Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Fixed Spool vs One way >

Fixed Spool vs One way

Fixed Spool vs One way

Old 07-18-2004, 11:50 AM
  #31  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

FUK_WRX - A fixed center pulley aids the weight transfer from the rear for the front under decelleration, which helps your car turn. With a center one-way you don't have that weight transfer as much because only the rears are braking. You'd need a fixed center pulley to get the most out of a spool on a small track, but on a large track you may get away with it. My guess is that it would push under decelleration with a center one-way pulley and a spool.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 12:05 PM
  #32  
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Default

i'd go with the oneway. i've never raced on asphualt but when i switched to a oneway from a dual diff car im lap time greatly improved along with my driving. right now i run a oneway on my pro4 and im getting whooped by dual diff guys comeing onto the strait but when we hit the infeild i usally ride on there a$$ till i get a chance to pass. i ran a spool ounce in my tc3 but it felt i drifting more then accually driving the car (ya my setup was a little wack but it was cool getting the car sideways and scareing the crap out of the driver with the car next to mine)..... id say oneway all the way unless like said before, if u can run a oneway do it, if not just get a motor that can haul a$$ and dual diffs are fine

lazy
lazyboy is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 12:13 PM
  #33  
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default Spool for a TC3?

So where can I find a spool for a TC3? I think I'm going to try one.
j240z is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 12:15 PM
  #34  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
losixxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: omaha Ne
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default spool

You can get a spool from IRS they sell them on towerhobbies
Link to the spool
hope that helps
losixxx is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 12:53 PM
  #35  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
TimPotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Boynton Beach Fl > Randoph NJ
Posts: 7,481
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I was forced to run a Spool due to 1 way's being ruled out in the series I run in. My Driving style ( or lack thereof ) lended itself to running a 1 way. After running a spool for 6 months, I would say that spools are the way to go most of the time ( US Type Tracks). The no way rule has been dropped, but most people are still runnning spools. Look at the A main in stock at the nats. We have 5 guys in the A in stock (Fl), and I would be willing to bet,they all have spools.


Last edited by TimPotter; 07-18-2004 at 01:00 PM.
TimPotter is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 01:59 PM
  #36  
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

When you run a car with a spool for a while you won't want to go back to anything else.

The drive is so good with the spool. The brakes are good. Everything is good.

I'm referring to modified of course. I think for stock I would run one ways.
johnbull is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 02:43 PM
  #37  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I prefer oneways to anything. But of course I'm part japanese... so maybe that explains it haha. I do race alot of stock. And spools just slow me down. Especially on my Yok SD. The only car I felt good with a spool was the TC3. I think for mod though... things might change.
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 09:45 PM
  #38  
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default Re: spool

Originally posted by losixxx
You can get a spool from IRS they sell them on towerhobbies
Link to the spool
hope that helps
Is this the right one?http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&W=000463835&I=LXDGD6&P=K

Does anyone else make one for the TC3?
j240z is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 09:47 PM
  #39  
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default

Let's try this again

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...5&I=LXDGD6&P=K
j240z is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 09:53 PM
  #40  
Tech Master
iTrader: (52)
 
JamesArluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,233
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: spool

Originally posted by j240z
Is this the right one?http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&W=000463835&I=LXDGD6&P=K

Does anyone else make one for the TC3?
http://home.comcast.net/~mhor/dragon...associated.htm
JamesArluck is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 11:36 PM
  #41  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal, USA
Posts: 221
Default

Ill go for one way! They are the best!
TCRacerPro is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 02:52 PM
  #42  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 44
Default

hi guys i am from a small island in the caribbean, we race a lot of electric modifieds 8T, 9T, and 10T touring sedan and i'm very looking foward to try a spool on my great handeling yok (shaft driven) ssg special.

i would appreciate if any of you, adrian, losixxx, kilruf or anyone else out there who may have any info on where to get an aftermarket spool for my yok, i've been told yokomo does not make spool for such car, thanks...
Quiet is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 02:57 PM
  #43  
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default

Originally posted by Quiet
hi guys i am from a small island in the caribbean, we race a lot of electric modifieds 8T, 9T, and 10T touring sedan and i'm very looking foward to try a spool on my great handeling yok (shaft driven) ssg special.

i would appreciate if any of you, adrian, losixxx, kilruf or anyone else out there who may have any info on where to get an aftermarket spool for my yok, i've been told yokomo does not make spool for such car, thanks...
Try Speedtech RC they do a spool for the Yoke. I am trying to build a spool for the Pro4 at the moment and will be trying it out tomorrow...!
acutts is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 03:13 PM
  #44  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 44
Default

thanks for the input, i would need a web address or a phone # , i see you drive a serpent 950R i also drive a serpent, it's a vector 98 spec (very sweet) has an evo 4 michael salven turbo!
Quiet is offline  
Old 07-20-2004, 03:21 PM
  #45  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 44
Default

sorry, i mean thank you i tried www.speedtechrc.com

and got it i should've thought of it before!
Quiet is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.