Like Tree2Likes

Xray T3 2011

Old 11-28-2010, 06:07 PM
  #916  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,324
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Gav- View Post
I broke 4 on my 09 by June this year... quick tip from a resident guru, and never had a problem again.

The topdeck where it sits over the layshaft bearings is awfully thin on the T3'11. That would be my only concern with breakage.
You also need to use all the screws on the top deck, hey Gav
Wylie27 is offline  
Old 11-28-2010, 09:41 PM
  #917  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
frank b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
Have you really never seen a broken top deck? We see them break fairly regularly on our tracks down under, we must drive faster
i drive with xray sponsored drivers at our club so yes we do drive pretty fast thanks........ and we really don't hit much either
frank b is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 02:02 AM
  #918  
Tech Addict
 
RevMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cebu
Posts: 687
Default

Originally Posted by Gav- View Post
I broke 4 on my 09 by June this year... quick tip from a resident guru, and never had a problem again.

The topdeck where it sits over the layshaft bearings is awfully thin on the T3'11. That would be my only concern with breakage.
and the "tip" being: ??? .... mind sharing?
RevMaxx is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 06:34 AM
  #919  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 537
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

hi guys

do u prep the top deck. as in CA the top deck?
ronaldo-1234 is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 07:56 AM
  #920  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Pretty much done building my kit. Everything went together quite beautifully. The only snag I had is with building the shocks. I tried drilling a hole in the cap and building them like Tamiya shocks and I just could not get consistent rebound with the hole in the cap. I went back to building them "Xray style" and it took 2-3 tries per shock to get them bled correctly for rebound without introducing air into the shock. I gotta say I find it much easier to build the shocks without the holes in the caps.

I can't wait to finish it up tonight and get to practice with the car this week!
M-Technic is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 01:40 PM
  #921  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (18)
 
bfong13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 619
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know when the new bladders will be made more available? I tore one over the weekend.
bfong13 is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 01:55 PM
  #922  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,729
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ronaldo-1234 View Post
hi guys

do u prep the top deck. as in CA the top deck?

Nope
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 02:19 PM
  #923  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bfong13 View Post
Does anyone know when the new bladders will be made more available? I tore one over the weekend.
Call up RCAmerica, they probably got them in on the shipment last week.
M-Technic is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 04:02 PM
  #924  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,944
Default

Originally Posted by ronaldo-1234 View Post
hi guys

do u prep the top deck. as in CA the top deck?
Yes, mainly for looks, but I should think it helps a bit with fractures
Skiddins is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 04:18 PM
  #925  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,278
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bfong13 View Post
Does anyone know when the new bladders will be made more available? I tore one over the weekend.
308081 & 308091
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 05:13 AM
  #926  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 411
Default

Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Yes, mainly for looks, but I should think it helps a bit with fractures
Maybe I need to stick some more glue on next time !
Chris-s is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 07:15 AM
  #927  
Tech Regular
 
ghiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 315
Default

I'am building now the car and thinking about the top deck. l looks to me like it's suspended in the middle of the chassis so i thought if it's possible to add some longer screws in the steering linkage area in order to make it stiffer. Anyone have done something like that?
ghiro is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 07:22 AM
  #928  
Tech Adept
 
StevenOlsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 176
Default

Originally Posted by ghiro View Post
I'am building now the car and thinking about the top deck. l looks to me like it's suspended in the middle of the chassis so i thought if it's possible to add some longer screws in the steering linkage area in order to make it stiffer. Anyone have done something like that?
are you thinking of the 2 holes in the front or the hole in the center ?
Attached Thumbnails Xray T3 2011-topdeck.jpg  
StevenOlsen is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 07:53 AM
  #929  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7,379
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bfong13 View Post
Does anyone know when the new bladders will be made more available? I tore one over the weekend.
Ordered a set from Nexus over the past weekend.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 11-30-2010, 08:37 AM
  #930  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Xpress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Land of high taxes and bad football
Posts: 1,768
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ghiro View Post
I'am building now the car and thinking about the top deck. l looks to me like it's suspended in the middle of the chassis so i thought if it's possible to add some longer screws in the steering linkage area in order to make it stiffer. Anyone have done something like that?
I'm guessing you have not gotten to the back of the instruction manual yet?

Last edited by Xpress; 11-30-2010 at 10:08 AM.
Xpress is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.