Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Futaba micro receiver? >

Futaba micro receiver?

Futaba micro receiver?

Old 10-17-2010, 03:52 PM
  #16  
Tech Master
 
Three's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Madphis, Tn.
Posts: 1,465
Default

Originally Posted by SpraydbySprague View Post
Take note, this RX is a 4CH, so it's only compatible with the 4PK and 4PK systems.
If it is compatible with the 603FF and 603FS why can't it be used with a 3PK?.
After all it is a three channel receiver of which we only use two.
Three is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 03:59 PM
  #17  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Three View Post
If it is compatible with the 603FF and 603FS why can't it be used with a 3PK?.
After all it is a three channel receiver of which we only use two.
Yeah way to screw over 3 channel guys if that's the case.
RCknight is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 04:02 PM
  #18  
Tech Master
 
Three's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Madphis, Tn.
Posts: 1,465
Default

Three is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 04:05 PM
  #19  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Three View Post
I'm just saying it's my guess that you can't use the micro receiver with the 3Pk
RCknight is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 04:07 PM
  #20  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,819
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by toby333 View Post
Absolutely! Just followed your direction.. They have been slack in that area. I think thats why most of the 3pk/4pk users have bought that specktrum receiver. And its hard to have demand for a product if a brand doesnt even produce it! And why the need for that 3rd channel in 1/10th on road? I reckon just reducing the receiver to two channels would decrease the size....
C'mon get on board!
And that's why I reluctantly switched to the KO Propo Eurus. I would go back to the 4PKS w/o a moments hesitation if Futaba had a micro RX.
JayBee is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 04:15 PM
  #21  
Tech Master
 
Three's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Madphis, Tn.
Posts: 1,465
Default

People.
The receiver is blind, it does not care if the transmitter is 2, 3 or 4 channel. The receiver accepts whatever signal is sent by the transmitter be it 2, 3, or 4 channel.
A 4 channel receiver only means that it can accept up to 4 channels.
Three is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 06:50 PM
  #22  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

are you for certain it's compatible? Tech notes only say 4PK
RCknight is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 06:57 PM
  #23  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

I would like to know the same thing. What is the smallest rx for the 3pk fasst system?
Tha Skinny is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 07:48 PM
  #24  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

also is there a difference in the pks fsm orange label and the pkfsm blue label?
The only ifferences i see are the colrs in the labels themselves.
Tha Skinny is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 08:01 PM
  #25  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (64)
 
SpraydbySprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Conducting aggressive board meetings at my local track
Posts: 3,301
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Three View Post
People.
The receiver is blind, it does not care if the transmitter is 2, 3 or 4 channel. The receiver accepts whatever signal is sent by the transmitter be it 2, 3, or 4 channel.
A 4 channel receiver only means that it can accept up to 4 channels.
Well, according to Futaba the 4CH RX are not compatible. Check this out.

http://2.4gigahertz.com/receivers/index.html

See the chart at the bottom of the page.

I believe the compatibility problem is the 4CH RX is looking for a signal from all 4 channels of the TX. Even tho we only use 2 channels in most cars, the TX still transmits signal on all 4 channels. If you need proof, just plug a servo into every channel. If the RX does not see a neutral signal on all 4 channels it will not bind.
SpraydbySprague is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 08:50 PM
  #26  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
secretsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Three View Post
People.
The receiver is blind, it does not care if the transmitter is 2, 3 or 4 channel. The receiver accepts whatever signal is sent by the transmitter be it 2, 3, or 4 channel.
A 4 channel receiver only means that it can accept up to 4 channels.

False. While the channels won't matter, 604FS/R614FF receivers have different GUID, and different transmitting mode than the R603FS/R603FF Rx. The 3pk/3pks FASST module only transmit in FASST (C1) mode, and won't be able to bind to the 4 ch Rx.

I have both radios and tested this out already.
secretsg is offline  
Old 10-17-2010, 08:55 PM
  #27  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (26)
 
Bonadona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 460
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Xpress View Post
Sure thing...........because I want my radio to look like something out of a Power Rangers movie.
+1 Brain.
Bonadona is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 02:34 AM
  #28  
Tech Master
 
Three's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Madphis, Tn.
Posts: 1,465
Default

Originally Posted by secretsg View Post
False. While the channels won't matter, 604FS/R614FF receivers have different GUID, and different transmitting mode than the R603FS/R603FF Rx. The 3pk/3pks FASST module only transmit in FASST (C1) mode, and won't be able to bind to the 4 ch Rx.

I have both radios and tested this out already.
I stand corrected. Thanks for the explaination.
Three is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 02:50 AM
  #29  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Ok I guess we are back to mass email. lol I agree Futaba's new radio looks mugly. I'll buy a Specktrum before I'll buy it.
RCknight is offline  
Old 10-18-2010, 03:27 AM
  #30  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (64)
 
Jamison R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,574
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RCknight View Post
Ok I guess we are back to mass email. lol I agree Futaba's new radio looks mugly. I'll buy a Specktrum before I'll buy it.
Are you saying the 4pks is mugly? The KO, spektrum(and even the 3pk) radios are fugly
Jamison R is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.