Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
A GOOD Charger and battery >

A GOOD Charger and battery

A GOOD Charger and battery

Old 01-05-2011, 07:58 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
SubarooMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 103
Default A GOOD Charger and battery

Hello everyone! I have two question.

First question. What is a good, affordable battery for my Sprint 2 Drift? I would like something that is powerful and a long run time ( higher milliamp), but still affordable enough. Can the stock Sprint 2 Drift support a Li-Po?

My second question is what is a good affordable charger? I heard that
" Venom" chargers are good. Is that correct? What im looking to charge are the following: Sprint 2 drift battery, and my Li-Po battery for my aircraft ( They are 11.1 volt, 1800 + milliamp), and a Traxxas Revo battery when I get it. So I am looking to charge both Nicad and Li-Po batterys. I would not like to spend more then -- maybe $120 ?

I have been into R/C for 12 years or so ( mostly aircraft) but all my RC trucks, cars, and aircraft have been nitro. But I am no2 converting to ALL ELECTRIC!!! FINALLY! God... I hate nitro. lol

Thank you dearly for your help!!!!
SubarooMike is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 08:17 AM
  #2  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
SubarooMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 103
Default

Bump. Any help would be gladly appreciated
SubarooMike is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 08:24 AM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (15)
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 762
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

The esc and motor can handle lipo power
BUT
it has no lipo cutoff, meaning you could destroy your lipo if you run the car until it stops

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=7028
great charger for the $$


http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=11598
battery
gacjr0 is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 09:01 AM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
SubarooMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 103
Default

Very nice, thank you! Now, I am not used to operating a model without a li-po cutoff, so how will I know when to call it quits so the battery does not get destroyed? Also how is that charger different from this http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXUAB8&P=ML Im just wondering because of the price difference. But that Turnigy Accucell? But I must say, that price on the Turnigy is great!
Originally Posted by gacjr0 View Post
The esc and motor can handle lipo power
BUT
it has no lipo cutoff, meaning you could destroy your lipo if you run the car until it stops

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=7028
great charger for the $$


http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=11598
battery
SubarooMike is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 05:41 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
SubarooMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 103
Default

ttt
SubarooMike is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 06:15 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 874
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

You should stop immediately when it starts feeling slower, but then you have to be careful when youre having too much fun and taking it way past that point.
rc_square24 is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 06:25 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
SubarooMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 103
Default

lol about the having to much fun. I know what you mean there. Do they sell Li-Po cut offs?
SubarooMike is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 07:14 PM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 874
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SubarooMike View Post
lol about the having to much fun. I know what you mean there. Do they sell Li-Po cut offs?
They do sell cutoffs that hookup to the speed control, around 20 bucks made by Novak "Smart Stop" is one of them. It interrupts throttle input when voltage is low.

Or for a couple of bucks you can get a buzzer that hooks up to the balancing port of the battery and goes off when a certain voltage is reached, but it doesnt stop the car for you.
rc_square24 is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 08:35 PM
  #9  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
SubarooMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 103
Default

I noticed the Novak Smart Stop has one black and one red wire that need to be soldered to something. Where do those wires get soldered??
SubarooMike is offline  
Old 01-06-2011, 10:39 PM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (9)
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 874
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

They tap into the battery connector of the esc and your esc plugs into the smartstop and the smartstop plugs into the receiver.
rc_square24 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.