wire gauge

Old 07-21-2004, 12:48 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default wire gauge

okay lets say after i have my tc3 for a month or two i'm probley going to want to get a better motor, esc, etc. what gauge wire should i be using to connect all this stuff and why?
kh15 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 01:39 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Hardriven RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aartselaar Belgium
Posts: 345
Default

I would go for atleast 14ga. This is btw the size most manufacturers use. Novak is 1 of the exceptions since they use 12ga for their race esc's.
Basicly the thinking is, the bigger the wire, less voltage drop per inch. You do have to take in to account the weight of the wire, thats why no1 goes over 12ga.

Regards
Hardriven RC is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 02:06 AM
  #3  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (2)
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,071
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

True, though you may not realize that even Novak is using more 14AWG wire now. All GT7's come from the factory prewired with 14AWG wire now(it actually took me a bit by surprise, because I'd been used to using 12AWG so I had to be a bit more careful in soldering on the Power Pole connectors that I use)....
Grizzbob is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 04:39 AM
  #4  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Default Wire Size?

It's true that 14 gauge wire is easier to work with and is sufficient for most applications. I was told by Novak tech support that the reason for using 14 gauge on their GT7 ESC is for more convenience to the consumer (easier soldering and more flexibility). However, larger wire size will give you more current flow (when needed) and less resistance. This would probably be noticeable in high current applications such as drag racing or sled pulling, but for average 6 cell applications the gains would be minimal at best. The most important thing when deciding on wire size is to keep solder joints to a minimum and use high quality connectors or even hard wire if applicable.
tmeeks is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.