Like Tree2Likes

Xray T3 2011

Old 11-18-2010, 10:29 AM
  #841  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,534
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I mounted a Airtronics servo using the narrower set of holes. and had plenty of room although I did have to mount the rcvr on its side.

one question thou...

did anyone actually follow the directions and use the rubber mounts on the servo??
skypilot is offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 10:39 AM
  #842  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kail View Post
I am running on a low traction asphalt. Need all the traction I can have.
ok, that makes more sense then.

Originally Posted by runs_wscissors View Post
I am considering ordering a T3 2011 kit and have a few quick questions.
1) Does anyone sand and CA the chassis to prevent chipping/delamination in a crash?
Yes. I have yet to split a chassis or anything, but it gives me a bit of piece of mind and looks nice when done right

2) What servos allow the use of both mounting posts? Or more specifically what dimension servo should I look for. I'm not so interested in the single post mount if I'll be getting a new servo anyway. I'd also like to get correct weight servo given the discussions on balancing.
Depends on your esc /RX, not that simple of an answer. With a KO rx the size of a postage stamp, a tekin etc there isn't a space issue. But spektrum and say an LRP or gtb and you will be out of space and be cutting the tab

3) Do batteries with the mini-bumps on the bottom fit the cutouts in the chassis better? I'm assuming all the flat packs are just fine it was just something I noticed in the XRAY web photos.
Either style battery works, They added the notches in the chassis so the guys that ran the hump style bottoms dont have to grind the lipo...

4) Back when I was running a T2 '007 everyone switched to aluminum knuckles and uprights since we had so much grip on carpet. Is this a common upgrade in the T3 series? I'll be on asphalt this time around so I assume I'll be fine with the kit components.

Stock plastics worked fine for me all last season, broke one rear hub and a shock (shock got broken when team mate punted me into a steel wall lol). You will probably notice more grip with the stock pieces. If the grip comes up ALOT then you might play with stiffer arms but that's about it.

Thanks for the input. Build pictures are of great help as well, keep them coming.
rx7ttlm is offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 10:49 AM
  #843  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
I mounted a Airtronics servo using the narrower set of holes. and had plenty of room although I did have to mount the rcvr on its side.

one question thou...

did anyone actually follow the directions and use the rubber mounts on the servo??
I read that part too (?), and no.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 12:10 PM
  #844  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
runs_wscissors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 217
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the helpful replies to my questions, they are much appreciated!
runs_wscissors is offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 06:09 PM
  #845  
Tech Master
iTrader: (98)
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,918
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, I'm hoping someone can help me.....I'm getting a t3 11 here soon and want to know which body is best for asphalt racing.....I've used the speed 6 but want to know if maybe the p37 is something to look into as well.....any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ronnie
picco007 is offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 08:29 PM
  #846  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by picco007 View Post
Hey guys, I'm hoping someone can help me.....I'm getting a t3 11 here soon and want to know which body is best for asphalt racing.....I've used the speed 6 but want to know if maybe the p37 is something to look into as well.....any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ronnie
Proline rates them as similar characteristics, on the track (carpet) I really didn't notice a difference, P37 feels like a mix between a Speed6 and a Stratus, nice neutral feel.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 09:15 PM
  #847  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
rx7ttlm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,521
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by picco007 View Post
Hey guys, I'm hoping someone can help me.....I'm getting a t3 11 here soon and want to know which body is best for asphalt racing.....I've used the speed 6 but want to know if maybe the p37 is something to look into as well.....any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ronnie
If you start out with a speed 6 mounted a little forward with the wing mounted back that is about where I would start out and once you get the car dialed in swap bodies for a LTR or a 37 and find out. But I think you will be most of the way there with a speed 6 and you can figure out what works best for your style
rx7ttlm is offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 09:37 PM
  #848  
Tech Master
iTrader: (98)
 
picco007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: TX.
Posts: 1,918
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Default

Thanks to both of you!
picco007 is offline  
Old 11-19-2010, 04:43 AM
  #849  
Tech Adept
 
Jamesalex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 185
Default

Many thanks for the replies
Jamesalex is offline  
Old 11-19-2010, 06:08 PM
  #850  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

....
PitNamedGordie is offline  
Old 11-19-2010, 06:15 PM
  #851  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Magnet Top's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,034
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Hey man, this isn't the sakura forum !

Originally Posted by PitNamedGordie View Post
Some build photos....
Magnet Top is offline  
Old 11-19-2010, 06:16 PM
  #852  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Magnet Top View Post
Hey man, this isn't the sakura forum !
oops!
PitNamedGordie is offline  
Old 11-19-2010, 07:51 PM
  #853  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Chris08527's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 732
Posts: 2,156
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

does the kit come with sway bars or is that an option?, are guys running bars with rubber tire carpet???
Chris08527 is offline  
Old 11-19-2010, 09:38 PM
  #854  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
dpatterson26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 970
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rx7ttlm View Post
ok, that makes more sense then.



1) Does anyone sand and CA the chassis to prevent chipping/delamination in a crash?
Yes. I have yet to split a chassis or anything, but it gives me a bit of piece of mind and looks nice when done right

2) What servos allow the use of both mounting posts? Or more specifically what dimension servo should I look for. I'm not so interested in the single post mount if I'll be getting a new servo anyway. I'd also like to get correct weight servo given the discussions on balancing.
Depends on your esc /RX, not that simple of an answer. With a KO rx the size of a postage stamp, a tekin etc there isn't a space issue. But spektrum and say an LRP or gtb and you will be out of space and be cutting the tab

3) Do batteries with the mini-bumps on the bottom fit the cutouts in the chassis better? I'm assuming all the flat packs are just fine it was just something I noticed in the XRAY web photos.
Either style battery works, They added the notches in the chassis so the guys that ran the hump style bottoms dont have to grind the lipo...

4) Back when I was running a T2 '007 everyone switched to aluminum knuckles and uprights since we had so much grip on carpet. Is this a common upgrade in the T3 series? I'll be on asphalt this time around so I assume I'll be fine with the kit components.

Stock plastics worked fine for me all last season, broke one rear hub and a shock (shock got broken when team mate punted me into a steel wall lol). You will probably notice more grip with the stock pieces. If the grip comes up ALOT then you might play with stiffer arms but that's about it.

Thanks for the input. Build pictures are of great help as well, keep them coming.
Have you built an 11 yet?

Last edited by dpatterson26; 11-19-2010 at 09:57 PM.
dpatterson26 is offline  
Old 11-19-2010, 10:07 PM
  #855  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,682
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris08527 View Post
does the kit come with sway bars or is that an option?, are guys running bars with rubber tire carpet???
The kit comes with front and rear bars.

It really depends on the track, I've run bars front and back, and with just a bar up front, but it was a heavier bar. All on carpet, just different levels of traction.
Johnny Wishbone is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.