Like Tree2Likes

Xray T3 2011

Old 02-08-2011, 11:48 PM
  #1396  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Cribbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM
Don't forget belts, the xray belts wear out pretty quickly
so my car has belts almost 18 months old. if theyre wearing then theyre too tight
Cribbin is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 06:50 AM
  #1397  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,721
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EAMotorsports
They clamps and weights were not in this order is what I was told last week when I called as soon as it showed up. They wont show up on backorder yet as they are not in the system yet since they have not had them.

Sorry

EA
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 07:26 AM
  #1398  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 102
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I am about 2 weeks away from ordering my 2011, I found some Spec R gear Diffs (part number SPR009-XR) they specify that a 50mm rear universal shaft must be used..... The car comes with 52mm right?
Murray is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 07:27 AM
  #1399  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,721
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Murray
I am about 2 weeks away from ordering my 2011, I found some Spec R gear Diffs (part number SPR009-XR) they specify that a 50mm rear universal shaft must be used..... The car comes with 52mm right?
Correct the car comes with 52's. You can use 52's if you use an additional 1.5mm shim between all four suspension mounts, naturally it will change the shock geometry and track width.
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 07:50 AM
  #1400  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (63)
 
LowBoost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 807
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fred Hubbard
Correct the car comes with 52's. You can use 52's if you use an additional 1.5mm shim between all four suspension mounts, naturally it will change the shock geometry and track width.
Mine are on their way and should be delivered Friday.
Is this Spec-R diff an option for T3 (2011) or is this the NT1 diff that is being installed to T3s, therefore the need of 50mm rear drive-shafts?

Are there any other parts/modifications I should be aware of that will benefit me? I will be running asphalt and parking lots. (No bashing of course)
LowBoost is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 07:55 AM
  #1401  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 102
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fred Hubbard
Correct the car comes with 52's. You can use 52's if you use an additional 1.5mm shim between all four suspension mounts, naturally it will change the shock geometry and track width.
ok, thanks.
Murray is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 08:11 AM
  #1402  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
dragont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 328
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

i dont know if this already been asked and posted, but...what is the advantage of using gear diff versus a spool, and where would you use it in the car. front or rear....? thanks
dragont is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 08:44 AM
  #1403  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,721
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by LowBoost
Mine are on their way and should be delivered Friday.
Is this Spec-R diff an option for T3 (2011) or is this the NT1 diff that is being installed to T3s, therefore the need of 50mm rear drive-shafts?

Are there any other parts/modifications I should be aware of that will benefit me? I will be running asphalt and parking lots. (No bashing of course)
Got your pm, I will respond in just a little bit. Thanks
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 08:51 AM
  #1404  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
johnny55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Temple City, Ca
Posts: 1,246
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dragont
i dont know if this already been asked and posted, but...what is the advantage of using gear diff versus a spool, and where would you use it in the car. front or rear....? thanks
I believe they are for the rear. I would also like to know the advantage or difference it makes. I know one advantage is that you don't have to maintain them as much as a ball diff. Can someone confirm this? TIA
johnny55 is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 01:25 PM
  #1405  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Originally Posted by johnny55
I believe they are for the rear.
You can also use them in the front. I do, with great results. The car has a lot of steering, and gets awesomely quick through 180's. Out of the corners, a spool will understeer a little, but with a geardiff up front the car will go where you want it to go.
Nilks is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 03:14 PM
  #1406  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by johnny55
I believe they are for the rear. I would also like to know the advantage or difference it makes. I know one advantage is that you don't have to maintain them as much as a ball diff. Can someone confirm this? TIA
It's mainly a maintenance thing. With mod power these days sometimes a ball diff will not even last 5 mins before going off - this is more prevalent with other brands, the xray ball diff is very good

Originally Posted by Cribbin
so my car has belts almost 18 months old. if theyre wearing then theyre too tight
Run a gear diff with a loose belt and see how long it lasts
CraigM is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 03:25 PM
  #1407  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM
It's mainly a maintenance thing. With mod power these days sometimes a ball diff will not even last 5 mins before going off - this is more prevalent with other brands, the xray ball diff is very good


Run a gear diff with a loose belt and see how long it lasts
It can last with a stock-motor, but a mod motor will rip the belt apart in 2 runs (believe me - I've tried).
Nilks is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 03:57 PM
  #1408  
ark
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Does a NT1 gear diff pop straight in to a t3 (335050) without changing anything?
ark is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 03:58 PM
  #1409  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Land of high taxes and bad football
Posts: 1,808
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ark
Does a NT1 gear diff pop straight in to a t3 (335050) without changing anything?
No!
Xpress is offline  
Old 02-09-2011, 04:03 PM
  #1410  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nilks
It can last with a stock-motor, but a mod motor will rip the belt apart in 2 runs (believe me - I've tried).
I broke my first rear belt the other day after about 3 month of use so it's not too bad if you set them right. My front belt is now due for replacement too
CraigM is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.