R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2010, 08:10 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Jpm1's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,392
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default 2200kv or 2650kv in a gtp2???

Hello everyone, I was considering getting a ofna Gtp2 and was wondering has anyone had one, how do you rate it and what's the best motor combo, I have a 2200 cc combo or buy the 2650 cc combo of nitrohouse when I buy the kit?, what would the difference be? I have the 2200 in a hyper 9e and it's awesome.....

Thanks for the help...

Ps to anyone who one already, how did you glue the Tyres, there so tight on the rims???
Jpm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 02:55 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Jpm1's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,392
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

No suggestions???, I know there is a gpt2 thread but hey!!!
Jpm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 03:33 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Justpassedu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NewYork NY
Posts: 4,175
Trader Rating: 115 (100%+)
Default

If you already have the 2200kv then stick with that you should be fine , difference is on 4s the 2650kv will have a higher top end speed , the 2200kv will have more low end torque. The advantage to the 2200kv over the 2650kv is that the 2200kv can be run on 6s and the 2650kv cannot. the 2200kv also has a longer motor can , you will produce less heat with the 2200kv and have more gearing options. Running the 2200kv on 5s or 6s wich the 2650kv can not do and higher gearing will be the faster and more effecient motor choice. you can run 5s or 6s on the 2650kv and go really really fast but it is not reccomended and will void your motors warranty , possibly over heat it and damage the magnets if it gets to hot. This should only be done for a straight up speed run with you watching temps very carefully. I myself am going to run my 2650kv in my gtp2e only bc i sold my 2200kv with my hot bodies d8t awhile ago and that is the only motor i have now besides a 1800kv wich i think will be to slow for my need's. So in the long run it really depends on what you are going to be using the car for when it comes down to motor choice , such as how big your track is , what batteries you will be running and so on... There are many factors to consider but you will be fine with your 2200kv motor , id try it out , mess with a few different gearing choices before you go and spend your money on the 2650kv motor. In my opinion the 2200kv in this car is prob. the better motor choice. everyone has a different opinion and there are allot of things to factor in. Go out and test and have fun... hope i could help...
__________________
Mugen Mbx6 Eco
Justpassedu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 04:35 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Jpm1's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,392
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

That's awesome mate, thanks for the info, I'll give the 2200kv ago and maybe buy the 2650 tekin as I haven't had 1 before, I believe it can be run on 6s and down so will give me some more options also? I would prefer to run 4s though as I have a few sitting around....

Thanks again
Jpm1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:57 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
drpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: BC,Canada
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I did a lot of research for the GTP2E and the 2250Kv is the suggested motor for all aspects. But many run the 2650, I have yet to really get feeback on this though.
drpower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:44 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

so then,,, if a fella was only going to run 4s and run the stock gearing that came with the ofna kit, the 2650 would be the way to go?? (mamba monster combo)
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:30 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
kcunamay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

In all honesty, if you're racing this on a track and not attempting speed records, the 2650/4s combo is perfect. Plenty of torque and top end is very impressive.

I ran this setup in my GTP2E and now on my Losi GT8ightE conversion. I have no aspirations of running anything higher than 4s as it is a great setup. Temps are in check, run time is good to go and as stated, plenty of oomph and top end.

My .02
__________________
Jai Cunamay - Racing 1 class sucks.
kcunamay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:48 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
MambaPower87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,019
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

i got at 2200kv MMM on 6s, got to 72 mph with stock spur and 25t pinion.

and i also got a 2650kv tekin i just purchased, but havent installed, want to try it on 6s..to see the difference..

heres my speed test..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hWIKiNItoTk
MambaPower87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 10:04 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcunamay View Post
In all honesty, if you're racing this on a track and not attempting speed records, the 2650/4s combo is perfect. Plenty of torque and top end is very impressive.

I ran this setup in my GTP2E and now on my Losi GT8ightE conversion. I have no aspirations of running anything higher than 4s as it is a great setup. Temps are in check, run time is good to go and as stated, plenty of oomph and top end.

