R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2011, 09:49 AM   #1216
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 100
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesReilly View Post
You would want to use the aluminum ones in the rear if you have them they are lighter therefore giving you more traction and less rotating mass.
There is not a durability issues using the aluminum in the rear only if you use them up front.
If you use the 50mm vs the 52mm the car will roll less on that end and possible take away some traction, however it will square up more coming off the
corner and if your car is over rotating this could help.

-James
Thanks for the feedback Reily. Might be the fix I need I'm finding my setup is making the rear squirley on our track.
J.Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 11:11 AM   #1217
Tech Master
 
johnny55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Temple City, Ca
Posts: 1,246
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to johnny55
Default

I'm an old time racer coming back. I would like some information about this car. I have a tc5 and am thinking about getting the X-ray. My old car needs weights in the batt to keep my car balanced. Do I still have to use weights with the x-ray and lipos? Thanks in advance
johnny55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 11:23 AM   #1218
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny55 View Post
I'm an old time racer coming back. I would like some information about this car. I have a tc5 and am thinking about getting the X-ray. My old car needs weights in the batt to keep my car balanced. Do I still have to use weights with the x-ray and lipos? Thanks in advance
The car balances very well without weights depending on your electronics and batteries. However, depending upon your local track rules weight limits might dictate that you have to add weight to the car to make the minimum. For instance, in Florida we are using the ROAR rules which have a 1420g minimum weight and you do have to add weights to the car to reach the minimum (better to be under than over!) but they aren't so much necessary to balance the car left-right.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 11:33 AM   #1219
Tech Master
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,146
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny55 View Post
I'm an old time racer coming back. I would like some information about this car. I have a tc5 and am thinking about getting the X-ray. My old car needs weights in the batt to keep my car balanced. Do I still have to use weights with the x-ray and lipos? Thanks in advance
Honestly, you probably will need weights, but maybe for different reasons. Out of the box, with my electronics the Xray T3'11 was perfectly balanced for me right to left, however it came in at around 60g under the 1400g minimum weight limit used at most big races. So I needed to add that amount of weight to the car. At that point it was a tuneing aide.

Alot depends on the weight of your electronics. For example, take lipos .. the Thunder Power 2s 40C is around 262g while the 65C is at around 309g there is a difference of 47g. Same thing for servos, standard size vs. low-profile is probably another 10g difference.

Having the ability to shift the weight around the car to balance your particular electronics is an advantage, if your car is balanced use that weight to help tune your setup.
ByteStream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 12:56 PM   #1220
Tech Master
 
johnny55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Temple City, Ca
Posts: 1,246
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to johnny55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ByteStream View Post
Honestly, you probably will need weights, but maybe for different reasons. Out of the box, with my electronics the Xray T3'11 was perfectly balanced for me right to left, however it came in at around 60g under the 1400g minimum weight limit used at most big races. So I needed to add that amount of weight to the car. At that point it was a tuneing aide.

Alot depends on the weight of your electronics. For example, take lipos .. the Thunder Power 2s 40C is around 262g while the 65C is at around 309g there is a difference of 47g. Same thing for servos, standard size vs. low-profile is probably another 10g difference.

Having the ability to shift the weight around the car to balance your particular electronics is an advantage, if your car is balanced use that weight to help tune your setup.
Thanks for the reply fellas. I just wanted to know about balance, and Ill get the track info about wight requirements. I appreciate the feedback. I'm looking for every reason NOT to get this car but I's been calling my name lately. I like my TC5 but this car looks so fun and promising.
johnny55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 06:41 AM   #1221
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 286
Default

Hi,

who's had to cut their servo lug off to get their electrics mounted ? I'm using the KO 409 rx and the small GM75 speedo but it still won't fit unless I cut the servo lug which I don't want to do or mount the rx on the servo which I also don't want to do will the servo hold ok with one lug mounted and some carpet tape ?

Thanks.
S.A.W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 07:19 AM   #1222
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Hi,

who's had to cut their servo lug off to get their electrics mounted ? I'm using the KO 409 rx and the small GM75 speedo but it still won't fit unless I cut the servo lug which I don't want to do or mount the rx on the servo which I also don't want to do will the servo hold ok with one lug mounted and some carpet tape ?

Thanks.
I did it, but I didn't "have" to. I wanted to mount my receiver flat on the chassis so I cut it off and I have ample room now. Looks much nicer.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 10:14 AM   #1223
Tech Elite
 
R Dodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,426
Default

I didn't cut the ear off of my servo and I've got plenty of room for everything using a Spektrum S6040 servo, SR3520 RX and Tekin RS Pro. The only modification I made was to slot the two rear servo mount holes.

