Like Tree2Likes

Xray T3 2011

Old 12-04-2010, 12:15 PM
  #961  
Tech Adept
 
StevenOlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 176
Default

Originally Posted by runs_wscissors
I just visited the wiring forum and saw some amazingly clean cars. How about some more posts with pictures here of the new T3 builds.

I am curious about the electronics placement and the use of balance weights. I noticed this information on the Tamiya TRF417 Specs page.

"The chassis design is focused on weight distribution and high-traction characteristics, with *the new minimum chassis weight rule in mind. *The 2012 world championship regulations state that the minimum chassis weight will be restricted to 1,350g. (1,450g in 2010). "

100g change is pretty considerable. I have no idea if this will happen at the tracks we run, I just found it interesting and was wondering how much and where people are using extra weight. Thanks in advance.
here is my setup. not super clean, but its a race car not a show car
Attached Thumbnails Xray T3 2011-176.jpg  
StevenOlsen is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 12:41 PM
  #962  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,146
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What brands of servo, or individual servos fit the T3'11 inner mounting holes? Would prefer a low-profile as well. I know the Futaba ones fit the outer holes. Looking for options.
ByteStream is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 01:51 PM
  #963  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I would recommend getting a full sized servo, since many are using it to help balance the car. I would like to use my low profile, but finding a place to mount the transponder can be difficult. I find it best to mount it on end of the servo so it clears the graphite chassis. There's room if you don't mind mounting the receiver on top of the servo. Another resaon to get a full size one.

Originally Posted by ByteStream
What brands of servo, or individual servos fit the T3'11 inner mounting holes? Would prefer a low-profile as well. I know the Futaba ones fit the outer holes. Looking for options.
RCknight is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 02:23 PM
  #964  
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 193
Default

Originally Posted by StevenOlsen
here is my setup. not super clean, but its a race car not a show car
Love the heat sink witch one is it
ATLASCOPCO is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 03:14 PM
  #965  
Tech Adept
 
StevenOlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 176
Default

Originally Posted by ATLASCOPCO
Love the heat sink witch one is it
http://www.integy.com/st_prod.html?p...350&p_catid=28

here you go
StevenOlsen is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 03:17 PM
  #966  
Tech Adept
 
ATLASCOPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 193
Default

Originally Posted by StevenOlsen
Thanks for that
ATLASCOPCO is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 06:11 PM
  #967  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Chris08527's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 732
Posts: 2,156
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

see a lot of the team drivers are running sway bars . . .are they the same bars as the T2/T3 . . .anyone have a part #???
Chris08527 is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 06:32 PM
  #968  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris08527
see a lot of the team drivers are running sway bars . . .are they the same bars as the T2/T3 . . .anyone have a part #???
Only change in swaybars since the T2007 has been the colors have all gone to black with laser etched sizing marks (circa t2008). Which car are you planning on running them on? the T3 2011 comes with swaybars for a starting place.
rx7ttlm is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 06:48 PM
  #969  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Chris08527's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 732
Posts: 2,156
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rx7ttlm
Only change in swaybars since the T2007 has been the colors have all gone to black with laser etched sizing marks (circa t2008). Which car are you planning on running them on? the T3 2011 comes with swaybars for a starting place.
t3 11
Chris08527 is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 10:49 PM
  #970  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris08527
t3 11
the car comes with 1.4 mm front bar and 1.2mm rear bar. That's a good starting place. you can get +1/-1 from that by changing the last digit on the part number Front is 302484 (1.4mm), rear is 303482 (1.2mm). I haven't nailed down my setup but last year I liked the 1.4 front bar / 0 rear bar setup that I have on the xray site. In the coming weeks I should be able to nail down a final starting setup for my 2011.
rx7ttlm is offline  
Old 12-04-2010, 11:14 PM
  #971  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rx7ttlm
In the coming weeks I should be able to nail down a final starting setup for my 2011.
kit
CraigM is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 01:11 AM
  #972  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
ByteStream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 1,146
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RCknight
I would recommend getting a full sized servo, since many are using it to help balance the car. I would like to use my low profile, but finding a place to mount the transponder can be difficult. I find it best to mount it on end of the servo so it clears the graphite chassis. There's room if you don't mind mounting the receiver on top of the servo. Another resaon to get a full size one.
Not sure what you mean. I'm asking which servo's are narrow enough to mount between the inner holes (either full size or low-pro).
ByteStream is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 04:28 PM
  #973  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM
kit
I don't think my setup will be kit, My setup is pretty different from most peoples. I run heavy front shock oil, narrow front track, stiff front bar, no rear bar. But we will see what my / the car like with the new car. I have a pretty awesome test track, I just have to get my hands on a gear diff


http://www.timezoneracing.com/timezoneII.php


Anyone know who has the spec R diff in stock?
rx7ttlm is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 04:31 PM
  #974  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ByteStream
Not sure what you mean. I'm asking which servo's are narrow enough to mount between the inner holes (either full size or low-pro).
It really depends on your RX and ESC combo, if your running a small esc like the Tekin RS Pro, and a small rx like KO, it all fits fine, if your running LRP and say spektrum etc you might have to shuffle things around a bit and stand your rx on its side.
rx7ttlm is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 05:20 PM
  #975  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (141)
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris-s


My car is 1355g, depending what tyres I run. Using 40g of weight to get it up to 1355g, four 10g weights placed on the four corners of the chassis.
is your car perfectly balanced left to right?
hacker is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.