R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 09-26-2010, 03:45 AM   #1
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Need Advice on Stock 17.5T asphalt

I'm new to Electric RC , I'm looking for some advice to extract more performance from my ESC/motor/gearing..

I'm competing in 17T Stock on asphalt and I'm running the following gear:

17T Ballistic Novak Stock Spec- (Stock Timing - 30 deg) - I have not touched it
(no motor fan)
Novak Product Info

Novak Pro ESC (Expo Curve 2, all other settings are default)
Novak Product Info

Car is Top Photon- 2.0 IDR -
Running 64Pitch 100 Spur and 50T Pinion (FDR 4.0)

At my last meeting, during the second run the ESC detected the motor temp as high and shutdown about 4min into the race; For my next run I changed to a 45T pinion which lowered the temp, gave excellent acceleration out of the corners; but was seriously down in top-end speed. FDR 4.44 (even with the previous 100/50 the 'faster guys' had more raw speed)....

So... the Ballistic Manual recommends for Touring car an FDR of 4.0, and the Havoc Pro ESC Manual recommends 3.75

I just want to get the most out the gear that I have.
anthony_ling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 06:47 AM   #2
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Hey anthony,

It was great to meet you last night and race against you( even if i was driving a 540)

As for your gearing question i would possibily look at changing to 48p spur and pinion as you saw last night 1 little bit of crap from the track can cause you lots of dramas. Just a suggestion.

Maybe you could try a 47 tooth in it as that may give you a good compramise(sp) in speed and it might be enough to keep the heat down enought to get through the race.

Cheers
Adrian
Shelf Queens Losi XX4 WE, Yokomo YZ10 (First Proper Race Car).
nudge2325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2010, 08:00 PM   #3
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)