Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Question about braking with a TC3 >

Question about braking with a TC3

Question about braking with a TC3

Old 06-29-2004, 07:44 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (32)
 
milenko_76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Unhappy Question about braking with a TC3

This is my problem. I have a tc3 with a fantom 10x4 motor and a superrooster speed control. The radio I'm using is a Futaba 3pm. When I hit the breaks hard the spur gear makes a horrid noise. I've checked the mesh many times and I've reset it every time it makes the noise. I used a piece of paper for the mesh clearance. I'm new to the radio. I've owned it for only a week or so. Is there something I need to do to the radio? A setting maybe that i can change? I'm at a loss on this. I'm used to driving traxxas trucks. They don't have enuff power to hurt the spur gear. If anyone could help me or if I need to give more info please let me know. I'm getting ready to race it for the first time this weekend. i don't want to buy a new spur every race.
milenko_76 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 07:57 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 639
Default

are u sure it was the spur?
craziracer is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 08:03 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (32)
 
milenko_76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

My spur is stripped so I just asumed it was my spur gear. Could it be my motor? I just bought the motor and speed control. When I'm moving at a slower speed I have no problems it's just when I slam the brakes at higher speeds. Is there a way to set the brake on the speed control?
milenko_76 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 08:09 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Maybe the teeth are too stripped on the spur or pinion.
Tek Nickal is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 08:12 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 303
Default

check to make sure there is no wobble in the rear input shaft. When I had that problem, it was a loose rear diff case.
RC Paperboy is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 08:27 PM
  #6  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (32)
 
milenko_76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 518
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

The teeth on the pinion are ok. I just replaced the spur gear. I'm going to be changing out the diff cases with some aluminum ones my wife bought me. My be this will fix my problem. If anyone else has ideas please tell me. I'm open to all.
milenko_76 is offline  
Old 06-29-2004, 09:39 PM
  #7  
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: ROAR HAD ME BANNED FROM RC TECH.
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Don't brake so hard.

FWIW make sure the spur isn't too out of round. You can set the lash at one point, and half way around the lash can open up quite a bit (or tighten) since the spurs generally are not perfectly true.
Desolas is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.