R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2004, 01:42 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default MAJOR/Confusing issue with CAR!!! PLEASE HELP!!!

This could be one of the most baffling car issues I have ever had.

Problem: Car will not accelerate, most of the times. I give it full throttle, and it just sits there. I then give it a little push from behind…and then it goes. It runs ok, as long as I don’t let it come to a compete or slow stop. When it does again, it will not go, not until I give it a little push again.

Areas that I have checked: NEW T1R car, NO binding at all. Without the motor installed, the car will roll down my driveway, no problem. NEW TO Rush 11X2 motor. The motor shaft spins pretty freely, with the obvious magnet forces.

Things I have tried:

New Rx,
New crystal
New ESC (confirmed working in another car)
4 types of battery packs, all work (according to charger, and when the car wants to run)
Dean Connectors


My setup:

ESC with Battery Ultra Deans
6-cell Fukayama Battery pack (4)
ESC Deans connector to Motor wires.
FM RX and Radio
LRP F1 PRO Reverse, no motor limit ESC
TO RUSH 11x2 motor

With the car on the working bench…I have tried:

Replacing ESC with a MC230CR
Replacing Motor with a Monster Torque 27t stock Motor
Direct solder ESC to Motor leads (on both motors)
Installed cap on Motors
Installed cap on Battery connect (on ESC side)
Tried all combinations of above mentioned options with motor installed and un-installed in the car.
Used a watt meter (Electronics are only pulling about 9amps, BOTH ESCs on both MOTORS)

No matter what combination I try...the outcome is the same. FULL servo operation....but no motor power. Then...I can disconnect the battery pack, motor and ESC...come back about 5 min. later, hook it all back up...and it works. The motor spins.....but only pulling about 7-9amps and the motor sound flucuates when i have it at 75% to full throttle. I start to ease off the throttle....to a stop, and BAM.....when i give it throttle again....NOTHING! No Amps....nothing! AHHHHH!!!!

This is killing me!! I feel like I have tried ALL possible options….and nothing has worked!

Any suggestions would be great…as all of this equipment has been run MAYBE 5-10 times….so it is “like new” condition!

Thank you

If you have any tips....and you can Email me....PLEASE DO!
[email protected]
atlrcracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 01:58 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,428
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I sent you an e-mail, it is from [email protected]
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 02:02 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Did you try a different transmitter too? Sounds like you've pretty much tried everything.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 02:04 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Switch Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The British Invasion
Posts: 1,078
Send a message via AIM to Switch Blade
Default

Have u tried changing the brushes and springs? One reason why your car isnt moving might be becasue a brush is"hung"(isnt that the correct term??anyways, i think it means when the brush doenst come in contact with the motor, and you wont have power...the same thing u are experienced has happened 2 me and all i did was pull the brush back, and let the spring snap it into position...try that mabe
__________________
College
Switch Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 02:15 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like a hung brush allthough i had something similar using modifieds when i didnt have enough shockety diodes installed, i added an extra one and it worked fine. Try that maybe?
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 06:40 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Switch Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The British Invasion
Posts: 1,078
Send a message via AIM to Switch Blade
Default

try using a cotton swab and soak it with motor spray, then insert it into the brush hoods and clean that area out. U wouldnt believe how filthy they can get...
__________________
College
Switch Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 08:55 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
S-T-R-l-K-E-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CS RACING / RIDDLER HOBBIES
Posts: 973
Send a message via ICQ to S-T-R-l-K-E-R
Default

i second the motion!! i'd say thats its a hung brush!!! also check cause some solder lead may have entered the brush hood
S-T-R-l-K-E-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 09:07 PM   #8
ajg
Registered User
 
ajg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: albuquerque nm
Posts: 924
Default

Replace the brushes and springs, I had the exact same problem with my tc3.
ajg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 09:13 PM   #9
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Back That Thang Up!
Posts: 3,468
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I had the exact same problem in my Xray EVO 2

It was a problem with the brushes like mentioned above...

check yo' brushes and report back
403forbidden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 09:23 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 639
Default

that kinda sucks buying all that stuff and findout out u only had to change a brush thats only a few dollars
craziracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2004, 11:26 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
icon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 527
Send a message via AIM to icon
Default

this might sound stupid, but did you perhaps check the comm. on your motors for carbon buildup?
icon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 12:14 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
rc_bam226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,074
Default

Check the motor for everything, hung brushes, worn comm, burnt brushes, massive carbon build up on the comm...although...if you already replaced the motor....this a tough one....
rc_bam226 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 12:47 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
Wency_TA03R-PRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The so called planet EARTH !!!
Posts: 1,087
Default

I agree to RC_BAM226 f you already did tried everything other racers suggest then this is definitely a tough one!!!! It also happen to me last 2 weeks.. after I replace the receiver module its runs great!!!.. It may not be on the cystal itself. Crystal on the receiver just received the command/signal from the transmitter radio and the receiver module will be the one the initiate or give the signal/command to the ESC on what it will do... Hope it solves the problem on your car..
Wency_TA03R-PRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 01:52 PM   #14
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default

Well..thank you all for helping me out, i really appreciate it. I bought another motor and ESC (just to make sure i had my basis covered for a sunday garage work session. I first wanted to replace the motor. I bought a Reedy Spec 19 motor, hooked it up, and BAM.....works like new. I am still using my original F1 PRO reverse ESC too. So...it look like it was BOTH motors.....very wierd!

So...i will replace the brushes in the 27t motor, and I am sending the TO 11x2 motor back to TO...i just dont have a good feeling about it!

So....like they say, I guess you can really not have enough motors laying around....I now have a 11t, 19t and a 27t.

Thank you all...

Any good gearing tips? I am running the stock spur (93t,64p).

Thank you guys!
atlrcracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2004, 02:41 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 221
Send a message via AIM to TCRacerPro
Default

Kool! So i guesss you got it working!
TCRacerPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Truggy tire choice.... on outdoor track.. confusing conditions. OWTKAST cpt Nitro Off-Road 1 05-25-2008 04:06 PM
realy confusing with buying =/ Potter Micro and Mini Scales 7 08-07-2007 10:47 PM
i NEED MAJOR HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PLEASE? needhelpPLZ? Nitro Off-Road 9 07-18-2007 10:31 PM
Major Help!!!!!!!!!! duffman1977 Monster Trucks 9 06-04-2006 11:38 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:48 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net