !!!
Posts: 1,087
Default

Originally posted by burbs
INSANE SPEED RUN!
Associated TC3 tops 95mph,
L30 pushes past 110!
FEBRUARY 2001

FROM RC CAR ACTION


Associated's Cliff Lett, a veteran of past "Insane Speed Run" challenges set out to do a little RC speed record breaking for the Guiness Book people recently. Cliff brought a 14-cell TC3 and his well-traveled RC10L30 "Insane" car to Irwindale Speedway for a run through the radar. The final result? Cliff got his TC3 up to 96.4mph, and the L30 topped out at 111mph before Cliff had to scrub speed to turn the car (or else hit a wall at over 100mph!). We'll have more pics here soon, and you can look forward to an exclusive report on the event and an inside look at Cliff's amazing machines in the May issue of Radio Control Car Action.

The A-Team's achievments even made it to the mass media, with appearances on television and a write-up on Popular Mechanics' website!

Bro did you say 14 cell TC3?. just wondering how does he mounted battery on the kit considering the cell is the same as the size of a regular cells thatwe are using? I really want to see the pictures as well as the write-up on this release.
Wency_TA03R-PRO is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 07:57 AM
  #47  
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,337
Default

how can you say that a car that goes 111mph has to do laps or do two runs etc. if it goes 111mph in a straight line then its how fast it has gone! :S i am alittle confused why the car would have to do anyhting other than go straight.

also ajg $310 dont you think thats a bit pricey for a 1/18th scale rolling chassis
pheyhoe is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 09:54 AM
  #48  
ajg
Registered User
 
ajg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: albuquerque nm
Posts: 924
Default

Originally posted by pheyhoe

also ajg $310 dont you think thats a bit pricey for a 1/18th scale rolling chassis
Not for one that cost around $500 to make.
ajg is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 10:10 AM
  #49  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
dracy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

was that truck ever in a magazine? i recognize it
dracy69 is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 10:23 AM
  #50  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 101
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Could you list parts and prices? I can't imagine what can cost so much in that truck.
Kuba is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 10:57 AM
  #51  
ajg
Registered User
 
ajg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: albuquerque nm
Posts: 924
Default

No, it wasn't in a magazine, but there was a similer one ine one of them. Mine is MUCH nicer though.

Also, not too many people can "imagine" how much it costs to make a custom car/truck. So your not alone.
ajg is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 11:08 AM
  #52  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
dracy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

did you make yours with a tc3 too? and yours isn ALOT nicer you just have a carbon chassis and upper deck, and it looks like 4 bigger shocks instead of eight.
dracy69 is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 11:11 AM
  #53  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
GundamWZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ft. Bliss, Texas
Posts: 4,716
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by pheyhoe
how can you say that a car that goes 111mph has to do laps or do two runs etc. if it goes 111mph in a straight line then its how fast it has gone! :S i am alittle confused why the car would have to do anyhting other than go straight.

also ajg $310 dont you think thats a bit pricey for a 1/18th scale rolling chassis
A car must do two laps to show consistancy in speed not just a 1/4 mi run. You can do 89 mph on lap 1 and do 94.02 on the 2nd lap. If your car can survive a third lap, the speed could be even higher. A straight line run will only give you one run, laps can give you higher speed times:

Let me put it this way.......

You start off @ 0 mph, right? Do a lap and reach the start line @ 50 mph. This will be your first lap, going into your second lap. you don't stop your car, so on the beginning of lap two you are doing 50 mph! By the time you complete lap two, your car may be going twice the speed it was going when you completed your first lap.
GundamWZero is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 03:05 PM
  #54  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
GReddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: san francisco, CA
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by GundamWZero
See, we got to understand that a drag style run (straight line, one run) doesn't really qualify as a fastest car run. You got to maintain your top speed for two laps! Even full scale land speed record runs two times forward then back. If they maintained their top speed between those two runs, then it is considered a qualified run.
full size cars just run down then down agian they dont turn bak thats just crazy for stuff lik a streamliner going at over 200+ to make a turn

same for all those other 200 members that run the salts every year they also got motorcycles with nos and cars and everything
GReddy is offline  
Old 08-07-2004, 10:53 PM
  #55  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
dracy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

umm those cars that run up and down the slatlake go like 500+ not 200+
dracy69 is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 08:37 AM
  #56  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
GReddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: san francisco, CA
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i noe its way more than 200 i just didnt want to make some high number then ppl will say its this not this and yea
GReddy is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 05:08 PM
  #57  
Tech Addict
 
sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 702
Default

Originally posted by ajg
No, it wasn't in a magazine, but there was a similer one ine one of them. Mine is MUCH nicer though.

Also, not too many people can "imagine" how much it costs to make a custom car/truck. So your not alone.
if you can afford to build such machines as a 70mph micro surely you can afford a digital camcorder to record these speeds.

you sound like the guy on the nitro thread who claims to have built a turbo that alledgedly makes a 200% in power or some other absurd number-its not even worth going back to look.
sean is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 06:17 PM
  #58  
ajg
Registered User
 
ajg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: albuquerque nm
Posts: 924
Default

Ha. I already have one. But I'm waiting on some new cells for the battery pack to come in soon. Also, I have lots of videos of it. Not with the new stuff on it though.

Why would you even waist your time saying somrthing like that? Because it wa a waist of my time too.
ajg is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 06:19 PM
  #59  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
dracy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

can we see da other vids?
dracy69 is offline  
Old 08-08-2004, 06:24 PM
  #60  
ajg
Registered User
 
ajg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: albuquerque nm
Posts: 924
Default

I'll try to find some. I only have ones that go to 40-50 mph, the others were deleted for more memory on the card for my camera.
ajg is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.