R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-28-2006, 11:30 PM   #6001
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

When my tires get down to under 56mm (small, I know) I have a hell of a time getting my ride height to 4mm, no matter how much I crank down on the springs. Am I expecting too much life from my tires, or should I do something with my downstops? I've got about 2mm of uptravel when I'm at 4mm, but I really had to add a lot of preload to get to 4mm of ride height.

Do you guys even measure downstops, or is it all ride height and uptravel?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 06:09 AM   #6002
Tech Elite
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me
When my tires get down to under 56mm (small, I know) I have a hell of a time getting my ride height to 4mm, no matter how much I crank down on the springs. Am I expecting too much life from my tires, or should I do something with my downstops? I've got about 2mm of uptravel when I'm at 4mm, but I really had to add a lot of preload to get to 4mm of ride height.

Do you guys even measure downstops, or is it all ride height and uptravel?
Don't know if you're running the carpet nats, but keep in mind minumim tire height is 55 mm *after* your run i.e. if you car is one of the ones get's teched after the run and your tires are smaller than 55 mm ...DQ
__________________
http://www.arroyoc.com
http://www.gearchart.com
http://www.weracemountainbikes.com
HarshGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 06:30 AM   #6003
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,200
Default

For me it's all ride height and up travel. As the tires wear it's the best way to have a consistent set-up. It's something repeatable.
Chris Reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 06:55 AM   #6004
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,200
Default

Jeff and Brian do you guys use the 4mm chassis and 3.4mm Top Deck ? Also I know this has been asked. Where are the RDX X-Long Shock Extensions used and mounted ?
Chris Reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 07:58 AM   #6005
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,237
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarshGuy
Don't know if you're running the carpet nats, but keep in mind minumim tire height is 55 mm *after* your run i.e. if you car is one of the ones get's teched after the run and your tires are smaller than 55 mm ...DQ
And less than 31mm wide...
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 08:18 AM   #6006
Tech Regular
 
RC_Woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: St. Helens, OR
Posts: 313
Default battery strap problem

I have this problem of my belt flipping alot lately. I finally figured out what is causing it, but can't figure a good way to fix it or why.

Apparently, (usually when I hit a pipe, doesn't have to be hard--- I know just don't hit anything and there won't be a problem!) my battery moves under the strap and pushes into my belt, cause it to flip and rub on the batteries.

Yes its worse on 3300's, but it does it with my 3800's as well.

Any idea why its doing this? I guess I put a piece of foam or something on top of the battery, but that seems kinda lame. Just wondering if anyone else has had this problem ?

Woody
__________________
Woody
Sponsored by - My Wallet
LOSI SCTE
Tekno EB48
Home Track: Firridge Raceway, Scappoose OR
RC_Woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 08:27 AM   #6007
Tech Adept
 
FBJ's RDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Soon to be in the Darkside
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Brown
Yeah, I was working on that the other day. I will put it into PDF today and post it on the website.

Jeff
Thank you very much for putting up your new setup in the Corally USA site. I just printed it out and I'll be trying it this weekend. Thanks again

Sonny
FBJ's RDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 08:34 AM   #6008
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Woody
I have this problem of my belt flipping alot lately. I finally figured out what is causing it, but can't figure a good way to fix it or why.

Apparently, (usually when I hit a pipe, doesn't have to be hard--- I know just don't hit anything and there won't be a problem!) my battery moves under the strap and pushes into my belt, cause it to flip and rub on the batteries.

Yes its worse on 3300's, but it does it with my 3800's as well.

Any idea why its doing this? I guess I put a piece of foam or something on top of the battery, but that seems kinda lame. Just wondering if anyone else has had this problem ?

