R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-18-2010, 10:10 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,054
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Mamba Max Pro Cogs Bad!

I posted this in a MMP thread but it was in the Offroad section, so I thought I'd try here as well since this is in a VTA car.

I have a brand new Mamba Max Pro that hasn't worked with any 21.5 motor I've used. It cogs badly for a few seconds about 50% of the time I try to go full throttle out of a corner. I've tried resoldering all connectors and I've tried two different motors and numerous batteries and sensor wires, all with the same result. I've tried both motors with other speed controls and they worked fine. I bought this ESC brand new from my LHS a month ago, I know they're gonna tell me I'll have to send it back to CC and be without a VTA car for another month or two. I'm quite disappointed. Any suggestions?
Timbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 03:24 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
COBRARACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbulb View Post
I posted this in a MMP thread but it was in the Offroad section, so I thought I'd try here as well since this is in a VTA car.

I have a brand new Mamba Max Pro that hasn't worked with any 21.5 motor I've used. It cogs badly for a few seconds about 50% of the time I try to go full throttle out of a corner. I've tried resoldering all connectors and I've tried two different motors and numerous batteries and sensor wires, all with the same result. I've tried both motors with other speed controls and they worked fine. I bought this ESC brand new from my LHS a month ago, I know they're gonna tell me I'll have to send it back to CC and be without a VTA car for another month or two. I'm quite disappointed. Any suggestions?
Three things can cause coging .

1.faulty sensor wire
2.burnt mosfets in the esc
3.Not enough c rated battery .

thats all.
__________________
Email : [email protected] or [email protected]
Repair service Address
Hobbywing Technology Co., Ltd.
4th Floor, 3rd Building, KeLunTe Industrial Park, ShangLiLang, BuLan Road, LongGang District, ShenZhen, China
COBRARACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 04:21 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Try less timing on motor endbell.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 04:46 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
RCaddict0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Virgina
Posts: 3,526
Trader Rating: 85 (99%+)
Send a message via AIM to RCaddict0
Default

What servo are you using? I had problems with my Sidewinder Cogging alot, I found out the BEC in them arent that great and my HT servo was drawin too much.
__________________
E Maxx Brushless ~ Rustler VXL ~ Rally VXL 1/16
Ruckus Brushless ~ Stampede VXL
* Hobbywing Powered *
RCaddict0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 04:47 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 762
Default

I had similar problems with a MMP this summer. I finally sent it back and the replacement has worked flawlessly.
I will suggest doing that since you have tried two motors, multiple sensor wires and batteries. I will also assume that since you are running VTA that you are running without timing advance like the rules call for. That would eliminate cogging from too much timing.
old_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 05:04 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,493
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbulb View Post
I posted this in a MMP thread but it was in the Offroad section, so I thought I'd try here as well since this is in a VTA car.

I have a brand new Mamba Max Pro that hasn't worked with any 21.5 motor I've used. It cogs badly for a few seconds about 50% of the time I try to go full throttle out of a corner. I've tried resoldering all connectors and I've tried two different motors and numerous batteries and sensor wires, all with the same result. I've tried both motors with other speed controls and they worked fine. I bought this ESC brand new from my LHS a month ago, I know they're gonna tell me I'll have to send it back to CC and be without a VTA car for another month or two. I'm quite disappointed. Any suggestions?
More than likely it has a bad connection on the board at the sensor port. Unfortunately this is a fairly common issue with the MMP, I had 2 brand new that had to go back before I could even use them. Castle is very fast with their turnaround time, I know it still stinks as you'll be without your VTA car until it comes back and it's a new esc, but they will take care of it for you. See if your LHS will give you a new one and send yours back for their replacement.
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 08:58 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
RDOUBLEDAY's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 653
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Do yourself a favor , and buy a tekin , And keep that as a backup . Which you wont need .
__________________
Mugen Mbx6 Eco .
RDOUBLEDAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 09:51 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,054
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Can the Tekin run a 6 cell lipo in my dragster?

Let's keep the fanboy BS out of this. I run Tekin in other vehicles, so I'm aware of their quality.
Timbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 09:57 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
tmaxx26power's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

I would try an external BEC. The internal BEC seems to be a long going problem with the MMP. Speaking with experience also. The external BEC cured my cogging issue.
__________________
Kyosho RB6 Stock Buggy
Kyosho ZX6 Mod 4wd Buggy
Kyosho SC6 Pro2
tmaxx26power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 10:16 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,054
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If that's the case I'd just want to get my money back. I bought the MMP because it had an internal BEC. Basically it is starting to appear this ESC is not capable of any of the things I bought it for. All the literature on their website would have you believe they're products are god's gift to RC, but my mind is quickly changing from everything I've heard and read.
Timbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 10:30 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
tmaxx26power's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbulb View Post
If that's the case I'd just want to get my money back. I bought the MMP because it had an internal BEC. Basically it is starting to appear this ESC is not capable of any of the things I bought it for. All the literature on their website would have you believe they're products are god's gift to RC, but my mind is quickly changing from everything I've heard and read.
I felt the same as you with the BEC issues and honestly I switched to Tekin and could not be happier. Granted the MMP worked fine after adding the external BEC but the extra wiring was my turn off. All my Tekins have worked flawlessly.
__________________
Kyosho RB6 Stock Buggy
Kyosho ZX6 Mod 4wd Buggy
Kyosho SC6 Pro2
tmaxx26power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 10:35 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,054
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Like I said, I bought this ESC to use in my dragster in the spring. I just wanted to use it with 2cell lipo in my VTA until then. Sucks that I'll have to buy a second ESC for my VTA.

One person actually PM'd me and asked "WHy are you using it with 2 cell if you bought it to be used with 6 cell?"

Really dude?
Timbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 10:48 AM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
tmaxx26power's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timbulb View Post
Like I said, I bought this ESC to use in my dragster in the spring. I just wanted to use it with 2cell lipo in my VTA until then. Sucks that I'll have to buy a second ESC for my VTA.

One person actually PM'd me and asked "WHy are you using it with 2 cell if you bought it to be used with 6 cell?"

Really dude?
It will probably work just fine running 6cell in the dragster. Any of the issues myself and others have experienced have been on 2C. Others using 3 cell and up seem not to be having issues.
__________________
Kyosho RB6 Stock Buggy
Kyosho ZX6 Mod 4wd Buggy
Kyosho SC6 Pro2
tmaxx26power is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ryde it like you stole it: the Ryde Drivers thread. old_skoolie Australian Racing 22990 12-13-2017 12:58 AM
Mamba Max Pro BlueWalker Electric Off-Road 3283 06-20-2016 11:51 AM
Castle Creations Mamba Max Pro Sensored ESC bkspeedo Electric On-Road 1512 12-24-2014 08:06 PM
Mamba Max or Sidewinder? rogueldr Electric Off-Road 42 09-13-2008 01:27 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:14 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net