R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2010, 06:51 AM   #151
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Drew will Xray at some point offer the vertical camber bulk head braces as an option part? Thanks.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:17 AM   #152
Tech Master
 
Drew Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The LOU
Posts: 1,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCknight View Post
Drew will Xray at some point offer the vertical camber bulk head braces as an option part? Thanks.
RCknight, I think they will just not sure when, as you can see most guys are running what is called the hill billy link. It is where we run a longer link in the front. We use a ball stud and screw it into the upper bulkhead's lower hole where you would screw the shock tower into.

Thanks Drew
__________________
RCAMERICA-Xray-Hudy-GravityRC-Kopropo-PROLEVELRC-Team EAM-ORCA-P1Brand-AVID-ProlevelRC Raceway-MOTIV-Max Power America-SRC America
Drew Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:20 AM   #153
Tech Master
 
Drew Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The LOU
Posts: 1,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
Hey Drew I'm wondering if Paul ran the "hillbilly link" on the T3'11? Do you run the same link system on your car? I hope you guys will be posting the setups on Xray site soon. Thanks
Yes pretty much the whole team ran the link. Xray should be having the setup sheets on there site for us to post.

Thanks Drew
__________________
RCAMERICA-Xray-Hudy-GravityRC-Kopropo-PROLEVELRC-Team EAM-ORCA-P1Brand-AVID-ProlevelRC Raceway-MOTIV-Max Power America-SRC America
Drew Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:20 AM   #154
Tech Master
 
Drew Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The LOU
Posts: 1,935
Default

Thanks Fred good looking out.

Thanks Drew
__________________
RCAMERICA-Xray-Hudy-GravityRC-Kopropo-PROLEVELRC-Team EAM-ORCA-P1Brand-AVID-ProlevelRC Raceway-MOTIV-Max Power America-SRC America
Drew Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:45 AM   #155
Tech Elite
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,719
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Ellis View Post
Thanks Fred good looking out.

Thanks Drew
__________________
Goodwine Racing - RC America - XRAY - HUDY - Sanwa - Motiv - GravityRC - BN Racing
Fred Hubbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:01 AM   #156
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 312
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default T2 007 rear belt on T2 008

Hi RCA!

I'm in a situation where I need to run a rear T2 007 belt on a T2 008. The thing is that the belt is out of stock in our hobbyshop and the race is in 2 days time, so I must go for it. (No time to order it over the net)

What I've found is that the 007 is 180mm long and and the 008 is 183mm ( I think 3 mms is a minimal difference), but in practice, the belt even in the loosest of the settings is way to tight.

Is there a way I can make the belt softer?
If I run too tight what might happen?

Is there some other car that has a rear 183mm belt?

Thank you very much!
manthree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:50 AM   #157
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by manthree View Post
Hi RCA!

I'm in a situation where I need to run a rear T2 007 belt on a T2 008. The thing is that the belt is out of stock in our hobbyshop and the race is in 2 days time, so I must go for it. (No time to order it over the net)

What I've found is that the 007 is 180mm long and and the 008 is 183mm ( I think 3 mms is a minimal difference), but in practice, the belt even in the loosest of the settings is way to tight.

Is there a way I can make the belt softer?
If I run too tight what might happen?

Is there some other car that has a rear 183mm belt?

Thank you very much!
The belt will stretch as you run it. I've heard of soaking belts in WD40 to soften it up. It's hard to say without seeing it. If it's not binding up the drive train badly then you should be ok to run it. If it's binding the drive train I would avoid using it.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 10:19 AM   #158
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 312
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Thanks a lot!
manthree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 11:30 AM   #159
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by King of B Main View Post
When I ran RCGT on a T3 ....I used a xray lipo plate underneath my lipo. It put me about 1450g then I put about 50g in the center of my car underneath the belt....

Hope that helps
Thanks..

Here are my weights when its race ready now:

LF-368.3g(12.99oz) RF-382.7g(13.50oz)

LR-371.9g(13.12oz) RR-379.3g(13.38oz)

50/50 front-rear and 49.3/50.7 left-right

Total weight is 1502g

Is this close enough or should the rear weight be a little more than the front?

