Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Thunder Power RC Z3R Motors >

Thunder Power RC Z3R Motors

Like Tree1Likes

Thunder Power RC Z3R Motors

Old 07-15-2013, 07:22 AM
  #496  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 15
Default

Why does thunder power not list kv ratings or suggested voltages? Looking for a spec on the Z3R 550 4 turn. Has anyone done some independent research?
E85S4 is offline  
Old 07-15-2013, 06:13 PM
  #497  
Tech Adept
 
ThunderPowerRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 100
Default

Originally Posted by E85S4 View Post
Why does thunder power not list kv ratings or suggested voltages? Looking for a spec on the Z3R 550 4 turn. Has anyone done some independent research?
Because Kv numbers for slotted sensor motors are subjective. Stator design, rotor type and strength, motor timing all effect Kv. Most numbers are made up. This is why we donít publish numbers. However if you must.

Thunder Power Z3R 550 Motors
4.0 4.5 5.0 5.5
Part Number TPM-550A040 TPM-550A045 TPM-550A050 TPM55A055
Voltage 7.4 7.4 7.4-11.1 7.4-11.1
RPM/7.4V 37814 33596 30340 27602
kV 5110 4540 4100 3730
Power (W) 950 900 850 800
Max Current (A) 133 126 120 110
Efficiency (%) 92 92 94 94
Diameter (mm) 35.8 35.8 35.8 35.8
Length (mm) 65.3 65.3 65.3 65.3
Shaft Diameter (mm) 5.0 5.0 5.0 5.0
Weight (g) 248 248 248 248
ThunderPowerRC is offline  
Old 07-15-2013, 06:29 PM
  #498  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,356
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Will a 4.5t stator fit in a 13.5t can?
defcone is offline  
Old 07-15-2013, 07:28 PM
  #499  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
Jerz616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Will a 4.5t stator fit in a 13.5t can?
I don't think so. 13.5 is still considered stock spec. The 4.5 being a mod. You can interchange stock stators with other stock cans, but not with mod cans.
Jerz616 is offline  
Old 07-15-2013, 07:36 PM
  #500  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

All the stators are interchangeable.
Steve S is offline  
Old 07-15-2013, 08:27 PM
  #501  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
Jerz616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Steve S View Post
All the stators are interchangeable.
I think you might want to check that out. Stock stators are interchangeable with other stock stators. Mod stators are interchangeable with other mod stators. But you can't mix the 2.

This from page 17 post #249

Let me try to explain, winds 7.5t to 21.5t have a shorter stator than the modified 3.5 to 6.6t motors. There are two different cans for the motors. One for stock and one for mod. So the short answer is a mod stator will not fit in a stock can. We only offer the stock can as a replacement at this time. There willbe new mod cans coming soon
Jerz616 is offline  
Old 07-15-2013, 11:29 PM
  #502  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: england
Posts: 304
Default

Wat rotor comes with the 17.5 motor? Is it the red or the green one?

Thanks
mwoods is offline  
Old 07-15-2013, 11:47 PM
  #503  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,356
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mwoods View Post
Wat rotor comes with the 17.5 motor? Is it the red or the green one?

Thanks
Red
defcone is offline  
Old 07-16-2013, 04:37 AM
  #504  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: england
Posts: 304
Default

Originally Posted by defcone View Post
Red
Thanks ill try the green one soon .
mwoods is offline  
Old 07-16-2013, 10:15 AM
  #505  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jerz616 View Post
I think you might want to check that out. Stock stators are interchangeable with other stock stators. Mod stators are interchangeable with other mod stators. But you can't mix the 2.

This from page 17 post #249

Let me try to explain, winds 7.5t to 21.5t have a shorter stator than the modified 3.5 to 6.6t motors. There are two different cans for the motors. One for stock and one for mod. So the short answer is a mod stator will not fit in a stock can. We only offer the stock can as a replacement at this time. There willbe new mod cans coming soon
Ok, that makes sense. So really the compatibility is not with 'mod' and 'stock', but with specific winds. The info I got from ThunderPower by email was that my 10.5 (stock) stator would work in an 8.5 (mod) can, so I assumed that mod and stock stators were interchangeable.
Steve S is offline  
Old 07-16-2013, 09:46 PM
  #506  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,356
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Steve S View Post
Ok, that makes sense. So really the compatibility is not with 'mod' and 'stock', but with specific winds. The info I got from ThunderPower by email was that my 10.5 (stock) stator would work in an 8.5 (mod) can, so I assumed that mod and stock stators were interchangeable.
Maybe 10.5 is mod?
defcone is offline  
Old 07-17-2013, 01:37 AM
  #507  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (25)
 
NOFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,480
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Does that make 8.5 = stock?
NOFX is offline  
Old 07-17-2013, 07:58 AM
  #508  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I was going by their own designation:
http://thunderpowerrc.com/Z3RBrushlessMotors.htm
Steve S is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 11:34 AM
  #509  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 104
Default

Does anyone have a guide or video of how to disassemble / assemble the motors.

Should you aim to remove all play from the shaft?

Thanks
Nathan Wilson is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 12:10 PM
  #510  
Tech Master
iTrader: (49)
 
Jerz616's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nathan Wilson View Post
Does anyone have a guide or video of how to disassemble / assemble the motors.

Should you aim to remove all play from the shaft?

Thanks
Just remove the 3 screws and pull the red and silver can halves apart. The stator will be left with the rotor inside. Pull the rotor out. I would just shim it so thst it floats freely. You don't want it to bind. Just enough side to side play. Usually a couple mm of play is good.
Jerz616 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.