R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-15-2010, 02:11 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
monkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cda, idaho
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default how do you mount a painted body?

typically ill cut my body post holes and wheel areas out prior to having it painted. or at least ill trace the lines/holes with a perm marker on the outside wrap so i know where to cut.

i just bought a new body and it arrived today and i have to figure out how to cut the post holes.
the wheels i can figure out. how do you guys do it?
monkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 02:33 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Rome - Italy
Posts: 278
Default

Put some black grease over the body posts, then lower the body over the posts keeping it aligned with the wheels. Black grease will mark the spots where body holes should be...
Fastfreddy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 02:38 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
rendcool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sunshine state
Posts: 199
Default

someone just gave me an advice with the exactly same question .

he suggested me with this https://www.ssl-stormerhobbies.com/c...&pn=IMXRCO9485
__________________
Itami o shitte ..
rendcool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 02:38 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
P.I.M.P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkee View Post
typically ill cut my body post holes and wheel areas out prior to having it painted. or at least ill trace the lines/holes with a perm marker on the outside wrap so i know where to cut.

i just bought a new body and it arrived today and i have to figure out how to cut the post holes.
the wheels i can figure out. how do you guys do it?
Hi the way I do it if I have already painted it is you put the body on where you want it then get a hand held light and shine it from below the chassie and the body post will come up as a shadow and then mark it from the top with a permanent marker and your done:-)there are tools on market like team Titan body locating mounts that are good to but a light is as good as it gets.
__________________
Vbc wildfire D06
clinton livingstone
P.I.M.P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 03:08 PM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
[amp]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Clearwater FL
Posts: 23
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rendcool View Post
someone just gave me an advice with the exactly same question .

he suggested me with this https://www.ssl-stormerhobbies.com/c...&pn=IMXRCO9485
Thats pretty cool!
__________________
TC3-B3-RC10L-XXT-S2D-CR-F103GT-LUNCHBOX
[amp] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 03:27 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
monkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cda, idaho
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

those led body posts lights are awesome!!
ill try the flashlight option.
monkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 09:41 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
GreenSC10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 647
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default .

There are little metal cones you available you put on your post and when you center your body press down to make the impression.
GreenSC10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 09:46 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

http://www.redrc.net/2010/10/pit-sha...mounting-tool/
__________________
www.facebook.com/mcpheerc
CraigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 09:51 PM   #9
Tech Adept
 
rendcool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sunshine state
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
where can I find those ?
__________________
Itami o shitte ..
rendcool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to cut out a touring car body sickjamminracer Electric On-Road 33 12-01-2015 06:56 PM
How long do you take to build your kits... or8ital Electric On-Road 30 06-12-2008 08:16 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:55 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net