R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-13-2010, 07:42 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
monkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cda, idaho
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default what touring body for ta05 ?

standard ta05. looking for a nice touring body.
what recommends?

seems like a lot of them have too low of a hood and will hit the shock towers
dont want to convert to a ifs




http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...m-Light-Weight
monkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:12 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

the protoform R9-R works well with the TA05 on our local track (flowing indoor asphalt, running 13.5 boost)
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:41 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
egalsim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 854
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

This one looks great

egalsim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:48 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
monkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cda, idaho
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

reason i ask is that i have a protoform dodge stratus and the body rests on the shock towers. i have to have tape on the body to keep it from rubbing thru.
the real race bodies seem to have even a lower hoodline
monkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 09:49 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
monkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cda, idaho
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default



monkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 12:28 AM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oakville ON
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to liquidgenesis Send a message via Yahoo to liquidgenesis
Default

i have a protoform R9. fits decent, but hard to get the wheel wells to line up right. I also used to run the protoform cts-vr a few years ago. I mostly run tamiya bodies now for the scale looks and TCS legality.

Why not try the Tamiya Legacy B4 2.0 Racing body. I do believe its won a few worlds in the hands of Rheinard... but don't quote me on that.
__________________
TA01 - TA02W - TA03F PRO - TA03R - TA05 - TA05R - TA05 IFSR - TA06 PRO - FF03 PRO - F201 TUNED - F103GT - DF03 - F350 High Lift - CC01 - BERG Tracer - TRAXXAS Revo 2.5 BL - VENOM GPV-1 - KYOSHO HOR - AQUACRAFT Supervee 27R - PRO BOAT Shockwave 26RS
liquidgenesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 02:15 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkee View Post


Looks to me like you are running your body too low.

The lower edge of the body should line up with, or be slightly above, the bottom of the chassis plate.

You should trim down those bodyposts too. Ugly.

I ran a Mazdaspeed6 on my TA05 and it was totally fine.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 08:33 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
monkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cda, idaho
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

That painted body picture was taken last winter. The posts have been cut down
So maybe hoodline/body isn't an issue if I trim the bottom lower
I'm used to bodies that have preformed cut lines
How do you make perfect wheel circles and such without the lines? Especially when the bodies painted?
monkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 08:38 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monkee View Post
That painted body picture was taken last winter. The posts have been cut down
So maybe hoodline/body isn't an issue if I trim the bottom lower
I'm used to bodies that have preformed cut lines
How do you make perfect wheel circles and such without the lines? Especially when the bodies painted?
Don't trim the body lower - mount the body higher. The cutlines are there for a reason. I don't know of any shells that don't have cutlines.

Best thing to do is to score around the bottom edge of the body with a craft knife, bending and snapping the excess away. You can cut the front arches with curved scissors of a circle cutter. Then line up the shell over the car before marking and cutting the body post holes and the rear arches.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 08:54 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
monkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cda, idaho
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Hmmm. The last protoform or Parma body I got at LHS had no lines at all. Was really odd.

If I mount the body higher that just leaves a huge gap between the wheel wells and tire
monkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 11:35 AM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oakville ON
Posts: 47
Send a message via AIM to liquidgenesis Send a message via Yahoo to liquidgenesis
Default

bodies with out wheel well cut lines are designed like that so you can fit the wheel wells exactly to you chassis, as all chassis' are not the same. Just mount the body without paint and trace your wheel on the protective film. Voila, perfect matching wheel wells. its actually good practice to do with all bodies, including ones with cut lines, as they are just a guide... i'd rather have perfectly matching wheel wells to the chassis... you wont notice the trim lines when your racing, but you will notice if the wheels wells don't match the chassis.
__________________
TA01 - TA02W - TA03F PRO - TA03R - TA05 - TA05R - TA05 IFSR - TA06 PRO - FF03 PRO - F201 TUNED - F103GT - DF03 - F350 High Lift - CC01 - BERG Tracer - TRAXXAS Revo 2.5 BL - VENOM GPV-1 - KYOSHO HOR - AQUACRAFT Supervee 27R - PRO BOAT Shockwave 26RS
liquidgenesis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan kentech Electric On-Road 11403 06-21-2017 04:10 AM
RC equipments for Sale ijnek Malaysian R/C Racers 22836 09-09-2009 02:50 PM
"Tamiya Class" racing...Help me choose - TA05 vs TA05R pgeldz Electric On-Road 84 08-09-2008 10:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:12 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net