Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
I need a motor lathe. >

I need a motor lathe.

I need a motor lathe.

Old 08-05-2004, 11:51 AM
  #31  
Tech Regular
 
donoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 264
Default

Somebody call that place that is selling the 3Racing!!!! I can't right now because I don't have long distance at work!
donoman is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 12:04 PM
  #32  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
losixxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: omaha Ne
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

what should we ask them?
losixxx is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 12:30 PM
  #33  
Tech Master
 
rc_bam226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,074
Default

rcnewb2004, that's right, from what I can tell from the pictures from the website.
rc_bam226 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 12:31 PM
  #34  
Tech Regular
 
donoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 264
Default

"What is the smallest increment on the lathe and what is the parts availability concerning replacement v-blocks?" Also confirm if it needs a left or right-handed bit! Thanks !
donoman is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 02:28 PM
  #35  
Tech Master
 
rc_bam226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,074
Default

For every increment on the dial, I believe its 1/1000 of an inch.
rc_bam226 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 03:55 PM
  #36  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

Donoman,

if you find out, post on the forum man. The distributor here isn't picking up. so if you find out, do give us all here on the forum a shout.
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 04:36 PM
  #37  
Tech Regular
 
donoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 264
Default

ok i'll do that when i find out
The fact that they aren't answering is bad

The Integy Lathes are similarly cheap, around 90$
donoman is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 04:43 PM
  #38  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

Well, the "canadian distributor" answered, and said that he doesn't do it anymore. And he doesn't know who is responsible for it now in canada, so I left them an email asking them.

Really? which integy lathe?

Post link
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 04:55 PM
  #39  
Tech Regular
 
donoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 264
Default

Oh crap, these guys are in HK...

www.integy.com looks like a better alternative now
donoman is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 05:45 PM
  #40  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

I've been using a integy mod fashion(v-blocks) for a year and it works awsome. *But* integy no longer sells the v-block mod fahion lathe, they only have BB blocks. If you buy BB blocks they WILL foul up with metal chips and after that it WILL give you crap cuts unless; you either lock up the bearings or replace them(if possible). It's your money and your decision but I'd strongly recommend against BB blocks.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 06:34 PM
  #41  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

Donoman,

which integy lathe are u looking at? i can't find a harden v-block lathe for that price at all on their website.
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 07:51 PM
  #42  
Tech Regular
 
donoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 264
Default

sorry man I was looking at this Fashion Lathe for 80$ but it's out of stock like doggy said.

Donovan

http://integy.automated-shops.com/cg...20104522581.84
donoman is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 08:06 PM
  #43  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

Dono, u don't want that lathe? its a bearing lathe? sh*t will get stuck in it?

Or is it a vblock lathe and i just don't know it?
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:44 AM
  #44  
Tech Regular
 
donoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Daly City, CA
Posts: 264
Default

it's out of stock yo
donoman is offline  
Old 08-06-2004, 02:00 AM
  #45  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

But is it a good lathe? I mean its pointless if its not a good lathe....

And I feel that a good lathe starts by having vblocks rather than bearings... as I have been told by just about everyone that has a lathe that a bearing lathe will get copper shavings stuck in it and eventually jam.
rcnewb2004 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.