R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-15-2011, 08:16 AM   #1471
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasezace View Post
I have a 2010 Xray T3. The bottom deck has had a very hard time and has been scratched to the point the heads on the screws are worn....yes ive given it a hard time!

I am wondering if a T3 2011 deck WILL FIT my 2010 T3?
No, it won't, as T3'11 uses dual-post steering, and T3'10 uses single-post steering.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 02:15 PM   #1472
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasezace View Post
I have a 2010 Xray T3. The bottom deck has had a very hard time and has been scratched to the point the heads on the screws are worn....yes ive given it a hard time!

I am wondering if a T3 2011 deck WILL FIT my 2010 T3?

Like Nilks said it will not fit due the the steering change from 2010 to 2011, but if you are considering spending $100 or so on a chassis, it is well worth spending another $150 on top of that to convert the car to the 2011 spec. Having owned both cars you will not regret the decision to spend the $$.
Bonadona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 04:28 PM   #1473
Tech Regular
 
Jasezace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bonadona View Post
Like Nilks said it will not fit due the the steering change from 2010 to 2011, but if you are considering spending $100 or so on a chassis, it is well worth spending another $150 on top of that to convert the car to the 2011 spec. Having owned both cars you will not regret the decision to spend the $$.
Ok, now what is involved changing the car to 2011 specs? I thought that if the bottom deck of an 011 doesnt fit an 010 that I wouldnt be able to upgrade to 011 specs. Maybe I should consider biting the bullett and buying a new one!
__________________
Xray Xray and Xray. LCRCCC, Hobbywing, LRP and Thunder Power fan!
Jasezace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 04:37 PM   #1474
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

There's a conversion kit that includes a new main chassis, top deck and the dual steering parts.

I'm looking for the part number, I know I saw it somewhere in the last day or two...
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 04:39 PM   #1475
Tech Regular
 
rpoage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ct Penn. USA
Posts: 278
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasezace View Post
Ok, now what is involved changing the car to 2011 specs? I thought that if the bottom deck of an 011 doesnt fit an 010 that I wouldnt be able to upgrade to 011 specs. Maybe I should consider biting the bullett and buying a new one!
The XRAY up grade kit will give you ALL the parts to convert a 2010 to a 2011

A picture worth a thousand key strokes?

T3 2010 to T3 2011 Conversion

Then you will be ready for the 2012 conversion kit
__________________
Ashford Hobby
Real time inventory for the things you need.
rpoage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 04:40 PM   #1476
Tech Regular
 
rpoage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ct Penn. USA
Posts: 278
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarryLeach View Post
There's a conversion kit that includes a new main chassis, top deck and the dual steering parts.

I'm looking for the part number, I know I saw it somewhere in the last day or two...
XRA 300945 T3 2010 to T3 2011 Conversion
__________________
Ashford Hobby
Real time inventory for the things you need.
rpoage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 04:49 PM   #1477
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpoage View Post
XRA 300945 T3 2010 to T3 2011 Conversion
That's the one, still can't find the post I saw that in a few days ago
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 08:00 PM   #1478
Tech Fanatic
 
LowBoost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 807
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Just received my T3 2011s.
While reading the manual, XRay recommends to sand the chassis.
Is this a must? If so, what grit paper should I use, 500, 1000?
How much should I do? Is it OK if I just add some CA glue and not sand?
LowBoost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 08:09 PM   #1479
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LowBoost View Post
Just received my T3 2011s.
While reading the manual, XRay recommends to sand the chassis.
Is this a must? If so, what grit paper should I use, 500, 1000?
How much should I do? Is it OK if I just add some CA glue and not sand?

I usually start with 400 grit just to make the process faster and then I use 1000 grit to smooth out the edges. I will then wipe everything down and take a black sharpie marker and go over all the edges I sanded. Lastly I will apply CA with a Q-tip making a smooth clean finnish. I do this to all the carbon pieces and the only edge I really sand to a rounded finnish is the bottom deck. The sharpie is only for looks and gives a deep black piano finnish. The CA is recomended b/c it helps the chassis from de-laminating or chipping in case of a serious crash. Just what I do. Hope this helps.
Bonadona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 08:17 PM   #1480
Tech Fanatic
 
LowBoost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 807
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Thanks! So.. I should not sand to a rounded finish? Just lightly?
LowBoost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 08:40 PM   #1481
Tech Apprentice
 
jeb4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 87
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I’m still a bit new to this, so I’m going to try to explain this with a few words, but let the pictures due the talking…

I’m having an issue with my ’11. The pin that holds the “dog-bone” to the “spindle” on the front of the car keeps moving, which causes things to “bind up” and the car loses its steering. See below…



In other words, #3 moves to the point that things get bound up…..