I've read that the carpet tape trick works though.
__________________
★RCAmerica •Xray •Hudy •Motiv •PROTOform •Gravity •Avid •TQ Wire •Sanwa •BSR •ProLevelRC •2mmDesigns •Timmy •5Nines★
R Dodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 10:27 AM   #1224
Tech Adept
 
Phil C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuneaton, England
Posts: 177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S.A.W View Post
Hi,

who's had to cut their servo lug off to get their electrics mounted ? I'm using the KO 409 rx and the small GM75 speedo but it still won't fit unless I cut the servo lug which I don't want to do or mount the rx on the servo which I also don't want to do will the servo hold ok with one lug mounted and some carpet tape ?

Thanks.
What size spur are you using?

I have Ko 408s, gm120 and am using the wider servo holes and still have 5-10mm worth of space between the motor and speedo....
__________________
| Team XRAY UK | HUDY | RC DisCo| LRP | Sanwa | SMD | Moorespeed | MB Models | Gingapaint | McLaren Racing |
Phil C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 11:43 AM   #1225
Tech Fanatic
 
Green Machine!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastvale, Ca.
Posts: 816
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Green Machine!
Default Final Drive help

I am going to run the "non boosted" 17.5 class since it seems to be the most popular right now where I'm at. I have all the 64 pitch stuff but can't seem to find a combo that fits to get down to around 3.5-3.7 final drive. Am I to assume the only way to do this is to get some 48 pitch stuff? What pinion/spur combo fits good with the minimal motor adjustment? Thanks in advance for the help everyone.
__________________
Team Kamikaze.
XCEED RC
SERPENT
FUTABA
SSCLCG
Green Machine! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 12:09 PM   #1226
Tech Elite
 
R3VoLuTiOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,391
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Green Machine! View Post
I am going to run the "non boosted" 17.5 class since it seems to be the most popular right now where I'm at. I have all the 64 pitch stuff but can't seem to find a combo that fits to get down to around 3.5-3.7 final drive. Am I to assume the only way to do this is to get some 48 pitch stuff? What pinion/spur combo fits good with the minimal motor adjustment? Thanks in advance for the help everyone.
I can hit 3.65 with 96 spur and a 50T pinion in 64pitch.
__________________
John Tsang 🏁 VBC Racing 🚗 ORCA RC 🚗 GripworksRC 🚗 MotivRC 🚗 GravityRC 🚗 RC America

http://www.facebook.com/VancouverRRR 🏁 http://www.facebook.com/OvergearedRacing
R3VoLuTiOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 12:12 PM   #1227
Tech Fanatic
 
Green Machine!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastvale, Ca.
Posts: 816
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Green Machine!
Default

oh. ok cool. I only have a 44t pinion but that's easy enough to get. So it fit well and meshed good?
__________________
Team Kamikaze.
XCEED RC
SERPENT
FUTABA
SSCLCG
Green Machine! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 01:24 PM   #1228
Tech Elite
 
R3VoLuTiOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,391
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

^^ yep, theres lots of room to go down in pinion size and a bit to go up.
__________________
John Tsang 🏁 VBC Racing 🚗 ORCA RC 🚗 GripworksRC 🚗 MotivRC 🚗 GravityRC 🚗 RC America

http://www.facebook.com/VancouverRRR 🏁 http://www.facebook.com/OvergearedRacing
R3VoLuTiOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 01:38 PM   #1229
Tech Fanatic
 
Green Machine!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Eastvale, Ca.
Posts: 816
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to Green Machine!
Default

I wonder if I can get away with a 100 spur and then just change the pinion from a 53 down to a 32. That way I only have to change the pinions when I go from boost to non boost. That way I don't have to take the top plate off all the time am I lazy or what!
__________________
Team Kamikaze.
XCEED RC
SERPENT
FUTABA
SSCLCG
Green Machine! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 02:17 PM   #1230
Tech Elite
 
R3VoLuTiOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 2,391
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

never hurts to try.

I tried 106 with 50, but it would not mesh because I was out of room.
__________________
John Tsang 🏁 VBC Racing 🚗 ORCA RC 🚗 GripworksRC 🚗 MotivRC 🚗 GravityRC 🚗 RC America

http://www.facebook.com/VancouverRRR 🏁 http://www.facebook.com/OvergearedRacing
R3VoLuTiOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:43 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net