Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Corally RDX Touring Car >

Team Corally RDX Touring Car

Team Corally RDX Touring Car

Reply

Old 06-07-2006, 04:30 PM
  #7771  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Rob, if you're running close to my setup from the Novak, run the long extensions if you can get them, and if not, standard extensions with 24 lb springs.
Brian McGreevy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 04:52 PM
  #7772  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,671
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Should have mentioned I ran 24 lb springs, Koch wised me up to the extension thing. I just took the reg. ones off to see what would happen.
robk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 05:01 PM
  #7773  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
Slotmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Germantown Maryland
Posts: 5,725
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

On ThisLink when you scroll down , there are some new arms for the car that eliminate the need for the extensions.
Slotmachine is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 05:29 PM
  #7774  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

One thing I've been playing with lately is congo springs with standard extensions (purple/blue). So far it's really, really good. I would like to go back to my normal setup (33/22 w/ long extensions) and do a direct comparison.

Yes, Slotmachine, I know about the new arms. I'm a team driver but even I don't have them yet. Need to make an order...

Many people don't have them yet, so for those that don't, the extensions are a tuning option we use.

Last edited by Brian McGreevy; 06-07-2006 at 05:40 PM.
Brian McGreevy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 06:11 PM
  #7775  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (43)
 
morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: jersey shore pa
Posts: 5,613
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default rdx

hello guys,
just got my hands on another rdx...i had a carpet spec car before and loved it.i got rid of it and kick myself for doing so......i had to get another one.
only prob with that is i didnt write the set-up down.was wondering if somebody could give me a good set-up to start out with.i know the car i had before had black springs on the back and silver on the front.when pushing down on the car it felt stiffer in the back than the front.the rdx i have now i think is the uk version.it has the thick top deck/thinner chassi...the car has dual diffs like my other one did...i just do not remember what the camber links were and so forth...if somebody could give a me a good starting point i would appreciate that much.....

thanks much guys,

matt
morris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2006, 08:33 PM
  #7776  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Use any one of the carpet/foam setups from this January on. Dayger's, Langlois', mine, Herrmann's, and Lutz's setups are all really fast.
Brian McGreevy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 04:17 AM
  #7777  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (43)
 
morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: jersey shore pa
Posts: 5,613
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

brian,
i can do that...i went to the web-site and couldnt find the set-up thread...i will try again though....thx for the info.............corally rocks....


matt
morris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 04:40 AM
  #7778  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (43)
 
morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: jersey shore pa
Posts: 5,613
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

actually i did find set-ups.but unfortunately i cant get the page to go down far enouph to click on one....lol
i will try again later...

matt
morris is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 10:33 PM
  #7779  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,189
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I have 3 different revisions of the 2.9mm chassis. The original one (can't take 3700's), one for 3700's I got on the used car that I had to replace because the battery strap posts holes were cracked, and then the new one I just ordered. Lots of little differences between them.

The rear battery strap post hole is drilled a little further out so it's easy to tighten down the strap without the topdeck getting in the way. Also, there's a new hole drilled immediately in front of the forward most hole for the right rear bulkhead. Any idea what that's for?
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 05:38 AM
  #7780  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

syndr0me, did you ever get your GTB installed? Did everything fit?
or8ital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 08:34 AM
  #7781  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
Jimmy Morris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,239
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me
I have 3 different revisions of the 2.9mm chassis. The original one (can't take 3700's), one for 3700's I got on the used car that I had to replace because the battery strap posts holes were cracked, and then the new one I just ordered. Lots of little differences between them.

The rear battery strap post hole is drilled a little further out so it's easy to tighten down the strap without the topdeck getting in the way. Also, there's a new hole drilled immediately in front of the forward most hole for the right rear bulkhead. Any idea what that's for?
I believe it's for if you want to put another motor mount/bulkhead on that side, cut away the motor mounting part so the battery can fit, This makes the rear top deck mounts in line with each other. You have to cut up an assasin top deck to make it work though. It makes the chassi flex equally on both sides. Kind of like a MSX or a T2 or a Cyclone.
Jimmy Morris is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 10:19 AM
  #7782  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,189
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by or8ital
syndr0me, did you ever get your GTB installed? Did everything fit?
Yea man, but I couldn't make it look as nice as yours. That GTB is so large it has its own gravitational field. The other electronics are just in orbit around it. :-(
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 10:20 AM
  #7783  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,189
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jimbo Morris
I believe it's for if you want to put another motor mount/bulkhead on that side, cut away the motor mounting part so the battery can fit, This makes the rear top deck mounts in line with each other. You have to cut up an assasin top deck to make it work though. It makes the chassi flex equally on both sides. Kind of like a MSX or a T2 or a Cyclone.
Oh yea, I've seen some pictures of that. I didn't realize people were actually doing it though. Good to know it's a supported option. I LOVE the new location of the battery strap standoff. No more fighting between the strap and the top deck.
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 10:50 AM
  #7784  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by syndr0me
Yea man, but I couldn't make it look as nice as yours. That GTB is so large it has its own gravitational field. The other electronics are just in orbit around it. :-(
Yeah I know what you mean. Even though the Sphere has a slightly bigger footprint it just seems easier to fit. I guess b/c of the smaller cap and lack of a fan.
or8ital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2006, 02:13 AM
  #7785  
Tech Apprentice
 
Ollie RDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 98
Default

Originally Posted by or8ital
Yeah I know what you mean. Even though the Sphere has a slightly bigger footprint it just seems easier to fit. I guess b/c of the smaller cap and lack of a fan.
The Sphere or matrix are really small if you compare them to an other brushless ESC! So they are really good bild! But Orion is building some New brushless systems thats gonna be smaller than de QC3 or Razor its really gonna be amasing! Know this from Oscar Jansens! Now they use the brushless system of GM with a sticker of Orion on it!
Greetings Ollie
Ollie RDX is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service