Like Tree2Likes

Xray T3 2011

Old 11-09-2010, 10:09 AM
  #736  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
frank b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

i do agree there should be a few more spots on the chassi for the screw on weights, then i found some lead weights from 3racing that were painted graphite that looked awesome so i am using those. there is more of an adjustment with the stick on weights than the permanent weight. i have only had a short time on the 11 car and i am noticing the 11 car has a lot more potential than the original t3. it is nice to have a permanent track now and having the time to look at the car and finding out what certain things do to miner changes on the setup.

frank b
frank b is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 10:42 AM
  #737  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,534
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

question on chassis weight, I read where some are using a full size servo to help with weight balance, I have a metal cased XP servo that weighs 69 grams, you guys think thats to heavy. I have more servos if it is.
skypilot is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 11:11 AM
  #738  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (16)
 
arn671's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 539
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Servo

Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
question on chassis weight, I read where some are using a full size servo to help with weight balance, I have a metal cased XP servo that weighs 69 grams, you guys think thats to heavy. I have more servos if it is.
Hey Skypilot, I'm running a full size servo, Futaba 614 and LRP SXX SS and they all fit flat on the chassis just fine, with the full size servo the extra weight seems to keep the car more balanced, definitely not running as much weight on the battery side-Alvin
arn671 is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 01:08 PM
  #739  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
frank b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
question on chassis weight, I read where some are using a full size servo to help with weight balance, I have a metal cased XP servo that weighs 69 grams, you guys think thats to heavy. I have more servos if it is.
yes if you are running a full size servo you wont need that much weight to balance the car as i am running a low profile servo i had to add weight beside were i placed the servo. i also had to cut one of the ears off from the servo to make my electronics fit as it said in the manual because my receiver and speedo is quit big.
frank b is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 01:30 PM
  #740  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

I'm running a full size servo and my car is too heavy on the electronics side? Admittedly I'm running an LRP air conditioner on the motor

First run of the car last night and I was less than 1/10th off the fastest lap I did with my state titles winning tamiya. That's just silly
CraigM is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 02:32 PM
  #741  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
frank b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
I'm running a full size servo and my car is too heavy on the electronics side? Admittedly I'm running an LRP air conditioner on the motor

First run of the car last night and I was less than 1/10th off the fastest lap I did with my state titles winning tamiya. That's just silly
i like running the low profile servo's just incase i need to add weight in other places. an air conditioner is not needed with the latest speedo out there, i am only running a regular hi speed fan from muchmore 30mm by 30mm that did the trick. i also have 4 mini scales that i balance all 4 corners of the car to get a close enough weight distribution so i can add weight were it is needed.
frank b is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 05:02 PM
  #742  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by frank b View Post
i like running the low profile servo's just incase i need to add weight in other places. an air conditioner is not needed with the latest speedo out there, i am only running a regular hi speed fan from muchmore 30mm by 30mm that did the trick. i also have 4 mini scales that i balance all 4 corners of the car to get a close enough weight distribution so i can add weight were it is needed.
I run a BD so usually my temps are well in check, but it's getting hot in OZ at the moment so the heatsink and fan is insurance, plus we run 1425g so it helps me get up to weight. Will put a low profile in this weekend, should be sweet
CraigM is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 10:25 PM
  #743  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
frank b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

i have heard good things about a low profile servo called SAVOX SC-1251MG it is only 60 something and it has the same speed and torque or even better than some of the name brand servo... i am going to use it in a day or so during practice and i will let everyone know what i think of it.....
frank b is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 10:29 PM
  #744  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Cribbin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 360
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
First run of the car last night and I was less than 1/10th off the fastest lap I did with my state titles winning tamiya. That's just silly
no craig, thats just what ive been telling you
Cribbin is offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 03:12 AM
  #745  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (147)
 
FK05 lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: somewhere in 1973
Posts: 2,994
Trader Rating: 147 (99%+)
Default

ALL Xrays are good straight out of the box!
FK05 lover is offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 04:34 AM
  #746  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
whityboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Belgium
Posts: 179
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by frank b View Post
i have heard good things about a low profile servo called SAVOX SC-1251MG it is only 60 something and it has the same speed and torque or even better than some of the name brand servo... i am going to use it in a day or so during practice and i will let everyone know what i think of it.....
these servo's are very good quality for a low price
whityboy is offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 06:49 AM
  #747  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (65)
 
Jamison R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 3,589
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

Savox low profile servo has held up nicely. When will the T3 11 be shipping again to hobby shops?
Jamison R is offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 06:51 AM
  #748  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KingKarate757 View Post
Savox low profile servo has held up nicely. When will the T3 11 be shipping again to hobby shops?
The next shipment is due in middle to end of November.
M-Technic is offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 08:44 AM
  #749  
Tech Addict
 
John_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Scotland
Posts: 724
Default

The Uk distributer got them in today so it should be around a week or so for the US
John_S is offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 08:47 AM
  #750  
mok
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
mok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
The next shipment is due in middle to end of November.
would that include 2011 specific parts as well?
-Mark
mok is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.