Like Tree2Likes

Xray T3 2011

Old 12-14-2010, 09:40 AM
  #1051  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,267
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

many parts arrived !
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 10:27 AM
  #1052  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

On Saturday I ended up swapping my L1 and L2 holders from one side to the other, subsequently going from the high/long position to the low/long position. It did indeed create an inner link height that was in between the regular high and low positions. The link angle and length seems to be similar to what the T2'009 with the stock gold link holders were at when in the low/long position (which was my favorite setup on that car).

This position worked great on our high traction outdoor asphalt track. I ended up adding 1mm shims to the outside of the camber link to get a little more angle, and the car felt very good.
M-Technic is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 10:55 AM
  #1053  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,914
Default

Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
On Saturday I ended up swapping my L1 and L2 holders from one side to the other, subsequently going from the high/long position to the low/long position. It did indeed create an inner link height that was in between the regular high and low positions. The link angle and length seems to be similar to what the T2'009 with the stock gold link holders were at when in the low/long position (which was my favorite setup on that car).

This position worked great on our high traction outdoor asphalt track. I ended up adding 1mm shims to the outside of the camber link to get a little more angle, and the car felt very good.
What tyres etc do you use?

How does the lower link compare with the upper setting?

I have the Max Carbon upper link roll centre bits which allow me to set the height very precisely but I haven't tried going low yet?

Skiddins
Skiddins is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 12:11 PM
  #1054  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
What tyres etc do you use?

How does the lower link compare with the upper setting?

I have the Max Carbon upper link roll centre bits which allow me to set the height very precisely but I haven't tried going low yet?

Skiddins
Our control tire is the Solaris Hard-spec on spoked wheels. Compared to the default high setting I found the car to be more reactive while still maintaining a high level of grip. Corner speeds were increased. This may not work well unless the traction is unusually high like our track is.
M-Technic is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 12:40 AM
  #1055  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know who has a Spec R xray diff in stock in the US?
rx7ttlm is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 01:04 AM
  #1056  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,721
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rx7ttlm View Post
Anyone know who has a Spec R xray diff in stock in the US?
Try here
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 10:24 AM
  #1057  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Servo issue

Can someone suggest what servo to use for the T3 '11? I've tried to fit the Savox 1258TG and Futaba BLS451 but they don't fit correctly.
ALBOP is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 10:29 AM
  #1058  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 411
Default

Originally Posted by ALBOP View Post
Can someone suggest what servo to use for the T3 '11? I've tried to fit the Savox 1258TG and Futaba BLS451 but they don't fit correctly.
Why dont they fit ? Do they hit the steering posts ?
Chris-s is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 10:37 AM
  #1059  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris-s View Post
Why dont they fit ? Do they hit the steering posts ?
Yes both servos are unable squeeze between the posts. If I try to position the posts further apart it looks to be too wide.
ALBOP is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 10:54 AM
  #1060  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ALBOP View Post
Yes both servos are unable squeeze between the posts. If I try to position the posts further apart it looks to be too wide.
hmm, I haven't used those servos but I am running a KO 2413, tekin RS and KO 408 Rx and it all fits nicely without cutting the servo tab off.
rx7ttlm is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 11:01 AM
  #1061  
Tech Adept
 
StevenOlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 176
Default

Originally Posted by ALBOP View Post
Yes both servos are unable squeeze between the posts. If I try to position the posts further apart it looks to be too wide.
just put the servo in, mounted in the the wide post position. almost everybody is doing it even the team drivers. below there is a picture of Martin Hudy car at ETS round 1
Attached Thumbnails Xray T3 2011-xray-bottom.jpg  
StevenOlsen is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 11:05 AM
  #1062  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (16)
 
arn671's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 539
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Thumbs up

I'm running the Savox 1258 TG in there now with a Futaba 614FF receiver and Tekin RS-Pro, it all fits in there fine. When installing the servo, keep the screws attaching the servo to the post slightly loose, position the servo in the widest setting(2nd hole) on the chassis, tighten the screw for the servo post, then the screws securing the servo to the post. Hope that helps.

Originally Posted by ALBOP View Post
Can someone suggest what servo to use for the T3 '11? I've tried to fit the Savox 1258TG and Futaba BLS451 but they don't fit correctly.
arn671 is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 11:09 AM
  #1063  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Calgary
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by arn671 View Post
I'm running the Savox 1258 TG in there now with a Futaba 614FF receiver and Tekin RS-Pro, it all fits in there fine. When installing the servo, keep the screws attaching the servo to the post slightly loose, position the servo in the widest setting(2nd hole) on the chassis, tighten the screw for the servo post, then the screws securing the servo to the post. Hope that helps.
You guys are right, in the widest position the servo will fit. I just didn't think there was enough material on the servo for the screws to make good contact. I'll give it a try, thanks for all the help!!
ALBOP is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 11:27 AM
  #1064  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I run a full size futaba servo, a spectrum small rxr, and a Novak Kinetic all flat on the chassiss and still have the full movement of the motor for gearing. I did take the rear ears off the servo, but after tucking the wires between the servo and the rxr I could have left the ears on.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 01:42 PM
  #1065  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 329
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Default

I just finished my NT1 diff conversion for the T3`11 and it wont work in the front with ecs driveshafts 52mm and front arms spaced out 2.25mm the driveshafts bind in the outdrives.Does anyone have any solutions other than 50mm driveshaft? Thanks.
traitor is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.