R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 12-21-2010, 04:04 AM   #1
Tech Adept

Default NOOB to On Road

I am new to the on road side of rc as well as the elecric side. I am waiting for my new HPI Sprint2Sport to arrive and had a serious question. I dont want to go lipo so please...I was wondering a good charger and battery? I dont want to break the bank with my first venture in on road. My goal is only a driveway street race and meeting people at sugarowl. Maybe one day I will get into a real race but for now I am going to try and get my foot in the door.

So any suggestions on what direction I need to head in a good charger and battery. Thanks everyone for the help.
Dill004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2010, 04:49 AM   #2
Tech Master

Hum...

Not sure why you don't want lipos if don't have any batteries yet ? Nowadays you can get decent lipos for less than 35 bucks, just take a look at the yeah racing packs.

After that, I recommend this little charger: "ripmax prodigy 2", just google it.

That needs to be plugged on a 12V source, like any other charger. You can charge really almost any batteries with it so it's a safe investment. You can find about 47 clones of this charger because they're all made by one manufacturer.Only the price differs. This manufacturer also offers similar chargers under different brands, that will work with 110, 220 or 12V. Example :http://www.redrc.net/2010/02/green-r...-charger-v1-0/

Maybe the cheapest solution would be to come at your local track first. I know if anyone would ask me nicely, I would gladly give him-her 5 nimh packs and my nimh charger for the price of a thank you.
Old 12-21-2010, 08:56 AM   #3
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie