Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Fixed Spool vs One way >

Fixed Spool vs One way

Fixed Spool vs One way

Old 06-30-2004, 11:08 AM
  #16  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

With the right setup you have just as much steering with a spool as with a one way (maybe more mid and exit steering than one way) but you can use brakes and drive harder into corners.

My Mi2 with a spool turns in too hard for most of the guys that have driven it. But...im an old pan car guy so its just fine for me
AdrianM is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 02:26 PM
  #17  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by AdrianM
With the right setup you have just as much steering with a spool as with a one way (maybe more mid and exit steering than one way) but you can use brakes and drive harder into corners.

My Mi2 with a spool turns in too hard for most of the guys that have driven it. But...im an old pan car guy so its just fine for me
Too much turn in with a spool. That must be great as now you have killer low speed steering and still have great high speed steering. Maybe I need a Mission 2.
wyd is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 02:44 PM
  #18  
Tech Apprentice
 
ALEXSCHOFIELD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: sheffield
Posts: 70
Default

wat front axle would you run on a tight carpet track running rubbers and 27t?
ALEXSCHOFIELD is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 04:09 PM
  #19  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,601
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

oneway.
racenut123 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 04:27 PM
  #20  
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

Depends on the track. No one thing works for all. Tight parking lot tracks-diff, sweeping open tracks-one way. Spool-better try to turn in earlier.
edseb is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 11:08 PM
  #21  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Hi,

Kindly elaborate on the statement below. I would think spool will be harder and hotter on the tires since one tire would be breaking traction in the corner. In fact the wear rate with spools is very pronounced even after just a heat.

Originally posted by AdrianM
On hot days one ways will overheat the tires where spools keep the tires cooler longer.

rough512 is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 11:32 PM
  #22  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default

Originally posted by ALEXSCHOFIELD
wat front axle would you run on a tight carpet track running rubbers and 27t?
One-ways are real popular....In the belt car i've driven with rubbers/one-way it worked really well. You have to have the right setup or it woun't fly. I've tried running with a one-way in my TC3 but the drivedrain coasts so much already I can't seem to keep a handle on it. Don't have a problem with that on my Evo3
The Black Kat is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 01:15 AM
  #23  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,166
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Slightly embarrassing question here.....

Spool is the same as solid axle????
Scott Fisher is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 02:12 AM
  #24  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Scott Fisher - Exactly.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 07:26 AM
  #25  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

rough512 - You would think that spools would heat the tires but its the other way around. At the Pre-Worlds in the last of the Triple-A's the track got REALLY HOT. The one way drivers that were fine when it was cooler overheated their tires about one minute into the race. Hara, Masami and Teemu had to drive like there cars were dirt oval sprint cars (drift cars...). Ralph Burch lead the final A with a spool in his Xray and had perfect control until he dotted out on the last lap. His car did not overheat the tires and did not get loose.
AdrianM is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 05:27 PM
  #26  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
fatbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 813
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Where can I get a good spool for my TC3?
fatbear is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 05:52 PM
  #27  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
losixxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: omaha Ne
Posts: 299
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default spool

Fatbear: You can get a spool from IRS they sell them on towerhobbies
Link to the spool
hope that helps
losixxx is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 07:55 PM
  #28  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 110
Default

What are (genaerally) the set up changes needed to make a spool work (ie softer springs lighter oil etc)? I've tried all three axle types and no matter what I'm faster with a oneway because I can't make the spool turn In like I want. For the record i like to throttle steer and avoid brakes at all cost. I'm running the xxxs g+ and we have a decreasing radius turn that everyone swears I practically drift through cause the back end is loose and rotating through EVENLY.
Poppa Ray is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 10:45 PM
  #29  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (51)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,220
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Poppa Ray
What are (genaerally) the set up changes needed to make a spool work (ie softer springs lighter oil etc)? I've tried all three axle types and no matter what I'm faster with a oneway because I can't make the spool turn In like I want. For the record i like to throttle steer and avoid brakes at all cost. I'm running the xxxs g+ and we have a decreasing radius turn that everyone swears I practically drift through cause the back end is loose and rotating through EVENLY.
When I run the spool on my Losi I use high roll center blocks, 2f block, with 4 degree caster blocks. You normally need more caster with the spool to get it to turn going into the corner. I also use around .065 front sway bar to start .
wyd is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 01:15 AM
  #30  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Spool with center oneway

Do spools work with a center oneway or do you have to have a locked pulley to make them work?

Thanks
FUK_WRX is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.