R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-28-2010, 08:57 AM   #1
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Questions?? Please rate Brushless motor sensor wires.

I looked and did not see a thread on sensor wires.

Does length make a difference?

Which brand do people use and why?

What causes them to go bad and how can it be checked to see if it is bad?

And any other tips/suggestions do people have?

Thanks in advance...
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 09:20 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
al dente's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: 5280 Raceway. Denver's finest RC facility
Posts: 4,765
Default

if you are running a pan car, then you want a very soft wire. the stiff wires do not allow the rear pod to move freely. try the ones offered on teamcrc.com

if you are running a taxi cab, any wire will work.

do not pull them out by the wire, that will surley ruin any harness.
__________________
Team CRC / Dumper's Speed Shop / Team Scream Racing / Black Art
RC America / FB/FX / Colorado On Road RC Club
5280 Raceway (5280raceway.com) home of the MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 19-22, 2018
al dente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 09:56 AM   #3
Regional Moderator
 
CarbonJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,661
Default

Just about everyone I know uses the ones from TQ Racing. They are available in a bunch of lengths from 50mm to 200mm. The wires are very pliable, so they don't bind the pods on pan cars. Some people even go as far as to cut the flexible sheath off of them to make them even more pliable.

About the only thing that causes them to go bad is pulling them out by the wires, or getting damaged in a crash (especially touring car, since the motor end bell is exposed).

The Tekin RS / RS Pro has a sensor diagnostic function. Have the ESC powered up, and turn the motor by hand. LEDs 5, 6, 7 should light up (dimly) in sequence as the rotor is turned by hand. That at least shows that the sensor wire and sensor board are OK. If they don't light up, one or both are bad.
__________________
*** The Gate - Celebrating 8 years at the same location ***
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car
CarbonJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:02 AM   #4
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,368
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

I have had one or 2 go bad that has been to a short or break in the wire or connector. I just use a digital multimeter set to a beep if it's a good connection.

First chek each connector for any of the pins being pulled higher then the rest

2) Check the cable for any visible damage or cutting

3) check with a multimeter

4) Swap with a known/New One

5) if you are still having problems then it's you motor or esc connection
jdeadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:05 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
buffalobill989's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: broken arrow, ok
Posts: 754
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

+1 for the tq wires, very soft and flexible. different lengths to
buffalobill989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 06:21 AM   #6
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nova F1 Racer View Post
I looked and did not see a thread on sensor wires.

Does length make a difference?

Which brand do people use and why?

What causes them to go bad and how can it be checked to see if it is bad?

And any other tips/suggestions do people have?

Thanks in advance...
I have been using TQ Wire since before the public knew about them. It is the best wire I have found. The owner's phone number is on his site. Call him and he will answer any questions you have. His name is Ralph.

Lengt does make any difference.

CarbonJoe answered the rest of your questions.
__________________
Rick "Blue" Sieboldt - Mooresville, NC
* Associated T5M * Tekin * TQ Wire *
www.tqracing.com/rc_products.htm For all your wire needs
lidebt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:03 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net