R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2004, 07:36 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Motor-Run In Question

This is a stupid question, but i was motor-running in my motors, and i couldnt help but forget the AMPs and Volts were good. Say if i ran my motors at 7.0 on my Turbo GFX what are good AMps and Voltages? Is it better if the motor has higher amps and volts or lower? Sorry for the stupid question.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 08:41 PM   #2
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I run in my motors using the Motor Master - Surikarn Version on pulse mode 2V and 3V for 300 sec.

Bryan
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 08:48 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tornado
I run in my motors using the Motor Master - Surikarn Version on pulse mode 2V and 3V for 300 sec.

Bryan
Try Pulse setitng #4 too
-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 09:19 PM   #4
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Nice to see you here Dave ! Any difference in using setting #5 other than longer pulse in #4 ? Any significant benefit ?

Bryan
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 09:38 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tornado
Nice to see you here Dave ! Any difference in using setting #5 other than longer pulse in #4 ? Any significant benefit ?

Bryan
The time between is the pluse is a bit longer thats all
-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2004, 10:12 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The amp draw of a motor with no load on it ie>(not in a car or a dyno) means very little.....if thats what you meant....hard to understand
__________________
1/8 Scale: Tekno EB-48.2... Tekin RX-8 GEN-2 W/2050kv... Airtronix M11-X Radio... HiTec HS-7954SH Servo...

1/10 Scale: Associated B-5(rear motor)...Tekin RSX Gen-2 W/8.5t... Savox SC-1258-TG Servo
Joe B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 04:16 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default Re: Motor-Run In Question

Quote:
Originally posted by JDXray
This is a stupid question, but i was motor-running in my motors, and i couldnt help but forget the AMPs and Volts were good. Say if i ran my motors at 7.0 on my Turbo GFX what are good AMps and Voltages? Is it better if the motor has higher amps and volts or lower? Sorry for the stupid question.
it depends on what motor?if its stock theres more variables.
if you have a stock motor then normally i would go with the lowest amps and highest effciancy.
the reason for the lowest amps is because in stock motors you have bushes and these could be well centered or not.
if they are not this means amps will be high.
in general higher amps could be a shorting arm, high degree of timing,bad bearings,double mags,aligment of brushes so as you see theres a whole list of things.
obviously in mod higher degree of timing will give more power but increase in motor amp draw,like wise bad bearing will give you high amp draw but will negatively effect the motors performance.
__________________
Tamiya
Much More Racing
LRP electronic
Futaba
Speedtechrc
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 09:42 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default Re: Motor-Run In Question

Quote:
Originally posted by JDXray
if i ran my motors at 7.0 on my Turbo GFX what are good AMps and Voltages? Is it better if the motor has higher amps and volts or lower? Sorry for the stupid question.
That's a bit high at 7.0. Is there a reason you are at that voltage?
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 09:44 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

okay i run stock motors mostly besides one 19t epic binary. I usually motor run-in at 3.0, 5.0 and 7.0 volts(i guess its volts or amps) I like to run my motors at different settings. Is that bad?

and when there running i usally get around 4.0 avg amps (drawn i guess) and 7.0 volts avg.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor Question RoseTuned Electric On-Road 5 09-27-2007 12:50 PM
XXX-NT motor question Rookie01 Nitro Off-Road 12 06-26-2007 03:01 AM
Motor+ESC question SPO Electric On-Road 2 08-29-2006 06:29 PM
Motor fan question ChadCapece Electric On-Road 7 04-07-2005 11:09 AM
question about motor for ipc esc mf2rcr Electric Off-Road 2 08-11-2004 04:22 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:28 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net