R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-23-2004, 08:36 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 422
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Can Bad Tramsmitter Batts Cause Glitching?

Can bad transmitter batts cause glitching? I have a Pro4 with a GT7 esc and a JR spcm rx which just started glitching recently. Changed the motor, changed brushes on the motor, changed to a similar JR spcm rx, moved stuff around in the car (capacitor, wires, esc, rx, etc.) and still glitched. Changed to a Novak xxl FM receiver and glitching was gone. Discovered that my transmitter batts were bad. Was using 1000mah nicds in my JR R1 transmitter for about 18 months. Never cycled them. Just charged them when they became weak, sometimes fully and sometimes just partially. Removed then and charged them on a n Integy 16x5v6. Peak voltage reached over 15 volts so I know they were bad.

Would new tranmitter batts cure the glitching problems with my JR pcm receivers? Or are my receivers both broken? I find it hard to believe that one of my pcm rx is broken and almost impossible to believe that both are broken. What other explaination could there be? Hope someone can help me. Thanks
__________________
It's better to be lucky than to be good......when it comes to getting a clean run in qualifying!
jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 09:14 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Claydoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: being there
Posts: 402
Send a message via AIM to Claydoh
Default

Low transmitter power would certainly cause a problem. Not sure why an xxl would be less prone to glitch than the synth rec's. Maybe they need a stonger signal. At what voltage does the transmitter start beeping? My M8 starts whining at 9.6 volts I think. My old 1300 mah nimh AA's barely get over 10.4 anymore so I have to recharge every race day
Claydoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 10:08 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
TL_XXX-S_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 577
Send a message via AIM to TL_XXX-S_racer
Default

Duh ya!! I've had that problem before. On my old transmitter in the main my batteries where low and my car was impossible to handle or drive. ANd my batteries died. lol So i learned my lesson. Change your batteries about every 2-3 months. So you wont have to worry about low batteries.

hope you have fun and change those batteries
__________________
ProMatchRacing
"Nobody does it better"

Team Corally

Superior Hobbies
"Supplying all your r/c racing needs"
TL_XXX-S_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 10:36 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,428
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Have you tried different sets of crystals? Sometimes damaged receiver crystals will work in some receivers and not in others.
__________________
Brushes? We don't need no stinking brushes!!!
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 10:38 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Newville,Pa
Posts: 2,152
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

YES
__________________
G's RC Raceway- Best off-road track on the east coast...period!!!

Pitman for Team Dallas Austin...
IMPACTPLAYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 10:42 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Charlie O's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 739
Default

Absoulutley it will cause glitching!
Charlie O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 05:46 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 422
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I had the glitches even if the transmitter said the batts still had 10.2 volts and yes I tried switching crystals to no effect. Guess I will change my batts and see what happens.
__________________
It's better to be lucky than to be good......when it comes to getting a clean run in qualifying!
jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2004, 05:57 PM   #8
Tech Lord
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,838
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I use energizer e2 batteries.they are much higher voltage than regargebles which means stronger signal.and yes,low batts will definately cause glitching.
__________________
Jason Breiner
BMI Racing
Team Associated
J Concepts
protc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Glitching....please help Cristian Silva Australian Racing 23 06-14-2008 04:49 AM
glitching help! aus jd 2703 Electric On-Road 6 05-24-2007 05:43 PM
glitching tdragon Electric On-Road 10 06-17-2003 11:03 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:37 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net