R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Tamiya Chassis Question (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/452070-tamiya-chassis-question.html)

TS656577 11-12-2010 01:15 PM

Tamiya Chassis Question

I'm pretty new to all of this and I need something that's fairly cheap for now (stupid college lol). I plan on making a few upgrades on the suspension and such, but I just found this the other day looking at TT-01's. I can't post links but the Tamiya part number is 57981. Any thoughts on this? I believe it's basically a TT-01E but it seems like it's pretty cheap other than not having a body. Am I missing something? Thanks

1101 11-12-2010 06:05 PM

TT01 is a basic basic basic car- allmost to the point of being crude.
Most of them dont even come with ballbearings (thats how much Tamiya think of them)

Most TT01 upgrades are for the bling factor only, they wont actually help it much
silk purse from a sows ear sort of thing.

but they are very tough

Look at a TB03 or TA05 instead , even a used one.

TS656577 11-12-2010 06:16 PM

Alright thanks. I'm going to have to buy a used one to watch the budget :(

hotdognobun 11-12-2010 06:31 PM

Originally Posted by TS656577 (Post 8201442)
I'm pretty new to all of this and I need something that's fairly cheap for now (stupid college lol). I plan on making a few upgrades on the suspension and such, but I just found this the other day looking at TT-01's. I can't post links but the Tamiya part number is 57981. Any thoughts on this? I believe it's basically a TT-01E but it seems like it's pretty cheap other than not having a body. Am I missing something? Thanks

tb03!!!

JasonRP 11-12-2010 06:35 PM

Originally Posted by TS656577 (Post 8202522)
Alright thanks. I'm going to have to buy a used one to watch the budget :(

I guess it depends on what you are looking to do?