R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 12-22-2010, 10:59 AM   #1
Tech Rookie

Questions?? Schumacher Mi2 Gearing question

Hi All,

I had a quick question, I searched through the forums and found way too much to sort through effectively so I wanted to ask about the gearing in a Mi2. If there is a good thread on this subject let me know! I'm new to onroad, but long time RC driver. I have no local track, so no one to ask. I have the setup as follows right now, and wasn't sure what the best would be.

Novak Havok w/ 17.5T Ballistic
2s Lipo
I'm running 31/84 (48P) Right now, and I have a bunch of pinions, but I just have nothing to compare to. performance wise. I'm usually running it in parking lots with cones, etc. Not looking for the best winning setup, just the most efficent. I had a Castle 5700kV in it, and speed was great, but the sensored setup is obviously the only way to go with onroad. I'm thinking of getting a 13T motor, but wasn't sure... Wish we had a track in Monterey, CA to race on, but this will do. Any thoughts?? Thanks much for your time!

Cheers,
Rob
rdtshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 11:41 AM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

Yeaaaahhhh.....lived in Monterey for a year Rob.....can't feel to sorry for ya !!
Check out the regional forum here on rctech....I thought there was a club or something racing in Salinas.

Maybe this will help. www.gearchart.com.

Notice that the internal gear ratio changes when you change the stock center pulley. From looking at the manual, it appears you can change it from a 17t to a 20t.
I would consider changing to 64p spur and pinion if you haven't already done so. It'll make things a bit easier when you try to get proper gearing for that 17.5.