R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 12-03-2006, 11:31 AM   #9736
Tech Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian L
rcgen-You can try grinding a small notch on the pin where the setscrew sits. Make it just big enough for the setscrew to have a flat surface.This should keep it tight.
Thanks I'll try that....
rcgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 02:12 PM   #9737
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)

Yea ! Another RDX to rule @ Mikes!
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 02:34 PM   #9738
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)

I'm no pro, but I'm not sold on the benefit of the 4MM chassis. Maybe it's more important at big races with a ton of traction, but on our carpet track, even when the traction comes up, the car feels twitchy and unpredictable to me. I've gone back to the 2.9 with the thick topdeck and have been very pleased.

I guess what I'm trying to say, is that I'm not sure what tiny percentage of the RDX population actually benefits from the thick chassis, and it's not cheap.

I don't know how crucial the offset bulkhead is, but it seems to make the car transition a little faster. For what it's worth, it seems like a lot of guys overseas have started using it, and the new Corally prototype has narrower bulkheads that seem to achieve the same effect. It's another case where you can probably save yourself the $100+ for the bulkhead, and use that money for tires, or even save for the RDX-PHI where some of the hopups will be standard.

The carpet spec car is really nice on its own. Add some low rollcenters, the lowered shock tower, the aluminum knuckles and the SRC bumper/kydex, and you're set.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 03:53 PM   #9739
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to xtreameracer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo Morris