R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 07-09-2004, 12:55 PM   #1
Tech Adept

Default I'm new to electric and i have some questions.

Ok i have been into nitro for over 5 years now but i want to buy a drift car and i have no experience with electric cars.

I was reading on the tower hobbies website that the Yokomo drift kit requires a 550 motor. What does this mean ? Can anyone suggest a good motor that would give me enough torqe and power to get it moving pretty fast. I'm not looking to spend allot on the motor,esc (about $175-200 all together) Can anyone suggest one ?

I've heard allot about brushless motors..... i know they cost more than reg ones but is it worth it ? are they for onroad applications?

I know i want to get into drifting and i know there are other electrics that are great for drifting but i like the yokomo the most but its kinda expensive for just a kit. Would a yokomo drift body fit on a reg touring car ?

Oh and if anyone has a used electric thats good for drifting i may be interestead

Thanks allot for all your help

Mike Rich
HKS Inc
bluelock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2004, 01:23 PM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to GundamWZero Send a message via Yahoo to GundamWZero Send a message via Skype™ to GundamWZero

I can't tell you what a 550 motor is, which is really hard for me to describe. But I can tell you this; at 150 to 200 dollars, you can buy at least four high quality motors! They really don't cost that much. The expensive ones are the Hand Wound Motors; they run around 99 to 150 dollars, and they produce mad torque, I think. ( I get confused when it comes to high rpms, and high torque) Since I can't describe it to you, I'll show it:

http://www.teamtrinity.com/motors/images/sidebar/D5.jpg