R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-28-2004, 11:00 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Default Weird power supply problem

Okay, I've run into an unusual problem with my power supply/charger. When I go to charge batteries, I always get an Input Voltage error, because the charger is getting around 19v from the ps, even though the ps is only rated at 13.8v. So, I checked the charger by running it off my van's battery and it worked fine, so the problem seems to be in the ps itself. One thing: I had left the power supply plugged into the outlet (but not turned on) for over a week, if that would make a difference.
Pleaes let me know what's going on!
Thanks.
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 11:15 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
EddieO's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Lots of chargers will freak out if they get more than 15v.....see if the power supply has an adjustment knob to turn the the voltage down.....not sure what type of PS you have.

Later EddieO
__________________
www.teambrood.com
EddieO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 11:17 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Default

I have a Pyramid 10A power supply. It doesn't have a dial, the label says 13.8v for the voltage. The funny thing is that it worked fine before, but after I left it plugged in for a week, I have this problem now.
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 11:52 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
EddieO's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like something is shorted out that controls the voltage....

My advice, discontinue using it immediately.

Go onto ebay and buy one of the Elco power supplies for $20....then buy a $5 cord from Home Depot to wire it up. You will have a $100 power supply for about $30.

There is a thread on these forums from a while back that tells you how to wire everything up......pretty easy, I just did one up today in about 10 minutes.

Later EddieO
__________________
www.teambrood.com
EddieO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 12:43 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Raynor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My Idol!
Posts: 318
Default

Mic, You got so lucky that your charger is still working. I see Pyramid charger is only a linear type P.S., some linear PS does'nt have any protection like those in Switched Mode type PS.
Raynor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 12:45 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Default

So, just trash the ps? Or can I mess with the insides?
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 12:53 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Raynor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My Idol!
Posts: 318
Default

If you know anything about electronics why not? It can save you some money if you can repair it by yourself. Better to install a crowbar circuit at the output side of the PS.
Raynor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 12:56 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Default

Ok, I'll do that just for the hell of it.
BTW- how's this ps: http://www.radioshack.com/product.as...ct%5Fid=22-506
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 01:06 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

I have one of those. They work great. I've had it for a year (always plugged in). Still have it. By the way, don't get it from the store. Get it from eBay. WAAAY cheaper!

P.S. I have one for sale.

However, I think they're based off the Pyramid Power Supplies, or vice versa.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 01:20 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Raynor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: My Idol!
Posts: 318
Default

It does'nt have an output OVP circuit, still risky.
Raynor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power supply problem and questions ken39 Singapore R/C Racers 6 03-08-2006 02:56 AM
Weird servo problem! Xular Electric Off-Road 4 12-17-2005 12:20 PM
weird problem vectra Electric On-Road 2 09-08-2004 05:26 PM
Elco power supply volt adj. problem rc_square24 Electric On-Road 2 08-09-2004 04:00 PM
Power supply problem warlord385 Electric On-Road 4 02-10-2003 10:50 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:03 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net