R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2004, 11:08 AM   #16
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

With the right setup you have just as much steering with a spool as with a one way (maybe more mid and exit steering than one way) but you can use brakes and drive harder into corners.

My Mi2 with a spool turns in too hard for most of the guys that have driven it. But...im an old pan car guy so its just fine for me
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 02:26 PM   #17
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AdrianM
With the right setup you have just as much steering with a spool as with a one way (maybe more mid and exit steering than one way) but you can use brakes and drive harder into corners.

My Mi2 with a spool turns in too hard for most of the guys that have driven it. But...im an old pan car guy so its just fine for me
Too much turn in with a spool. That must be great as now you have killer low speed steering and still have great high speed steering. Maybe I need a Mission 2.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 02:44 PM   #18
Tech Apprentice
 
ALEXSCHOFIELD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: sheffield
Posts: 70
Send a message via ICQ to ALEXSCHOFIELD Send a message via AIM to ALEXSCHOFIELD Send a message via Yahoo to ALEXSCHOFIELD
Default

wat front axle would you run on a tight carpet track running rubbers and 27t?
ALEXSCHOFIELD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 04:09 PM   #19
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,519
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

oneway.
racenut123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 04:27 PM   #20
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

Depends on the track. No one thing works for all. Tight parking lot tracks-diff, sweeping open tracks-one way. Spool-better try to turn in earlier.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 11:08 PM   #21
Tech Elite
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,454
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Hi,

Kindly elaborate on the statement below. I would think spool will be harder and hotter on the tires since one tire would be breaking traction in the corner. In fact the wear rate with spools is very pronounced even after just a heat.

Quote:
Originally posted by AdrianM
On hot days one ways will overheat the tires where spools keep the tires cooler longer.

rough512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 11:32 PM   #22
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Jose California
Posts: 1,251
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ALEXSCHOFIELD
wat front axle would you run on a tight carpet track running rubbers and 27t?
One-ways are real popular....In the belt car i've driven with rubbers/one-way it worked really well. You have to have the right setup or it woun't fly. I've tried running with a one-way in my TC3 but the drivedrain coasts so much already I can't seem to keep a handle on it. Don't have a problem with that on my Evo3
The Black Kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 01:15 AM   #23
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 4,148
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Scott Fisher
Default

Slightly embarrassing question here.....

Spool is the same as solid axle????
__________________
| Capricorn | Ybslow | Proline-Protoform | Johnny Bravo Racing | Desoto Racing | Murnan Modified | Matrix Tires | Powermaster Fuel |
Scott Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 02:12 AM   #24
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Scott Fisher - Exactly.
fatdoggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:26 AM   #25
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

rough512 - You would think that spools would heat the tires but its the other way around. At the Pre-Worlds in the last of the Triple-A's the track got REALLY HOT. The one way drivers that were fine when it was cooler overheated their tires about one minute into the race. Hara, Masami and Teemu had to drive like there cars were dirt oval sprint cars (drift cars...). Ralph Burch lead the final A with a spool in his Xray and had perfect control until he dotted out on the last lap. His car did not overheat the tires and did not get loose.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 05:27 PM   #26
Tech Fanatic
 
fatbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 811
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to fatbear
Default

Where can I get a good spool for my TC3?
__________________
Team Associated www.teamassociated.com
Team Tekin www.teamtekin.com
B-Fast R/C Performance www.bfastrc.com
JConcepts www.jconcepts.net
Ace Hobby Distributors www.acehobbyaustralia.com
fatbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 05:52 PM   #27
Tech Regular
 
losixxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: omaha Ne
Posts: 290
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to losixxx
Default spool

Fatbear: You can get a spool from IRS they sell them on towerhobbies
Link to the spool
hope that helps
losixxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 07:55 PM   #28
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 110
Default

What are (genaerally) the set up changes needed to make a spool work (ie softer springs lighter oil etc)? I've tried all three axle types and no matter what I'm faster with a oneway because I can't make the spool turn In like I want. For the record i like to throttle steer and avoid brakes at all cost. I'm running the xxxs g+ and we have a decreasing radius turn that everyone swears I practically drift through cause the back end is loose and rotating through EVENLY.
Poppa Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2004, 10:45 PM   #29
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,142
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Poppa Ray
What are (genaerally) the set up changes needed to make a spool work (ie softer springs lighter oil etc)? I've tried all three axle types and no matter what I'm faster with a oneway because I can't make the spool turn In like I want. For the record i like to throttle steer and avoid brakes at all cost. I'm running the xxxs g+ and we have a decreasing radius turn that everyone swears I practically drift through cause the back end is loose and rotating through EVENLY.
When I run the spool on my Losi I use high roll center blocks, 2f block, with 4 degree caster blocks. You normally need more caster with the spool to get it to turn going into the corner. I also use around .065 front sway bar to start .
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2004, 01:15 AM   #30
Tech Master
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to FUK_WRX Send a message via AIM to FUK_WRX Send a message via MSN to FUK_WRX Send a message via Yahoo to FUK_WRX
Default Spool with center oneway

Do spools work with a center oneway or do you have to have a locked pulley to make them work?

Thanks
FUK_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help getting a tool fixed... K_King Electric Off-Road 3 09-01-2008 10:42 PM
Since someone else's feedback was fixed... z400 Buyer/Seller dispute and Feedback discussion forum 0 06-16-2008 02:08 PM
Fixed vs Centre one-way pulley vandolf Australian Racing 0 09-27-2007 03:35 PM
TC3/TC4 fixed spool and CVDs for sale YAH Australia For Sale/Trade 2 10-16-2006 02:37 AM
Best 19T Fixed End Bell Motor? LosiSuperTruck Electric On-Road 32 10-07-2005 05:28 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:45 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net