Woody
Have you filed the battery slots in the chassis making the batteries kinda loose even the the strap screwed right down ?? if so maybe taking alittle off the posts to lower the strap also would help ?? you'd need to be careful how much you take off though as if you strap the batteries in too tight you'll tweak the chassis
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 10:12 AM   #6009
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,623
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merciless
Have you filed the battery slots in the chassis making the batteries kinda loose even the the strap screwed right down ?? if so maybe taking alittle off the posts to lower the strap also would help ?? you'd need to be careful how much you take off though as if you strap the batteries in too tight you'll tweak the chassis
HPI makes a self-addhesive foam cushon that works great for that problem. I'll see if I can find the part #.
MUDVAYNE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 10:26 AM   #6010
Tech Regular
 
RC_Woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: St. Helens, OR
Posts: 313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merciless
Have you filed the battery slots in the chassis making the batteries kinda loose even the the strap screwed right down ?? if so maybe taking alittle off the posts to lower the strap also would help ?? you'd need to be careful how much you take off though as if you strap the batteries in too tight you'll tweak the chassis
I thought about that too, but I didnt really sand them all that much, just to smooth them out and seal with CA. So I don't think that is it. Thanks for the thought though...


Woody
__________________
Woody
Sponsored by - My Wallet
LOSI SCTE
Tekno EB48
Home Track: Firridge Raceway, Scappoose OR
RC_Woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 01:14 PM   #6011
Tech Elite
 
Brian McGreevy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4,081
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Brian McGreevy Send a message via Yahoo to Brian McGreevy
Default

Chris,

I run the 3.4 mm topdeck, but the stock 2.9 mm chassis. I like it.

Syndr0me,

Back your droop off further (1/2 a turn) and then try and get ride height...you should have no problem. From there reset your uptravel.
__________________
USVTA Member #211

Support Formula SAE - get kids into engineering!
http://motorsports.illinois.edu/
Brian McGreevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 01:50 PM   #6012
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian McGreevy
Back your droop off further (1/2 a turn) and then try and get ride height...you should have no problem. From there reset your uptravel.
Okay, time for me to sound stupid (more stupid).

I have one of those fancy setup stations, and it's great for getting camber and toe right, but I'm having a hard time getting my head around the best way to do the whole droop/downstops/ride height thing.

I basically use Jeff Cuffs' setup from IIC, and set my downstops to 5 or 6 as measured from the rear part of the arm while it's up on blocks. From there, I generally mess with the preload only to make ride height adjustments. I lift the car from the center to make sure the wheels come off the ground at the same time. From there, my uptravel is usually just whatever I end up with after making all those adjustments. I get the feeling that's the wrong way to go about this.

So, if you guys are looking at a setup sheet that only lists ride height and downstop settings, how, with that information, would you go about setting up your car? What kind of checks do you perform and tools do you use to make sure things are as they should be? Mind detailing the process?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 01:53 PM   #6013
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Also, let me make sure I've got this right:

Uptravel: The amount of chassis movement from the resting position to when the wheels come off the ground when the car is lifted from the center, like by a shock tower.

Downstops: How high the back of the arm is from the ride surface. Measured by putting the car on blocks and putting the "step" gauge at the back (trailing edge) of an arm.

Droop = Uptravel ?
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 01:56 PM   #6014
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

if, say the setup sheet lists a ride height, then +2, or "over ride height, what i do is this:

use 2 ride height guages, one on each side, put it to the total #, say 7.

using the droop screws, i adjust till the tires juuuust touch the setup board.

then you have the droop set as "ride height plus 1, 2, etc," whatever is listed.

seems like a lot of people use different methods of measuring and checking, but this would be a constant method, no matter what size tire, rubber/foam, etc....

probably should have typed that a little faster.....
__________________
Wes

Team Novak
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 02:02 PM   #6015
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Woody
I thought about that too, but I didnt really sand them all that much, just to smooth them out and seal with CA. So I don't think that is it. Thanks for the thought though...


Woody
just a thought on the belt flip... seems like after it flips once, it stretches one side of the belt a little, and its much easier to flip again. if yo sight down it, you may even be able to see it.

you might try getting a new belt, if that one flips repeatedly. in Vegas, mine would flip almost every time i touched a flapper, till i used a new one...
__________________
Wes

Team Novak
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corally CCT Pan-touring car biker R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 03-02-2010 09:21 PM
Corally CCT Pan touring car biker R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 11-05-2003 07:24 AM
Corally F1 w/touring car setup froghead R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 10-29-2003 08:10 PM
New Corally Touring Car At Nurnberg JANTLE Electric On-Road 117 04-30-2003 05:23 AM
Brand New Corally C4.1 Touring Car HauntedMyst R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2002 08:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:44 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net