Thanks again..
slashman4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 12:39 PM   #160
Tech Master
 
Drew Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The LOU
Posts: 1,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slashman4x4 View Post
Thanks..

Here are my weights when its race ready now:

LF-368.3g(12.99oz) RF-382.7g(13.50oz)

LR-371.9g(13.12oz) RR-379.3g(13.38oz)

50/50 front-rear and 49.3/50.7 left-right

Total weight is 1502g

Is this close enough or should the rear weight be a little more than the front?

Thanks again..

Does the car tweak out right? I have never put the car on scales like that. Is that with the shocks on?

I use the Hudy balancing pins to get my car balanced from side to side and add weight where needed to get the car balanced and to the legal weight limit.

Thanks Drew
__________________
RCAMERICA-Xray-Hudy-GravityRC-Kopropo-PROLEVELRC-Team EAM-ORCA-P1Brand-AVID-ProlevelRC Raceway-MOTIV-Max Power America-SRC America
Drew Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 01:14 PM   #161
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yea, thats with shocks on. Im not sure how good my tweak station is anymore but here are some pics of front and rear on there.
Attached Thumbnails
RCAmerica/Xray,Hudy-dscn2045.jpg   RCAmerica/Xray,Hudy-dscn2046.jpg  
slashman4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 07:22 PM   #162
Tech Master
 
Drew Ellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The LOU
Posts: 1,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slashman4x4 View Post
Yea, thats with shocks on. Im not sure how good my tweak station is anymore but here are some pics of front and rear on there.
Cool, you want that bubble to be in the dead center, thats why your weight is off side to side. Get the bubble in the middle and then see what the weight is on the scales.

Thanks Drew
__________________
RCAMERICA-Xray-Hudy-GravityRC-Kopropo-PROLEVELRC-Team EAM-ORCA-P1Brand-AVID-ProlevelRC Raceway-MOTIV-Max Power America-SRC America
Drew Ellis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 07:26 PM   #163
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

I also use scales as a double-check to my tweak station and on-track feel.

Your left/right split is a little higher than I like to use, which will make your tweak station indicate the way it is, even with equal ride-height. I try to keep the left/right percentage closer to .2% difference.

Do you have any room to move your ESC further left? Where's your transponder mounted?

When using scales, my setup order is:

Hudy Balance tool
Ride height/droop [once I have droop set with the ride height I want, I use downstop readings to simplify things a little]
Setup station [camber/toe]
Tweak
Ride height
Setup station
Tweak
Ride height
Scales - If I don't like my numbers here, I'll reposition components or ballast, and start over. I don't use scales at the track, only setup station and tweak station.


On a more selfish note, any idea when we might see the T3'11 stateside? I've been checking US-based online shops for pricing and the ability to pre-order, but nothing yet.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 07:30 PM   #164
Tech Fanatic
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Nexus Racing has pre-order up and an estimate of mid to late October for availability.
__________________
NEXUS RACING www.nexusracing.com | FANTOM RACING www.fantomracing.com
ORCA www.orcarc.com | TURTLE TRAX / www.turtletraxraceway.com
--------------------------------------------------
"If you're not first...you're last!"
jammincrtjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 07:35 PM   #165
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Thanks.

I wonder how firm that price is. I seem to remember pre-orders always being a bit over what the "now shipping" price tends to be on new XRays. I'm not griping about the price at all, I'll pay whatever it takes, just wondering.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1/12 forum ovalnator Electric On-Road 46189 12-15-2017 08:13 AM
Schumacher Corner meche Electric On-Road 27727 07-20-2015 08:38 PM
Ask Mike Blackstock Trinity ,Rcamerica, Team Xray Edition.. Mike Blackstock Electric On-Road 225 12-30-2006 06:57 AM
RCAmerica/ Xray / Hudy Mark G Electric On-Road 10 03-15-2006 09:17 PM
RCAMERICA Live Race Coverage @ The Dirt Nitro Challange David Joor Electric Off-Road 40 03-03-2005 12:33 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:28 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net