R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-05-2011, 03:25 PM   #1351
Tech Regular
 
dragont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: VA
Posts: 328
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xpress View Post
Depends on the thickness of the gear where the layshaft passes thru. You may have to sand down the flange that fits around the gear mounting screws to fit the assembled layshaft into the car.
yeah, i tried it, you definitely have to sand it down whether if its kimbrough or RR. otherwise, you have to use the specific spur....
__________________
HOY BAKLA!!!! U DA BU LA'IA!!!!!!
dragont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 03:50 PM   #1352
Tech Fanatic
 
LowBoost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 807
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Guys... I am about to place my order of T3' 2011s. AMain does not have any Hudy Bearing Oil. Is there a particular brand I should look for?

Any other suggestions on parts/tools I need to buy right away for the build?
I am just ordering the two kits, tools, etc right now. Second order will be all electronics.
LowBoost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 04:55 PM   #1353
Tech Addict
 
Luke Hobson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: newark, nottinghamshire, UK
Posts: 526
Send a message via MSN to Luke Hobson
Default

i use Xenon Spur gears with no issue...

luke
__________________
Luke Hobson
Awesomatix - Xenon - Godzilla Paint - Moorespeed - ToniSport - MBmodels

http://luke-hobson.blogspot.com/
Luke Hobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 05:50 PM   #1354
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 189
Default

i just got me the plain version of T3R
I didn't wanna go for the 2011 version because I want to stick to NiMH packs and I also found the old version ridiculously cheap
The price difference alone will get me servo and spektrum receiver easily

my second electric and my first belt drive.

Last edited by omegaf; 02-05-2011 at 06:06 PM.
omegaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 07:06 PM   #1355
Tech Fanatic
 
Bigz84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 803
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default spec r diff

what is a good starting point for diff oil on the rear for a spec r diff. I'm on a carpet track using 17.5, no boost, for the time being. traction is med to high.

thanks for any input.
Bigz84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 07:08 PM   #1356
Tech Fanatic
 
jammincrtjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigz84 View Post
what is a good starting point for diff oil on the rear for a spec r diff. I'm on a carpet track using 17.5, no boost, for the time being. traction is med to high.

thanks for any input.
Ive had good luck with Xray 1000 weight
__________________
NEXUS RACING www.nexusracing.com | FANTOM RACING www.fantomracing.com
ORCA www.orcarc.com | TURTLE TRAX / www.turtletraxraceway.com
--------------------------------------------------
"If you're not first...you're last!"
jammincrtjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 07:22 PM   #1357
Tech Adept
 
KevinHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 221
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

If you want more steering and the car to rotate quicker go with xray 1000. If you want it to calm down and easier to drive go with 2000.
KevinHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 11:30 PM   #1358
Tech Elite
 
Chris08527's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 732
Posts: 2,154
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

first time out with the car tonite rubber tire carpet and all i can say is wow . . .box stock set-up is a very good start!!!
__________________
"Hello How 'bout that ride in? I guess thats why they call it Sin City." Alan Garner~"I play the drums, I'm good as hell" Richie Rich
Chris08527 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 11:33 AM   #1359
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigz84 View Post
what is a good starting point for diff oil on the rear for a spec r diff. I'm on a carpet track using 17.5, no boost, for the time being. traction is med to high.

thanks for any input.
I use 2000cst Kyosho oil in my (in the rear) and it is great. I have a gear-diff up front aswell (500k cst oil), so I have plenty of steering. But if I was to only run geardiff in the back, I would probably use 1000cst oil to get enough steering.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 06:23 PM   #1360
Tech Elite
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,020
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

where can you get the 2011 conversion kit and how much is it in U.S.D?
__________________
Maclan Racing Products-Bellgate Distributions-PR Racing- Prospeed
jeff jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 08:30 PM   #1361
Tech Master
 
mickrcarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Marietta Ohio
Posts: 1,466
Trader Rating: 98 (99%+)
Default

got mine from ebay off a person in cali, I could not find a usa dealer with one in stock
__________________
www.ovrccc.com
www.speedybillsrc.com
mickrcarver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 10:23 AM   #1362
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 189
Default

i recently got a T3R but I got the opportunity to upgrade to a T3 2011.
The only concern I have is that I want to use NiMH packs. Is it possible to use NiMH packs with the 2011 version or is the battery slot not big enough?
omegaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 10:55 AM   #1363
Tech Elite
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,020
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

the 2011 doesnt have battery slots .
__________________
Maclan Racing Products-Bellgate Distributions-PR Racing- Prospeed
jeff jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:08 AM   #1364
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 189
Default

so does this mean that i can fit whatever battery pack i want?
they explicitly state that it is meant for LiPo only and I am worried that there won't be enough space for NiMH.
omegaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2011, 11:23 AM   #1365
Tech Elite
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,020
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

id say its time to get a lipo pack as you will enjoy longer run times. im sure you can get a nimh pack to fit but it might move on you during your run.
__________________
Maclan Racing Products-Bellgate Distributions-PR Racing- Prospeed
jeff jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:07 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net