Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Integy auto super lathe? >

Integy auto super lathe?

Integy auto super lathe?

Old 07-03-2004, 06:16 AM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default Integy auto super lathe?

hey guys would you this was a good lathe for a first time buyer? iv used my m8s eagle and hudy lathes before but i need one for myself now, heres a link
http://integy.automated-shops.com/cg...20104048717.0f
John_S is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 06:29 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

I saw one up close last weekend. Awsome lathe for the price, simple to use and the cut is perfect. The only thing that bothered me was that it I don't think you can get replacment blocks for it...
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 01:28 PM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 90
Default

FD, I shouldn't worry, it comes with Carbide V blocks as standard so you are harldy likely to need replacements for many, many years, if ever!
modeltech is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 01:41 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default

Originally posted by fatdoggy
I saw one up close last weekend. Awsome lathe for the price, simple to use and the cut is perfect. The only thing that bothered me was that it I don't think you can get replacment blocks for it...
Fat Doggy, they appear to be the same blocks as the Eagle Mod Fashion lathe's, so you could replace them with that. But, I still don't think you will ever have to replace them!
etzkev is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 06:43 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

etzkev - Yes when I compared them(I have a mod fashion) they are almost the same(auto has slots in the guides for oil). The Fashion guides are dam near impossible to get anymore, they have been discontinued.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 07:42 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default

Once I aligned the blocks and replaced to a Mcmaster diamond bit, the lathe is just as good as the Fantom and Hudy lathes i've borrowed in the past.
Aurra Sing is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 08:58 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default

Originally posted by fatdoggy
etzkev - Yes when I compared them(I have a mod fashion) they are almost the same(auto has slots in the guides for oil). The Fashion guides are dam near impossible to get anymore, they have been discontinued.
Yeah, I noticed that the slots for the oil was different, but everything else is the same. That is cool you have a mod fashion too, just like me. Mine isn't doing too good now though. I will keep increasing the cut depth, and nothing will happen, then all of a sudden, it will go in, and mess up the comm!

-etzkev
etzkev is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 11:05 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default

Originally posted by Aurra Sing
Once I aligned the blocks and replaced to a Mcmaster diamond bit, the lathe is just as good as the Fantom and Hudy lathes i've borrowed in the past.
Sorry, i did not know Integy makes a Super lathe... i'm using the Xipp lathe.
Aurra Sing is offline  
Old 07-04-2004, 12:42 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

etzkev - Ahh the extremely pathetic depth adjustment. Yes you need to be very careful with it, I only ever do very fine cuts and never back it out. I'm using two shims under the bit, it maybe your shimming(or a misaligned or loose bit). I was running three shims till about 3 weeks ago when the cuts suddenly turned to crap, I dropped it to two shims and it's back to normal.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 09:10 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
seaball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,304
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

etzkev - i've got that xipp lathe a well. like fatdoggy said, it's likely the shimming. it seems like the factory likes the bits to be almost dead center, but i find that offsetting the cutting edge appreciably from center always produces a better cut. it sounds like your bit is either dull, or too close to center where it pushes the com away until the pressure allows the sharp part of the bit to dig in and begin to cut.

shim it upward so that the sharp edge sits atop the com just a bit.
seaball is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 09:12 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
seaball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,304
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

etzkev - i've got that xipp lathe a well. like fatdoggy said, it's likely the shimming. it seems like the factory likes the bits to be almost dead center, but i find that offsetting the cutting edge from center always produces a better cut. it sounds like your bit is either dull, or too close to center where it pushes the com away until the pressure allows the sharp part of the bit to dig in and begin to cut.

shim it upward so that the sharp edge sits atop the com just a bit.
seaball is offline  
Old 07-05-2004, 09:33 AM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default

Originally posted by seaball
etzkev - i've got that xipp lathe a well. like fatdoggy said, it's likely the shimming. it seems like the factory likes the bits to be almost dead center, but i find that offsetting the cutting edge appreciably from center always produces a better cut. it sounds like your bit is either dull, or too close to center where it pushes the com away until the pressure allows the sharp part of the bit to dig in and begin to cut.

shim it upward so that the sharp edge sits atop the com just a bit.
Haha, you think I'm a newb! Thanks for you help, but it isn't any of those possibilities. I took it to a neighbor who has worked with lathes his whole life, and it was the Gives. They are the small set screws which adjust the amount of side to side give on the lathe. Mine had just loosened up too much from normal wear, so he re adjusted them, and it works like a charm now. We also applied some Teflon lubricant, which helped it too.

Thanks for you help though,
etzkev
etzkev is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 08:29 AM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
 
etzkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northville, MI
Posts: 790
Default

Oh yeah, for any of you guys using carbide bits, I have some nice bits for sale in the for sale/ trade forums. They are all brand new and work great!

-Kevin
etzkev is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.