My .02
it just for racing on the track, no desire for the high speed stuff, thats what drag cars are for. thanks.
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 12:35 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
kcunamay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
it just for racing on the track, no desire for the high speed stuff, thats what drag cars are for. thanks.
You'll be good to go with this setup.
__________________
Jai Cunamay - Racing 1 class sucks.
kcunamay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 07:31 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Bubblehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 708
Default

I ordered a Tekin RX8 combo with a 2650 motor, where can I find some setup tips for the Tekin ESC? The Tekin web site only list 1/8 buggy.
Bubblehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 08:32 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
el salvador's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Western Seattle Bucko!
Posts: 1,072
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubblehead View Post
I ordered a Tekin RX8 combo with a 2650 motor, where can I find some setup tips for the Tekin ESC? The Tekin web site only list 1/8 buggy.
If you have the Hotwire, then, the only changes I made to my RX8 settings were:

1. Turn off Reverse, (if you intend to Race), you can turn Reverse Strength to Off as well as change Motor Type to Brushless/No reverse (BL-FW)
2. Narrow Neutral Width from 56 (Factory Default) down to 10.
3. Enable LiPo Cutoff, (in my case to setting 4)
4. I turned the Brake Strength up from 65 to 80%.

The RX8 comes with 198 firmware installed and other than the changes I've recommended, on 4S LiPo power, should be plenty Fast and very Drivable.
__________________
ARC R8 X2/ Max RP9 or O.S. R2101 ,Capricorn LAB C02-TOP Elite R, ARC R11....

"Every Cemetery in Chicago Votes Democrat!"
el salvador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 04:40 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Bubblehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by el salvador View Post
If you have the Hotwire, then, the only changes I made to my RX8 settings were:

1. Turn off Reverse, (if you intend to Race), you can turn Reverse Strength to Off as well as change Motor Type to Brushless/No reverse (BL-FW)
2. Narrow Neutral Width from 56 (Factory Default) down to 10.
3. Enable LiPo Cutoff, (in my case to setting 4)
4. I turned the Brake Strength up from 65 to 80%.

The RX8 comes with 198 firmware installed and other than the changes I've recommended, on 4S LiPo power, should be plenty Fast and very Drivable.
My computer has Vegas 212, what adjustments with timing?

Last edited by Bubblehead; 03-07-2011 at 05:37 PM.
Bubblehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 07:52 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
el salvador's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Western Seattle Bucko!
Posts: 1,072
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Exclamation IDK for sure

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubblehead View Post
My computer has Vegas 212, what adjustments with timing?
Your Vegas 212 Firmware poses an interesting question. So as not to cause controversy, (or in other words, I have Vegas 203 in my Netbook and when I plug my Hotwire into my RX8, it shows 198 as the firmware installed from Tekin and 199 available for update option). I also run WGT and 10th Scale TC, so with all of the "Issues" that surfaced during the changes from 203 to 208 to 212, I've decided to stick with 203 and let the "Pioneers take all the Arrows", so to speak, and thus, I've managed to avoid all the complaints that went on for many pages on the Tekin RS thread.

Sorry for the "Long Winded Non Answer", but this is a good question for Randy Pike as I can't supply any further insight to the question you pose.
I will speculate that if my Hotwire GUI when connected to my RX8 only shows 198 and 199 firmware available but when hooked to any of my RS's and shows anywhere from 189 to 203 available, then thats it! I was wondering if the RX8 could be run in Dual Mode instead of Sensored only however, more questions than answers at this point! I should probably go and thouroughly read the instructions and or contact Tekin tech support. The question then becomes, "What is the extent of Firmware options that are compatible with the RX8?"
__________________
ARC R8 X2/ Max RP9 or O.S. R2101 ,Capricorn LAB C02-TOP Elite R, ARC R11....

"Every Cemetery in Chicago Votes Democrat!"
el salvador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 08:09 PM   #15
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I think the question is, if your running a 2650, why would you want to turn timing on? mines plenty fast already, if it needs to go faster I will change the pinion.
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:25 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net