Like Tree1Likes

Xray T3 2011

Reply

Old 10-27-2010, 08:45 AM
  #601  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

The manual & setup book explain it pretty well also.
M-Technic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 09:54 AM
  #602  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone tell me if the 3racing gear diff will fit in the T3? Also, I heard that in order to use the spec-r diff you have to use 50mm dog bones instead of the 52mm. Is that true, and if so is it the same for the 3racing diff as well?
kobiwan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 09:56 AM
  #603  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,720
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kobiwan View Post
Can anyone tell me if the 3racing gear diff will fit in the T3? Also, I heard that in order to use the spec-r diff you have to use 50mm dog bones instead of the 52mm. Is that true, and if so is it the same for the 3racing diff as well?
If I recall correctly I read that the 3Racing gear diff will not fit and yes you need to run 50mm bones with the Spec-R gear diff.
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 10:26 AM
  #604  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sunny Malta
Posts: 87
Default

Originally Posted by M-Technic View Post
The manual & setup book explain it pretty well also.
im not of the same opinion the part were it explained the rebound is not so clear to me and i never did a pair of shocks with the same rebound
Corally_27 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 11:18 AM
  #605  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Magnet Top's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,002
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kobiwan View Post
Can anyone tell me if the 3racing gear diff will fit in the T3? Also, I heard that in order to use the spec-r diff you have to use 50mm dog bones instead of the 52mm. Is that true, and if so is it the same for the 3racing diff as well?
The ball end dimension of the xray dog is the issue.

Out of the box the 3racing gear diff doesn't work with the xray dog bones

BUT ( on my 009 ( should be the same as a T3) I milled / drilled the inside dimension of the 3r's outdrives to accept the xray dog bones outer dimension. The other option is using a different dog bone from another manufacturer.

Btw, I like the build quality of the 3r over the spec R and the 3r is great for stock and super stock. Also, it doesn't leak like the specR. I stripped out one in mod though ( running a 5.5 ) so I went back to a ball diff for mod.

Last edited by Magnet Top; 10-27-2010 at 12:44 PM.
Magnet Top is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 01:10 PM
  #606  
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,142
Default

Suggestions please for servo mounting, i've cut off it's ears to save room.

double sided tape works but it's high and difficult to line it up exactly right.

some sort of silicone/glue???
UK.hardcore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 01:21 PM
  #607  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,720
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by UK.hardcore View Post
Suggestions please for servo mounting, i've cut off it's ears to save room.

double sided tape works but it's high and difficult to line it up exactly right.

some sort of silicone/glue???
Extremely thin double-sided tape then Shoo Goo the edges down on the outside.
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 02:11 PM
  #608  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (67)
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

I just use straight shoe goo, Just scuff up the servo and the chassis a little bit and stick the servo down. Ive never lost a servo doing this, and ive had some nice wrecks LOL
BlackedOutREVO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 05:38 PM
  #609  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fred Hubbard View Post
If I recall correctly I read that the 3Racing gear diff will not fit and yes you need to run 50mm bones with the Spec-R gear diff.

Does running 50mm dog bones instead of 52mm change the way the car handles?
kobiwan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 07:13 PM
  #610  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
Fred Hubbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Inglewood, CA
Posts: 2,720
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kobiwan View Post
Does running 50mm dog bones instead of 52mm change the way the car handles?
Yes they do because the plunge point is different so the car reacts faster, especially on tracks with chicanes. Most of the team here in the states run the 50mm bones the majority of the time.
Fred Hubbard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 09:27 PM
  #611  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 433
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Hey all I just got my T3 11 and been keeping up with this thread. A few of you guys have had problems fitting servo's ie Futaba. Can someone please post some pics of this issue, I'm in the process of building mine with a Futaba S9551 servo and want to know how you guys are mounting them.
bee200sx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 12:11 AM
  #612  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 449
Default

I'm about to mount the electronics onto my T3'11 which I built last night. Will definitely need to mount the receiver either on its side or on the servo. My Hobbywing 120A takes up nearly all space next to the servo.

Don't feel like cutting up the servo ears to make more room. Maybe XRay will release an "optimized" lower deck that offers more room

Apart from the lack of space the build went together nicely. There was no need to ream out the arms or do any sanding at all compared to my 416.

The quality of the parts is about as good as it gets.
itchynads is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 12:59 AM
  #613  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,275
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Man....there must have been few shipped on the first batch of T3'11s. My LHS said they could not get one. I even had the order in way before it's release. Going to have to wait until late Nove now.
RCknight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 01:51 AM
  #614  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
Xchange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Around the world
Posts: 854
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RCknight View Post
Man....there must have been few shipped on the first batch of T3'11s. My LHS said they could not get one. I even had the order in way before it's release. Going to have to wait until late Nove now.
Where are u located?
Xchange is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 02:55 AM
  #615  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Fred Hubbard View Post
Yes they do because the plunge point is different so the car reacts faster, especially on tracks with chicanes. Most of the team here in the states run the 50mm bones the majority of the time.
Can I use the xray dog bone blades, or do I have to use different ones?
kobiwan is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service