Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
ESC capacitor question >

ESC capacitor question

ESC capacitor question

Old 09-24-2010, 09:06 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (54)
 
portyansky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,009
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default ESC capacitor question

The little metal tabs broke off from extensive bending, oops, so i need another, but am limited to what my lhs has currently in stock. I have a tekin rs pro and the capacitor it comes with is a 16v 33uf. Is it ok to install a capacitor that has a higher uf rating? Lets say a 16v 1000uf?
portyansky is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 09:17 AM
  #2  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,912
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

The stock cap is a 16v 330uf low esr cap. It's specific to our esc. Ultimately it's the one that should be back on it. However if you need to run for the time being you can use a 16v 1000uf and it will be fine.

The part # for the proper cap is TT3520.
Randy_Pike is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 09:29 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (54)
 
portyansky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,009
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
The stock cap is a 16v 330uf low esr cap. It's specific to our esc. Ultimately it's the one that should be back on it. However if you need to run for the time being you can use a 16v 1000uf and it will be fine.

The part # for the proper cap is TT3520.
Thanks Randy. Great Planes(Tower) is out of stock and thats one of the suppliers where my lhs orders from. Guess ill just use one of the other ones to get by.
Thanks again.
portyansky is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 10:22 AM
  #4  
Company Representative
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Originally Posted by portyansky View Post
The little metal tabs broke off from extensive bending, oops, so i need another, but am limited to what my lhs has currently in stock. I have a tekin rs pro and the capacitor it comes with is a 16v 33uf. Is it ok to install a capacitor that has a higher uf rating? Lets say a 16v 1000uf?
You can always replace esc caps with one of our TransCap modules---they are replacements for both brush and brushless escs. If you are running 2S, our Racing Power Trans-Cap Module - 2S Li-Po and 4-6 cell NiMH is the appropriate module.

This is the replacement Power Trans-Cap Module for the Kinetic 2S Racing Brushless ESC, Havoc Pro SC, Havoc Pro Brushless ESC, GTB Brushless/Brush ESC, Havoc Sport Brushless/Brush ESC, GTX or any other brand brushed or brushless racing speed control (except high-voltage ESCs) compatible with 2S Li-Po/4-6 cell NiMH. This unit improves efficiency and lowers operating temperatures for speed controls, and is factory-wired with 16GA silicone wire for easy installation on a ESCís Direct-Solder Wiring Tabs. The module includes a 5,600 microfared 10V Electrolytic capacitor with a transorb circuitry that provides protection from voltage spikes.
NovakTwo is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 08:57 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (54)
 
portyansky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,009
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Thanks again to both of you. I picked one up at my lhs. 16v 1000uf.
portyansky is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.