Like Tree2Likes

Xray T3 2011

Old 10-25-2013, 01:06 AM
  #4141  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NZ
Posts: 678
Default

Originally Posted by Bikerbob View Post
question for any t3 owner who can give me a good answer

why 50mm or 52mm Uni shafts? I do seem to see a reason? either way they fit.

I have one car with 50 all around and another with 52mm in the front with a spool... but the spool has the same width on the outdrives.. so what more there? I have looked through the manual cant find any explanation.

James
from memory.....
Some cars with the spec-r gear diffs need 50mm
I think 50/52mm depends on what version of the car you have
1101 is offline  
Old 12-16-2013, 10:05 AM
  #4142  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 544
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Well I have been running the cars on temp ozite carpet.(setup and taken down each day)

The TC.. I have going ok now.. I simply need to be a better driver to drive it I think.

The VTA is getting better, but the 21.5 novak I am running.. I am not getting enough top end.

I am running 45/96 now.. and running temp is coming off about 150 deg. Its OK..

Question.. what kind of droop are people running.. and in answering that.. tell me what method your using to measure.

I am keeping it even.. but at the moment.. just adjusting the droop forward and back till I am getting the corner traction I want.. and I will then measure it.

I have an associated droop gauge, not sure if its type of measure is universal? some measure with a ruler? Or I guess I could just grab a Hudy gauge and measure the same way as the setup book.

James

Last edited by Bikerbob; 12-16-2013 at 10:45 AM.
Bikerbob is offline  
Old 12-28-2013, 09:27 PM
  #4143  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 544
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I am going to continue to seach threads,

but I want to know for this car .. and I am running it in spec TC and VTA - what is a good downstop F/R
and Droop F/R

Also how do you measure? can you point to a good tutorial? I am having a hard time with this.

I have an AE droop gauge, a Speed Mind Tweak board, Hudy pin balance stops, vernier calipers.. Hudy board to measure on.. but im not seeming to get things right.
Bikerbob is offline  
Old 12-28-2013, 09:34 PM
  #4144  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (15)
 
xray2050's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 237
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bikerbob View Post
I am going to continue to seach threads,

but I want to know for this car .. and I am running it in spec TC and VTA - what is a good downstop F/R
and Droop F/R

Also how do you measure? can you point to a good tutorial? I am having a hard time with this.

I have an AE droop gauge, a Speed Mind Tweak board, Hudy pin balance stops, vernier calipers.. Hudy board to measure on.. but im not seeming to get things right.
James,
Come see me when you come to the track next time. I will explain it all to you.
Pete
xray2050 is offline  
Old 12-29-2013, 12:34 PM
  #4145  
Tech Addict
 
chasingthepack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: hanworth uk
Posts: 728
Default

Originally Posted by Bikerbob View Post
I am going to continue to seach threads,

but I want to know for this car .. and I am running it in spec TC and VTA - what is a good downstop F/R
and Droop F/R

Also how do you measure? can you point to a good tutorial? I am having a hard time with this.

I have an AE droop gauge, a Speed Mind Tweak board, Hudy pin balance stops, vernier calipers.. Hudy board to measure on.. but im not seeming to get things right.
i found this guy explained over ride height well and gave me a better understanding of both ovrh and droop blocks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQt6iv175mw
chasingthepack is offline  
Old 05-18-2014, 03:19 PM
  #4146  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Savannah, Ga
Posts: 1,321
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

just picked up a T3 '11 and the servo mounting posts are missing, does anyone know where to find them or alternate ones that might work?
fivepointnine is offline  
Old 05-18-2014, 09:41 PM
  #4147  
Tech Master
iTrader: (74)
 
Brokin Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,318
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fivepointnine View Post
just picked up a T3 '11 and the servo mounting posts are missing, does anyone know where to find them or alternate ones that might work?
Amain Hobbies or Stormer Hobbies will have what you need for Xray
Brokin Racing is offline  
Old 05-19-2014, 06:00 AM
  #4148  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Savannah, Ga
Posts: 1,321
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Backordered and not on eBay, that's why I had to make the post haha
fivepointnine is offline  
Old 05-19-2014, 10:52 AM
  #4149  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
LEM C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Seatown
Posts: 217
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fivepointnine View Post
Backordered and not on eBay, that's why I had to make the post haha
If you can't find a post try using other brands (like TC6's) and jimmy rig it some how. I've also shoe gooed servos to the chassis and never had them come off(yeah i know it's ghetto).
LEM C is offline  
Old 05-19-2014, 10:59 AM
  #4150  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
rpoage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ct Penn. USA
Posts: 283
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fivepointnine View Post
just picked up a T3 '11 and the servo mounting posts are missing, does anyone know where to find them or alternate ones that might work?

Part you are looking for is XRA 306200 should be easy to find as it is used on a lot of XRAY models

http://ashfordhobby.com/SearchResult...eyWords=306200
rpoage is offline  
Old 05-19-2014, 12:53 PM
  #4151  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Savannah, Ga
Posts: 1,321
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rpoage View Post
Part you are looking for is XRA 306200 should be easy to find as it is used on a lot of XRAY models

http://ashfordhobby.com/SearchResult...eyWords=306200
Thanks! Did not know about Ashford hobbies. Ordered their last one!
fivepointnine is offline  
Old 07-04-2018, 11:39 AM
  #4152  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 544
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Well took the toys out of the basement because I found a newish local track trying again ! only 30mins away .. I can get out for this one I think.

I am still going to run my Xrays that I have. So I have 2 x 2011s - the one has the updated upper bulkheads and not sure what else from the '12.

The class I am running is a spec TC 21.5t motor, I know this car has an internal ratio of 1.9, I run 64p gears - what is a good FDR for a 21.5t on carpet. - NOT looking for punch -- I am a roll on roll off driver, I am looking for Top end.

James
Bikerbob is offline  
Old 07-04-2018, 12:28 PM
  #4153  
Tech Master
 
Lone Drifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SW Chicago Burbs
Posts: 1,267
Default

It really depends on the track length and motor Where I race a 21,5 spec TC we run the hobby wing juststock motor , The sraitaway is about 90 feet and the Hobbywing motor is in the 3.0 FDR range. A normal 21.5 motor with timing may be 4.0 - 3.5 FDR on the same track.
I race a similar class at Leisure Hours in Illinois which is a large outdoor track I was running my T3 11 with the hobbywing juststock the motor was about 130F on a 93 F degree day. I could probably gear up more.

We are the first to use this thread in 4 years
Lone Drifter is offline  
Old 07-04-2018, 04:32 PM
  #4154  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Rampokker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

The type of motor you'll be using will have a big impact on gearing. We run a Reds 21.5t motor in NZ as a controlled motor.
I'm currently geared at 3.06 (66/41 - Spur/Pinion) for a medium to large size outdoor track.
Rampokker is offline  
Old 07-05-2018, 04:51 AM
  #4155  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 544
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Not sure yet.

Well, I don't know the dimensions of the track yet. I have only looked it over once. If I had to guess I'd say 60-80ft straight.
as for motors we are to run 21.5t but no set motor and I think blinky on the esc. I have a speedmind 21.5t and a Novak ballistic 21.5t (these are 0 timing I think)
I will use 3.5 to 4 as a starting point. I want fast but controlled as it's been 3 years since I drove the cars.

James
Bikerbob is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.