Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
dyno'd-silver can 540j after long break-in >

dyno'd-silver can 540j after long break-in

dyno'd-silver can 540j after long break-in

Reply

Old 11-09-2010, 03:49 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
PERROTTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 785
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default dyno'd-silver can 540j after long break-in

These are the dyno results from a freshly broken-in tamiya 540j silver can motor. I am posting this hoping for feedback from anyone. Tell me your methods and your results. I don't know if these numbers are worth the time spent on break-in or not. Let me know if anyone is interested in my method. Anyway here are the numbers I acquired with a standard motor rpm tester with no load.

[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]

BTW- any questions or comments will be helpful. This is the first time I have dynoed a tamiya 540j silver can.
PERROTTO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 04:40 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
hprt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Airdrie, Alberta
Posts: 1,717
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PERROTTO View Post
These are the dyno results from a freshly broken-in tamiya 540j silver can motor. I am posting this hoping for feedback from anyone. Tell me your methods and your results. I don't know if these numbers are worth the time spent on break-in or not. Let me know if anyone is interested in my method. Anyway here are the numbers I acquired with a standard motor rpm tester with no load.

[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]

BTW- any questions or comments will be helpful. This is the first time I have dynoed a tamiya 540j silver can.
Looks like an average, run of the mill, broken-in 540J.
hprt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 06:39 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
PERROTTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 785
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

that is kinda wut i thought cosidering my last motor (which i maticulously broke-in) has been run A LOT and still peaks at [email protected] I didnt get a chance to dyno that one when it was freshly broken in.
PERROTTO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 07:43 AM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
 
Butler205's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 68
Default

What were the result before you broke it in?
Butler205 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 09:50 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 499
Default

Thats not a dyno run. its just a rpm check. And it does not neccessary tell anything about power.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dynamometer
MatsNorway is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 10:03 AM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
PERROTTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 785
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Butler205 View Post
What were the result before you broke it in?

Rookie mistake on my part-i dint dyno b4 break-in
PERROTTO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 01:50 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
rccardr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Secret Underground Laboratory
Posts: 2,353
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Actually, I would say somewhat below average for simply broken in. We're seeing 13,100 @ five volts for most current run soft brush motors and about 13,500+ @ five volts for the newer carbon silver brush motors (brushes have 'CS' engraved on them).

Our full race motors are currently pulling about 20K at five volts with a power number of 42-45 on a Facts Machine dyno. So, something to shoot for.
rccardr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 02:21 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 292
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

[email protected]???

Originally Posted by rccardr View Post
Actually, I would say somewhat below average for simply broken in. We're seeing 13,100 @ five volts for most current run soft brush motors and about 13,500+ @ five volts for the newer carbon silver brush motors (brushes have 'CS' engraved on them).

Our full race motors are currently pulling about 20K at five volts with a power number of 42-45 on a Facts Machine dyno. So, something to shoot for.
swarb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 04:01 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Originally Posted by swarb View Post
Yeah, I know, almost unbelievable to those with no experience with "enhanced" 540J motors. These rpm #s are entirely achievable by those knowledgeable few. The power #s are outstanding however.

Doc was referring to his Red Dot motors which he builds and has for sale. Well worth the price. As a disclaimer, I have no interest in the Red Dots, but am an admirer of Doc and his products.
Granpa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 04:39 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,168
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Magnet zapping to advance timing or 10amp load motor breakin (to fuse the windings) will help get the rpms up. Some also break the washers at the ends of the armature.
rccartips is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 07:37 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
rccardr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Secret Underground Laboratory
Posts: 2,353
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

You betcha. And a high power number, too.

It's not VooDoo. It's Science.
Straight from the Secret Underground Laboratory.

Where we LOVE silver can racing!
rccardr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 04:15 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,238
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

so where can I get one of these high tuned motors?
goots is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 07:11 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
rccardr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: The Secret Underground Laboratory
Posts: 2,353
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Shoot an e-mail to [email protected]
rccardr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 07:44 AM
  #14  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
jjfo80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: queensland australia
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rccartips View Post
Magnet zapping to advance timing or 10amp load motor breakin (to fuse the windings) will help get the rpms up. Some also break the washers at the ends of the armature.
I thought the whole deal of silver can racing wasnt to cheat... ie advancing the timing. Its a silver can for a reason...
jjfo80 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 08:49 AM
  #15  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Originally Posted by jjfo80 View Post
I thought the whole deal of silver can racing wasnt to cheat... ie advancing the timing. Its a silver can for a reason...
If you know what you are doing, you can achieve what may seem like spectacular results, without advancing the timing. Interesting how people bandy around the term "cheating", when they really mean "if your motor is faster than mine, you must be cheating". I for one am sick and tired of it.

If you've got a slow motor, learn how to make it faster. If you can't do that, buy a Red DOT or find someone who knows how to do it and use one of his. All this "cheating" talk isn't very constructive. Word of warning tho, learning how can be a time consuming and expensive proposition.
Granpa is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service