R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2004, 08:54 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
xray racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: sydney, australia
Posts: 1,570
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default replacing magnets in motors

hey,
just wondering if i can replace magnets in motors???

and if so, how do i safely remove the old magnets??? is there a solvent or something i can use to "un-glue" them???

im mainly doing this for a practice motor... but trying to get it as fast as possible hahah

you help would be appreciated... thanx

robbie
__________________
Robbie Lloyd

Yokomo * HobbyWing * Sanwa
xray racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 08:56 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,626
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kave
Default

nope, buy a new race motor and use old race motor for practice
Kave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 08:58 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,126
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I think the only motors with replacable magnets was the trinity D4 series cans.

-Korey
__________________
Xray - RC America - Hudy - Apex RC - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - RC Mission America - SpeedZombi - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 09:25 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 303
Default

It is physically possible to remove the magnets and replace them with new ones. That said its probably sheaper to buy a new can.
RC Paperboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 10:21 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
AE Basher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to AE Basher Send a message via Yahoo to AE Basher
Default

you can i have but i just put the old ones back in. i busted out the mags in a hard jump landing in my T3 and then put them back in so send me your motor i will bust them out for you! j/k
AE Basher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 11:40 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default

Pfft the D4 wasn't the only Trinity motor that the magnets come out of
The Black Kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 12:20 AM   #7
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,126
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Very true....
__________________
Xray - RC America - Hudy - Apex RC - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - RC Mission America - SpeedZombi - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 01:38 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

The magnets in these motors are epoxied in with a special epoxy that is very thin so I wouldn't recommend trying to replace the magnets as thay are so far from the armarture.
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 01:40 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Black Kat
Pfft the D4 wasn't the only Trinity motor that the magnets come out of
I know what you mean
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 01:48 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

PC-7(like jb weld) epoxy works very well when sticking magnets back in. You only need a very thin scape, too much and it will screw up the spacing between the magnets and the arm. Just get somebody to zap your magnets.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2004, 05:23 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 593
Default

To remove the magnets, the can has to be heated up so the glue lets go. This is how I think they come loose anyhow. I think it can be put in the oven Maybe 350?

To glue them in, clean the can and magnet. Scrape all the old glue off. You can and use JB weld. I wrap the arm with a paper towel so it is a little fatter and cram it into the can with magnets. It keeps the magnets in place till the JB dries.

Make sure you get them oriented right.

What are you going to change the magnets from and to?

If they are glued in, just get em zapped.
David Root is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magnets Armedforces Electric On-Road 10 03-24-2008 04:24 PM
whats the difference between quad magnets and 2 magnets? 03phillipsr Electric Off-Road 7 04-11-2007 04:20 PM
need your motors magnets zapped...SPECIAL OFFER kvrc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-02-2005 12:55 PM
magnets??? ALBERTO Electric On-Road 3 09-05-2004 01:19 AM
Magnets Stonzy Electric On-Road 2 04-16-2003 08:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:10 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net