Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Difference between setupboard and setup system >

Difference between setupboard and setup system

Difference between setupboard and setup system

Old 07-16-2004, 08:28 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 88
Default Difference between setupboard and setup system

I wa slooking through the PMB website for a setup board. THen I saw the setup system. Can someone tell me whats the difference between the two and do you really need both?
Illusion-Lighti is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 08:34 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

the se-up system is the gauges you put on the car to measure wheel angles,ride height etc.
the board is a perfectly flat piece of material to setup the car correctly.
it depends what you are looking for.
if you want just the board then thats it.
if you want the setup system then it would be recomended to get the board unless you have a perfectly flat surface.
trf racer is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 08:37 AM
  #3  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

A set-up board is just a FLAT board with lines or graphics to be used with the set-up system.

The board just provides a steady/flat work area.

Last edited by Tres; 07-16-2004 at 08:46 AM.
Tres is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 08:41 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

Originally posted by Tres
A set-up board is a a FLAT board with lines or graphics to be used with the set-up system.

The board just provides a steady/flat work area.
they dont all come with lines/graphs but can be bought seperatly.
trf racer is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 02:18 PM
  #5  
J-P
Tech Regular
 
J-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London U.K.
Posts: 291
Default

i use a set-upboard and then use a ride height gauge and an rpm camber gauge, i also use a tweek station every now and then. i seem to get buy ok but its down to you what you want out of it, it can take abit of time to get all of the set up station out between race's but before starting the day its good to use.

hope this helps little

J-P
J-P is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 10:11 PM
  #6  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 88
Default

couldn't i just use like a thick sheet of metal plate or wood as the board?
Illusion-Lighti is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 10:36 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Originally posted by Illusion-Lighti
couldn't i just use like a thick sheet of metal plate or wood as the board?
You would want something perfectly flat. I use some think plexiglass, there is also the hudy setup board. Wood is sort of uneven, metal plate would be too slippery IMO.
Tek Nickal is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.