Hopefully the arrow shows this has moved and is binding up….



This is after I removed it from the car and shows how far this pin has actually moved. I’m not sure what to do with this as it has happened 3-4 times now (twice this last Sunday). I’m using thread locker (Losi) and am tightening these tiny little set-screws pretty darn tight.

Has anyone else had this issue? How did you fix it? I was considering “notching” a small area of the pin so that it couldn’t move once the set screw was in place…..

Help?
jeb4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 08:43 PM   #1482
Tech Regular
 
rpoage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ct Penn. USA
Posts: 278
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LowBoost View Post
Thanks! So.. I should not sand to a rounded finish? Just lightly?
These are the best instructions on prepping a chassis I have found. From the CRC site (thanks Frank)
Advanced Carbon Fiber Chassis Preparation

Don't use cheap CA, use the good stuff for mounting tires.
__________________
Ashford Hobby
Real time inventory for the things you need.
rpoage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 08:50 PM   #1483
Tech Master
 
HarryLeach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hampton, VA, USA
Posts: 1,596
Send a message via AIM to HarryLeach
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeb4 View Post
This is after I removed it from the car and shows how far this pin has actually moved. I’m not sure what to do with this as it has happened 3-4 times now (twice this last Sunday). I’m using thread locker (Losi) and am tightening these tiny little set-screws pretty darn tight.

Has anyone else had this issue? How did you fix it? I was considering “notching” a small area of the pin so that it couldn’t move once the set screw was in place…..

Help?
Either notch the pins, or pick up these 2x10mm pins with flat spots.

I've seen this on quite a few cars guys built without flat spotting the pins. I ground a notch on mine when I built the car and haven't had any issues.
__________________
Privateer racing lots of stuff.
Remember kids, racing isn't fair!
HarryLeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 08:54 PM   #1484
Tech Regular
 
rpoage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ct Penn. USA
Posts: 278
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeb4 View Post
Has anyone else had this issue? How did you fix it? I was considering “notching” a small area of the pin so that it couldn’t move once the set screw was in place…..Help?
You are on to it but XRAY beat you to it. Match one of these with the size given in your instructions and they will go a long way to fixing the problem.

XRA 305390

XRA 305391

XRA 305392

I also use a short piece of shrink wrap on my ECS's to keep grease in, dirt out and the pins in place if they move. Note: be very careful how tight you make the set screw as it will bind the CVD or ECS.
__________________
Ashford Hobby
Real time inventory for the things you need.

Last edited by rpoage; 02-15-2011 at 09:04 PM.
rpoage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 08:55 PM   #1485
Tech Master
 
johnny55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Temple City, Ca
Posts: 1,246
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to johnny55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeb4 View Post
I’m still a bit new to this, so I’m going to try to explain this with a few words, but let the pictures due the talking…

I’m having an issue with my ’11. The pin that holds the “dog-bone” to the “spindle” on the front of the car keeps moving, which causes things to “bind up” and the car loses its steering. See below…



In other words, #3 moves to the point that things get bound up…..



Hopefully the arrow shows this has moved and is binding up….



This is after I removed it from the car and shows how far this pin has actually moved. I’m not sure what to do with this as it has happened 3-4 times now (twice this last Sunday). I’m using thread locker (Losi) and am tightening these tiny little set-screws pretty darn tight.

Has anyone else had this issue? How did you fix it? I was considering “notching” a small area of the pin so that it couldn’t move once the set screw was in place…..

Help?
You can purchase drive shaft covers. Some guys have discussed this about 4 or 5 pages back for more info.
__________________
Johnny Hernandez
Fight on!
johnny55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:11 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net