Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Noise Killer Clamps/Ferrite Cores >

Noise Killer Clamps/Ferrite Cores

Noise Killer Clamps/Ferrite Cores

Old 08-02-2004, 03:37 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,988
Default Noise Killer Clamps/Ferrite Cores

Where are people running these? I've seen suggestions that you run one on the positive battery wire, one on the positive motor wire, one on both battery wires, one on both motor wires...

What's the answer pleeeaaassssee!
sosidge is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 04:45 AM
  #2  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 110
Default

I think it's negative wires.
dragoneuh is offline  
Old 08-02-2004, 05:38 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 230
Default

Yep, I run one on my negative motor wire and one on my negative battery wire. Hope this helps, I'm 99.9% sure thats the right way as that is what Surikarn runs.
g4t2 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 02:09 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,988
Default

OK, so let me try and clarify this in my head.

I'm not an electronics engineer, so bear with me.

The ferrite cores soak up random interference that is being caused by the current moving non-smoothly through a wire.

The current is least smooth on the motor wires, and probably smoothest on the battery wires.

Current flows from negative to positive, so if anything the current flow from the positive motor wire, after it has been through the motor, will be the most disturbed.

So it seems to me that the best place for the ferrite cores are, in order...

1. Positive motor wire
2. Negative motor wire
3. Positive battery wire (if you have a 4-wire speedo)
4. Negative battery wire

Anyone got a clearer opinion on this?
sosidge is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 02:14 AM
  #5  
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by g4t2
Yep, I run one on my negative motor wire and one on my negative battery wire. Hope this helps, I'm 99.9% sure thats the right way as that is what Surikarn runs.
I do that too and if still have that stupid glitch...I always have one spare clamps to put on the esc signal cables to the receiver. That will definately kill all the noise...I hope.

Bryan
 
Old 08-03-2004, 05:43 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
StewartFan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Grrrrr!!!!
Posts: 695
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Where can we get these noise killer clamps?
StewartFan20 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 06:03 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
RcMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Philly burbs
Posts: 389
Default

I used the ones made by JR. Yo can get it from horizon hobby ((JR RF Filter -part #JRPA028). It comes as a pack of two so you can use it on the battery wire and esc/servo wires. I think you can use ferrite core filters for computer cables if you have any laying around just to see if it works. The JR ones are smaller tho.
RcMonk is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 07:08 PM
  #8  
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by StewartFan20
Where can we get these noise killer clamps?
Try here : http://shopping.rcmodel.hk/index.php...sort=5a&page=2

Bryan
 
Old 08-03-2004, 07:19 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

I put the clamps on my negative wires (one to battery and one to esc). It does help the noise but i also get glitching, but I that can also be due to problems w/ the tx/rx (eg. dirt in reciever, faulty crystal)
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 07:33 PM
  #10  
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Originally posted by rcnewb2004
I put the clamps on my negative wires (one to battery and one to esc). It does help the noise but i also get glitching, but I that can also be due to problems w/ the tx/rx (eg. dirt in reciever, faulty crystal)
I don't know whether Novak still sells those capacitor called "Stutter Stopper" or something...... or just plug in one capacitor into the receiver battery jack. A 470uF 10V electrolytic will do. Can get it from Radio Shack.

I've added this on the cable to power the motor fan (circled in yellow).

Bryan

Attached Thumbnails Noise Killer Clamps/Ferrite Cores-cgm3.jpg  
 
Old 08-03-2004, 07:40 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by rcnewb2004
I put the clamps on my negative wires (one to battery and one to esc). It does help the noise but i also get glitching, but I that can also be due to problems w/ the tx/rx (eg. dirt in reciever, faulty crystal)
if you are getting glitching you are getting noise.

ive never had consistant glitching, only have had it once and i moved to a different spot on the driverstand and it was fixed, and I run a Cyclone TC2 with a massive capacitor on it. maybe try moving to a different spot on the drivers stand.
dontfeelcold is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 07:51 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

yea, i think i will move. cause its like my car reaches a certain spot on the track.. and it just goes all funny for a split second.

but i just hate it cause my car is the only one that does that.

where do u put that capacitor dontfeelcold?

thx tornado. but i don't havea fan on my car. since its a tamiya ta04, i have no where to add one.
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 07:54 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

also have 1 more question. my lhs didn't have anyother size clamps, so i was forced to strip my 12 gauge wires from my esc (comes stock w/ my esc), to add the 14 gauge clamps on my wires. (therefore i have direct contact between the inside of hte clamps and the wires out of the esc). would this hurt the clamps? also, i realize sometimes the wires get pretty hot (even touching the wire with the insulation its very warm), I am just wondering if the heat will damage the clamps.
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 07:57 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

on the TC2 there are 2 wires that come out of the speedy that are designed to have a capacitor attached to them. I think you just attach the capacitor between the pos and neg wires coming out of the speedy. but dont quote me on that yet. I will have a look when I get home from work.
dontfeelcold is offline  
Old 08-03-2004, 08:01 PM
  #15  
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well....the capacitor goes directy into the receiver battery jack. I just put both the fan and the capacitor on parralel. That caps helps alot for me.

Bryan
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.